Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby nickyivyca » Sat Jun 05, 2010 10:44 pm

http://www.mediafire.com/?2kekdvtmki5

The CRJ-200 and 787 were made with very similar systems and such. Neither had a 2.0 compatible AP. So, I found out what was wrong with the one for the 787 first, and made those changes to the CRJ here. Both worked. The 787 is available from the link in my sig.

I also did some FDM improvements, like moving the engines to where they really are and adding gear smoke and contrails. Not as much as I did to the 787 though.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby redneck » Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:44 pm

YYYYEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHHHH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Unfortunately, I can't check it out for a couple hours.
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby AtlasVA » Sat Jun 05, 2010 11:50 pm

Does this model work in 1.9.1 as well, Nick?

Thanks,
Jason
The Atlas Virtual Airlines Administration Team
AtlasVA
 
Posts: 35
Joined: Sun May 09, 2010 9:52 pm
Location: The FlightGear Virtual Skies

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby Trennor_ » Sun Jun 06, 2010 12:37 am

nickyivyca wrote:
I also did some FDM improvements, like moving the engines to where they really are and adding gear smoke and contrails. Not as much as I did to the 787 though.


yea, and messed up the fancy nice personal livery I made up for it too; it only displays the port side; not the starboard, :p; and Nick, don't take that the wrong way; I'm just teasing ya!!

Seriously, thanks for a job well done; you've made me very happy to this point. I'll be even happier once the aircraft is fully completed. Take care, and thanks!!

EDIT: Flying it from CYWG to CYBR on AP at 300 kias at 10500 feet, about 7 mins out from CYBR (the destination) it seg faulted, but with no explanation why. I'll try it again later; right now, I'm off to a prior engagement.
trennor - Just Another Armchair Pilot

Thanks to all who have helped in the past. One day I'll return the favour.
User avatar
Trennor_
 
Posts: 194
Joined: Wed Apr 14, 2010 7:48 pm
Location: Manitoba, Canada
Callsign: C-TREN, CHT0004
IRC name: trennor
Version: 2016.3.1
OS: Fedora Linux 25

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby redneck » Sun Jun 06, 2010 1:35 am

Why are the flaps suddenly twice as fast? Can you slow them down and release another new improved version? Thanks. Oh I'm having this issue with the 787 btw.
Also, is it supposed to struggle to reach FL300? My climb rate is down to 500 fpm now.
The AP behaves much better.
Oh, I am using the default fuel load, btw. I'm going to try another flight with less fuel after this one.
Just thought I'd note on the climb rate issue, it took me 41 minutes to reach FL400 from about 1000 ft. Again, that was with default fuel and payload.
I see the drag has been changed as well. It's a bit of a fight getting this thing to slow down.
Use of VOR/LOC HOLD is suicide.
Approach speed is down from 145 to 125 KIAS
GPWS seems to have been removed, and the stall alarm is still set to go off at speeds below 120 KIAS, even though it doesn't stall until about 110 or less KIAS.
I was definitely flying the new one, not the one labeled STOL/old.
FG crashed at the end of the flight, so I didn't get to see how much fuel I used in order to safely test it with a lighter load.
Btw, I'm on version 1.9.1, in case that has any significance to the above-mentioned issues I found.
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Jun 06, 2010 5:40 am

I'll take a look at it sometime. FG just spazzed and stopped responding during a 1.9.1 flight. Some things do seem to have gone weird.

I'll test it out myself and see if I get the same problems during my flight. BTW, what's a good flap 0-full cycle time? It currently uses about 10 seconds. That is, if you're talking about the 787...

Keep in mind, this is a plane that hasn't been released for commercial use, yet. We don't know its real behaviors during flight. For my test flight (I'm flying my TGA route) it's reached 35000 quite all right with about a quarter fuel and a half-full load of passengers and cargo. I haven't gone all the way up to 40000 yet, though. Normally, at the beginning of a fully loaded flight, one would only climb to 35000 feet at the beginning, wouldn't they?

At MTOW, the 787 can survive at 35000 feet. I don't know about climbing up to it, though. During flight, once certain amounts of fuel have been used up, climbs can be made to higher alts. At about 1/4 fuel load, the 787 can perform well at 40000 or 41000 feet.

CRJ-200 testing will hopefully go on tomorrow morning. I'll try climbing to 35000 feet, with passenger weights implemented at MTOW as well. I'm aiming to go to KLAX on my tour of California, and the CRJ-200 and KLAX are next on the list.
AtlasVA wrote:Does this model work in 1.9.1 as well, Nick?

Thanks,
Jason
The Atlas Virtual Airlines Administration Team

The CRJ-200 should work in 1.9.1, but it may require a bit of work before I'd recommend it to include in a VA fleet.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby redneck » Sun Jun 06, 2010 2:49 pm

Yes, I believe you would use a step climb in real life. I wanted to test it out with a smaller load, but FG crashed before I could see how much fuel I had used. And for the flaps, for 0-full, try 20 seconds. All I know is that they seem twice as fast as what they were before now. I know Gijs' 744 takes about a minute to go from 0 to half, so I'm not entirely certain what would be realistic, but definitely more than 10 seconds.
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby simbabeat » Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:06 pm

I think realistic would be more than 20 seconds. Maybe 40. I try and sit on the wings with a window seat whenever I fly.
User avatar
simbabeat
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:19 am

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby nickyivyca » Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:15 pm

I do see what you're talking about with the CRJ-200, though. I'll try adding fuel amounts to the cruise and approach configs.

According to the FDM, the CRJ's flap transition time is 30. That seems to mean a complete cycle, from 0-full-0. 787 is set to something like 10 I think, which definitely is a bit fast.
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby redneck » Sun Jun 06, 2010 6:25 pm

redneck wrote:I know Gijs' 744 takes about a minute to go from 0 to half, so I'm not entirely certain what would be realistic, but definitely more than 10 seconds.

Like I said, I have no clue, except it's way too fast as it is now. I've never even been on a plane in real life before, so I don't know. I'm just giving the best feedback I possibly can.
Call Signs: redneck, ATCredn (unspecified freq atc)
FGFSCopilot
FGFSCopilotATCEdition
System Specs
Model: Alienware M15x, OS: Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, RAM: 3 GB, CPU: Intel i3 quad core at 2.4 GHz, GPU: Nvidea GeForce GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5
redneck
 
Posts: 3630
Joined: Mon Feb 02, 2009 2:17 am
Location: Pennsylvania, USA
Version: 240

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby Gijs » Sun Jun 06, 2010 7:32 pm

In case you missed it, I replied to the flap question in the 787 thread, as it better belongs there ;)
viewtopic.php?p=82230#p82230
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9362
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby ChocBoy » Sun Jun 06, 2010 11:47 pm

This is great! So the AP works now? Can't wait to test it out!
Account locked by self soon. Taking a break from FG. If you want to contact me, email me. Please don't hesitate. Anything, email.
Thank you.
User avatar
ChocBoy
 
Posts: 854
Joined: Sat May 30, 2009 3:17 pm
Callsign: ChocBoy

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby simbabeat » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:26 am

Hey guys, I flew on a CRJ-200 today with Delta Airlines. My seat was right on top of the wing so I think I got you some flap times. You would be surprised how fast they were.

1st notch of flaps: 3secs.
2nd notch of flaps: 3secs
3rd notch of flaps: 5 secs
4th notch of flaps: 5secs
5th notch of flaps: 6secs

If there were any more flaps they weren't deployed on my flight. I was very surprised how fast they deployed.
User avatar
simbabeat
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:19 am

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby nickyivyca » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:29 am

Odd. According to the AVA user member, a friend of his says that it should take 32 seconds, instead of 22. Are you sure about that?
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

Re: CRJ-200 Compatible with 2.0

Postby simbabeat » Tue Jun 08, 2010 3:45 pm

I didn't use a really timer, I counted with Mississippi's. But I was right over the wing and I swear those are really close estimates.
User avatar
simbabeat
 
Posts: 3435
Joined: Sat Sep 12, 2009 12:19 am

Next

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests