Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Dogers » Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:31 am

Greetings to everyone.

I post here to address a minor bug that is affecting my FlightGear. I run Flightgear 2018.3.2, but I do not have any grass shader present and in fact I never had. I think it is driver related, but I post here just to be sure. Here are my system infos :

CPU : AMD 6300 Hexa-Core 3.6 GHz.
GPU : AMD R9 380 4Gio VRAM.
RAM : 16 Gio.
OS : Debian Testing 64 Bit.
Flightgear : 2018.3.2.
AMD Graphics Driver : Mesa 18.3.4 - Open-GL 4.5.


So if anyone knows how to fix that I will be glad to give a test to the grass shader.

Thank by advance for any response !
Scenery contributions :

LFVM - LFVP - FMEE - FMCZ
User avatar
Dogers
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 4:36 pm
Location: Marseille,France
Callsign: F-DGRS, Dogers
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: FreeBSD 12.0

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:38 am

Is the Overlay shader enabled just to check?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6939
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Necolatis » Tue Apr 16, 2019 9:40 am

This is what I think you need as minimum:

Transition shader at second setting
Overlay shader at full

I dont think its enough to just put the shader setting at highest, you need to choose custom and set it manually.
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1941
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2019.1.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Dogers » Tue Apr 16, 2019 10:02 am

Thank you for your responses.

I have just tried that, but it is not working.

I compiled by hand FGFS, so is it possible that a build-time option for the grass was missing ?
Scenery contributions :

LFVM - LFVP - FMEE - FMCZ
User avatar
Dogers
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 4:36 pm
Location: Marseille,France
Callsign: F-DGRS, Dogers
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: FreeBSD 12.0

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:20 am

Can you show your rendering options?

There is no build time option for grass.

If you do indeed have the shader enabled (which the screenshot will confirm then indeed it is probably a driver / gpu error :(
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6939
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Dogers » Tue Apr 16, 2019 11:43 am

I have ALS engaged, and here are the screenshots :

Image

Image
Scenery contributions :

LFVM - LFVP - FMEE - FMCZ
User avatar
Dogers
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 4:36 pm
Location: Marseille,France
Callsign: F-DGRS, Dogers
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: FreeBSD 12.0

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Thorsten » Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:06 pm

Are you in a location where there is a grass overlay defined? I don't think that's done everywhere, and the airport keep looks unusually bland to me even without the geometry shader overlay.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10844
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Dogers » Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:37 pm

Could you please give me a place where you are sure the shader is present. I tested it at LFNC (screenshots), it does not work.
Scenery contributions :

LFVM - LFVP - FMEE - FMCZ
User avatar
Dogers
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 4:36 pm
Location: Marseille,France
Callsign: F-DGRS, Dogers
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: FreeBSD 12.0

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Dogers » Tue Apr 16, 2019 12:48 pm

Sorry for double posting.

But I just tested on the same airfield but on another PC with a GeForce 750 Ti, and the grass is here. So I really think this is driver related.
Scenery contributions :

LFVM - LFVP - FMEE - FMCZ
User avatar
Dogers
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 4:36 pm
Location: Marseille,France
Callsign: F-DGRS, Dogers
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: FreeBSD 12.0

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Thorsten » Tue Apr 16, 2019 1:35 pm

It would seem to look that way.

Any shader-related errors in the console/log file (you might bump up the log level to 'warn' to see them)? That would be the clearest sign.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10844
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Dogers » Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:02 pm

Here is my with "warn" level :

https://pastebin.com/PGb63QGt
Scenery contributions :

LFVM - LFVP - FMEE - FMCZ
User avatar
Dogers
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 4:36 pm
Location: Marseille,France
Callsign: F-DGRS, Dogers
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: FreeBSD 12.0

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Thorsten » Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:18 pm

Code: Select all
opengl:4:/usr/local/include/simgear/debug/OsgIoCapture.hxx:29:GEOMETRY glCompileShader "/home/dogers/Documents/Jeux/FGFS/fgdata/Shaders/terrain-overlay-ALS.geom" FAILED

opengl:4:/usr/local/include/simgear/debug/OsgIoCapture.hxx:29:GEOMETRY Shader "/home/dogers/Documents/Jeux/FGFS/fgdata/Shaders/terrain-overlay-ALS.geom" infolog:
0:3(12): warning: extension `GL_EXT_geometry_shader4' unsupported in geometry shader


Yeah, geometry shader balks.

I understand the solution we're using to run this with the OpenGL version FG is generally using is a bit hacky, and so the driver doesn't play along with it.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10844
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Dogers » Tue Apr 16, 2019 3:29 pm

Is there anything I can do on my side or should I wait for another driver or another release of FGFS ?
Scenery contributions :

LFVM - LFVP - FMEE - FMCZ
User avatar
Dogers
 
Posts: 45
Joined: Thu May 05, 2016 4:36 pm
Location: Marseille,France
Callsign: F-DGRS, Dogers
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: FreeBSD 12.0

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Thorsten » Wed Apr 17, 2019 10:57 am

I'm... not really sure whether there's something you can do.

My understanding (which could be incomplete) is that geometry shaders aren't really supported by the OpenGL version used by FG. OpenGL has gone many versions since, but bumping up version FG-side would require a vast amount of rendering code changes, so it likely won't happen.

Many drivers still work fine with the geometry shaders and just do it 'anyway' despite the standard saying otherwise, but if the driver doesn't, by now it likely means it's intentionally not added and the driver is performing precisely to standard and not making allowances (geometry shaders aren't a new bit of technology, so all drivers today sure can do them with the right OpenGL version).

So I fear neither driver update nor FG update won't change the situation in the short and mid term - in the long term I don't know what'll happen to FG rendering.

(There's a remote possibility that inside the effect file you can somehow declare a different extension which makes the driver process the shader anyway, but I have no idea what that might be, this is really special knowledge that'd be required).
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10844
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: No Grass Shader - AMD Graphics - Debian Testing

Postby Icecode GL » Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:45 am

OSG uses OpenGL 2.1 and supports modern OpenGL via extensions, i.e. OSG isn't designed to completely ignore the fixed function pipeline and only use GL >3.0 core features. Geometry shaders are a core feature since GL 3.2, so we have to settle with using an extension to support geometry shaders in FlightGear. Extensions, unlike core features, don't have to be available. Every graphics card vendor and driver programmer is free to implement them or not. So yeah, nothing you can do on your side, and nothing we can do on our side. OSG is kind of limiting in that regard.
Icecode GL
 
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 12:17 pm
Location: Spain
Callsign: icecode
Version: GIT
OS: Arch Linux

Next

Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests