Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

The animated jetway project

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Movable jetways

Postby simbabeat » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:04 am

I've gotten on quite a few CRJ's and I can honestly only remember once when it wasn't by jetway.

Cheers
User avatar
simbabeat
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:19 am

Re: Movable jetways

Postby nickyivyca » Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:31 pm

When they set up the CRJ-700 that I saw in Philadelphia, they brought the jetway quite close, but not all the way down or to the door. Then they used a little ramp to connect the two.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Tue Aug 17, 2010 11:04 pm

nickyivyca wrote:When they set up the CRJ-700 that I saw in Philadelphia, they brought the jetway quite close, but not all the way down or to the door. Then they used a little ramp to connect the two.


I've seen that happen before at KPHL. I believe they connect the jetway directly at other airports though.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Sat Aug 21, 2010 3:57 pm

The moving jetway models are now available through Terrasync. Unfortunately, the first airport that implements them (KLAS) is having some issues ATM. ;)
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 22, 2010 3:24 pm

The moving jetway system has been deployed! :D

Image

You can download updated -set.xml files for the Boeing 737-300, the Boeing 747-400, and the Boeing 777-200ER here. Aircraft developers, feel free to contribute my changes (found at the end, within the <aircraft> tags) to GIT. ;)

EDIT: Slight problem. You have to tell FG to load the new models. To do this, set the /sim/paths/use-custom-scenery-data property to true in FGRun. Command-line users, use the --prop:/sim/paths/use-custom-scenery-data=true switch.
Last edited by skyop on Fri Sep 10, 2010 12:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 22, 2010 6:22 pm

Well, it appears that, for the moment, this system will be GIT-only. The reason is because FG2.0.0 turns up a "cannot find file jetway-movable.ac" error, but GIT can find it perfectly. Must be a bug (RELEASE 2.1 ALREADY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!). :?
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby Rick Ace » Sun Aug 22, 2010 7:18 pm

skyop wrote:Well, it appears that, for the moment, this system will be GIT-only. The reason is because FG2.0.0 turns up a "cannot find file jetway-movable.ac" error, but GIT can find it perfectly. Must be a bug (RELEASE 2.1 ALREADY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!). :?

Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

*throws tantrum*

But great work :mrgreen: Atleast I know I'll most likely see movable jetways in my lifetime :P
Rick Ace
 
Posts: 1023
Joined: Fri May 14, 2010 6:02 pm
Location: New York City
Callsign: rickace
Version: 2.6.0
OS: Vista

Re: Movable jetways

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Aug 22, 2010 7:23 pm

Maybe it'll work in good ol' 1.9.1... :)

By the way, now the 787 available in my sig has jetway number 1 enabled, and jetway 2 is programmed but commended out due to problems with the jetway running into the engine and crashing. A new CRJ with the features in it may be available soon.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Sun Aug 22, 2010 7:42 pm

nickyivyca wrote:By the way, now the 787 available in my sig has jetway number 1 enabled, and jetway 2 is programmed but commended out due to problems with the jetway running into the engine and crashing. A new CRJ with the features in it may be available soon.


Well, the jetway no longer triggers a crash, but it still runs into the engine. :? Awh well. I can't wait to see how low the jetway goes for the CRJ! :lol:
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby HHS » Mon Aug 23, 2010 1:47 pm

skyop wrote:Well, it appears that, for the moment, this system will be GIT-only. The reason is because FG2.0.0 turns up a "cannot find file jetway-movable.ac" error, but GIT can find it perfectly. Must be a bug (RELEASE 2.1 ALREADY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!). :?


Sorry, no. I use GIT, just tried TerraSync again and I get this error message and FGFS aborts. :(

FGFS GIT 08/01/2010 win 32

I'll investigate ( have an idea why it is....)
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

partly solved

Postby HHS » Mon Aug 23, 2010 2:33 pm

@skyop
There were two issues which prevented from using in GIT and 2.0.0. It should work on both, as there weren't any changes yet which could explain the issues.

-threated as SHARED OBJECTS.
That's wrong. Nasal only works for scenery objects threated as STATIC objects. That means also that the models has to be in the same folder like the .stg-file.
For KLAS in (TerraSync)/Scenery/ Objetcs/w120n30/w116n36.

-wrong tags in .xml
The path to the .ac-model was framed by a <model>-tag.
That's wrong, the model-tag isn't known here and prevents from finding the .ac-model.

Issues waits still to be solved:
All jetways are now moving....
But AndersG made a good proposal which is worth to look at!

Myself could only upload the .xml itself here if wished but not whole KLAS due to pratical reasons. So better change it all and sent it again to Martin.

Edit: made the adress more clear
Last edited by HHS on Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:22 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Movable jetways

Postby Arthur Maiden » Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:12 pm

Are you going to reveal to us spectators the magic behind making the Jetways go to the aircraft door, or do the magician never reveals his tricks route AKA: wait for the CRJ or 787 to come out so we can figure it out for ourselves?

Edit: nevermind, i actualy bothered to read your posts :D
Edit2: can we have a download link to a site that isnt in russian, if it is russian?
try meagaupload.com or another file sharing website
Last edited by Arthur Maiden on Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:22 pm, edited 1 time in total.
FGUK - A FlightGear community in the United Kingdom and Republic of Ireland
Callsign: G-PHEN
AVA Callsign: AVA0016 - RETIRED
The development of the S92 has infected my Avatar...
User avatar
Arthur Maiden
 
Posts: 681
Joined: Sat Oct 03, 2009 10:42 pm
Callsign: G-PHEN
Version: GIT
OS: Vista, Ubuntu 10.04

Re: Movable jetways

Postby HHS » Mon Aug 23, 2010 4:19 pm

Arthur Maiden wrote:Are you going to reveal to us spectators the magic behind making the Jetways go to the aircraft door, or do the magician never reveals his tricks route AKA: wait for the CRJ or 787 to come out so we can figure it out for ourselves?

Edit: nevermind, i actualy bothered to read your posts :D


Aha... what do you actually really want to say?

Sorry, but the message should adress the author itself. Sorry for notmaking it clear enough.

The fact is, that making it working is a bit tricky and I can't upload KLAS again due to practical reasons. So better skyop changes it on its system and upload it again.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: partly solved

Postby skyop » Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:35 pm

HHS wrote:-threated as SHARED OBJECTS.
That's wrong. Nasal only works for scenery objects threated as STATIC objects. That means also that the models has to be in the same folder like the .stg-file.
For KLAS in (TerraSync)/Scenery/ Objetcs/w120n30/w116n36.


Not true! :o The nasal code worked fine back in 2.0.0 when I placed the jetway models in $FG_ROOT/Models. It's when it's under $FG_ROOT/Terrasync that it gets problems. :?

HHS wrote:-wrong tags in .xml
The path to the .ac-model was framed by a <model>-tag.
That's wrong, the model-tag isn't known here and prevents from finding the .ac-model.


That was the problem. Thanks for spotting it! Will fix, then submit the new models into Martin. Will be available through Terrasync by tomorrow.
Last edited by skyop on Mon Aug 23, 2010 10:49 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: partly solved

Postby HHS » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:12 pm

skyop wrote:
Not true! :o The nasal code worked fine back in 2.0.0 when I placed the jetway models in $FG_ROOT/Models. It's when it's under $FG_ROOT/Terrasync that it gets problems. :?


I'm sure that only STATIC models can use Nasal-scripts. It is even written in the README.scenery in data/Docs.
It would be new to me, if it would work on Shared objects as well.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests