Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

DHC-7-150

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

DHC-7-150

Postby Quadunit404 » Sat Aug 21, 2010 2:25 am

** Due to a problem I am having right now, development has not officially begun yet **

As stated above, development is not officially started yet, but it will as soon as I can fix FlightGear. That doesn't mean I had launched the project page though :wink:

The roadmap should be revealed sometime over the weekend. It'll detail my proposed release schedule and when I expect for Nick and I to get a working model of it. Right now I'm adding in some pages to the Wiki about FlightGear, the FDM engine (YASim,) the upcoming model and the actual plane.

Hope you guys enjoy this when it becomes available :wink:
Quadunit404
 
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:41 pm
Location: Attleboro, MA

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby JcHnd » Sat Aug 21, 2010 11:51 am

You Know...
i was thinking about it las night.... dunno why but i did...
and it's cool... we all have time or other type issues... :D
Live Your Life, The Way You Are!!! Image

My Liveries Site:
http://jchnd.blogspot.com/
User avatar
JcHnd
 
Posts: 1354
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 5:19 pm
Location: Tegucigalpa, Honduras
Callsign: HR-JCL
Version: 2

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby nickyivyca » Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:01 am

Well...

Image
I made the FDM's geometry.

Image
With the AI model, I was able to barely get it into the air, and then it promptly flipped over on the first test flight at VNLK, Lukla.

Image
Currently, this is my problem. The FDM is tipped over. If I try to ballast it so that it is on its nosegear as well, either the solution cannot converge, or when I take off, the nose goes up and I dive straight to the ground.

Should I still make a release?
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby simbabeat » Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm

Should I still make a release?


Hehe, no.

Release early and often is good. But it has got to be good enough first.

Cheers
User avatar
simbabeat
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:19 am

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby Quadunit404 » Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:27 pm

We're pretty much going by a "When it's done/ready" release schedule, which is why it's taking forever, mostly due to problems on my part (e.g. wrist, school, laptop deciding it doesn't want to work anymore and so on and so forth.) It probably won't be ready until the next millennium or so if I encounter EVEN MORE PROBLEMS :evil:
Quadunit404
 
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:41 pm
Location: Attleboro, MA

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby Johan G » Sat Dec 18, 2010 9:28 pm

nickyivyca wrote:...the first test flight at VNLK, Lukla.

Lukla for first flight test, ehum... :roll: :wink:
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5437
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby Armchair Ace » Sun Dec 19, 2010 4:27 am

If you want a YAsim FDM, it might be worth asking Helijah. Using some magical script made by Melchior, he can make FDMs using just the 3D model and some engine specs. Try catching him on either the IRC channel or the French FG forums for the quickest possible response.

~Tom
Member of the FlightGear Flying Club

Current Projects :
Miscellaneous texture and sound work
User avatar
Armchair Ace
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:48 pm
Location: EGP?
Callsign: G-ATPF
IRC name: ArmchairAce
OS: Mac OSX

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:03 am

I used the blender script, and found some random engine data around on the Internet that worked, so that probably won't help too much. I'll have to test out some more random things with the FDM to balance it out. I will have time this week, though I may also be spending it on the 787 and the BAe 146. If I can't figure anything out I may turn to him.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby Armchair Ace » Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:25 am

(FACEPLANT) Why didn't I read your post properly?! I didn't look at the first picture, so I thought you hadn't used the Blender Script.

Seeing that you have, I'm afraid the only other option I can see is trying aeromatic and moving to JSBsim.

~Tom
Member of the FlightGear Flying Club

Current Projects :
Miscellaneous texture and sound work
User avatar
Armchair Ace
 
Posts: 1385
Joined: Sun Sep 27, 2009 7:48 pm
Location: EGP?
Callsign: G-ATPF
IRC name: ArmchairAce
OS: Mac OSX

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby skyop » Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:29 am

Mind if you post the entire FDM here Nick? You have far more YASim experience than I do but I'm sure two minds are better than one nonetheless.

Quadunit404: If you're seriously thinking about using an AI model, you should at least subsurf it a little here... there... everywhere. ;)
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Dec 19, 2010 6:23 am

Now another problem has pushed its way to the front. The gears! So no matter what, the aircraft is bouncing around. Or, it NANs.

EDIT: Now the NANs are not from the gears. GRR. :evil:
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby Quadunit404 » Tue Dec 28, 2010 3:14 am

Yeah, it'd probably take too long to make a completely new model so I'll beautify the AI model and use that instead.
Quadunit404
 
Posts: 1566
Joined: Mon Aug 24, 2009 7:41 pm
Location: Attleboro, MA

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby skyop » Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:12 pm

- Thread resurrected -

I made a new model, if anybody is interested. It's not mapped.

Image

Image

Download .blends here: http://ubuntuone.com/p/10Xl/
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby 439Tiger » Wed Jun 22, 2011 2:24 pm

I'd like to contribute, but so far my skills are still limited to livery making... :oops: I might be able to map it, I'll have to re-read Emmanuel's tutorial, so it could take some time. 8)
Specializing in Canadian built aircraft and aircraft flown by the RCAF

http://www.flightgearcanada.ca/ or: https://sites.google.com/site/flightgearcanada/
User avatar
439Tiger
 
Posts: 1172
Joined: Sat Jan 01, 2011 2:39 am
Location: St-Georges-de-Beauce, Québec, Canada (CYSG)
Callsign: C-CYSG
Version: 2.10.03
OS: Windoze 7

Re: DHC-7-150

Postby nickyivyca » Wed Jun 22, 2011 9:31 pm

^ Maybe Skyop or I could map it and you could make a few liveries.

Anyways, I'll go recheck my FDM geometry. That's probably the reason for the problem...
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Next

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: AhrefsBot [Bot] and 3 guests