Board index FlightGear Development New features

Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Discussion and requests for new features. Please note that FlightGear developers are volunteers and may or may not be able to consider these requests.

Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Postby FlyingHigh » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:22 pm

At present, Terrasync can only be activated or deactivated at startup.

The setting cannot be changed in runtime.

I believe it would helpful if Terrasync could be turned on or turned off during runtime, without having to exit Flightgear and restart Flightgear.

Thank you.
FlyingHigh
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:08 am
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows

Re: Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:23 pm

Should be a setting under File somewhere in the menu bar - if I recall correctly, it's under Automatic Scenery Download?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6406
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Postby FlyingHigh » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:31 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:23 pm:Should be a setting under File somewhere in the menu bar - if I recall correctly, it's under Automatic Scenery Download?


Legoboy thank you for the reply.

That setting under the file menu is very sketchy.

It contains terms that are undefined.

It does not state, for the end user, what exacly will happen if the box is selected.

It does not even mention the word "Terrasync" .

It mentions " other data" .

It mentions "MP aircraft" .

That particular menu choice is, for all practical purposes, a very risky and mysterious proposition for the end user.

As for me, I'm afraid to activate it because from it's own presentation language, I cannot predict what it will do and what it will not do.
FlyingHigh
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:08 am
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows

Re: Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:50 pm

There should be a single box above the one where you choose to download MP aircraft (which actually does not work last I checked) which toggles automatic scenery download?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6406
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Postby FlyingHigh » Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:16 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Wed Apr 03, 2019 8:50 pm:There should be a single box above the one where you choose to download MP aircraft (which actually does not work last I checked) which toggles automatic scenery download?


Legoboy, your response includes the ascii character " ? " .

Exactly my point.

At the level of FG version release, all menu options should be clear and consice for the end user.

The menu item in question uses language that is ambiguous.

The menu option says " Scenery Download"

But then, in the submenus,

It does not even mention "Terrasync" .

It does not say, for example " Activate Terrasync" or " Deactivate Terrasync" .

Instead, it offers " download traffic and multiplayer aircraft"

What does " Scenery Download" have to do with " traffic" or " multiplayer aircraft" ?

Nothing.

Then, this menu offers " download other data files" .

What are those other download files?

OK, I hope you can see my point.

Without any disrespect to the person or persons who took the time to design the "File/Scenery Download" menu option, it is not a good idea AS IMPLEMENTED, and the "Download Scenery" menu option under the " File" menu option should be removed immediately so that it does not appear in the pending release of FG 2019.1.1

Respectfully,

FlyingHigh (John)
FlyingHigh
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:08 am
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows

Re: Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Postby Thorsten » Thu Apr 04, 2019 4:50 am

GUI design continue to be a hotly debated area where everyone has his own wisdom what the ideal GUI is, sadly there isn't a common denominator.

It does not even mention "Terrasync" .

It does not say, for example " Activate Terrasync" or " Deactivate Terrasync" .


Sure it does not - because Terrasync is a technical term that's not really self-explanatory. How's a new user supposed to know what it is if it just says 'Activate Terrasync'?

Then, this menu offers " download other data files" .


If it's under the heading of Scenery Download, it might be interpreted as 'other scenery data files'.

and the "Download Scenery" menu option under the " File" menu option should be removed immediately so that it does not appear in the pending release of FG 2019.1.1


Why - is it actively causing harm to anyone?


At the level of FG version release, all menu options should be clear and consice for the end user.

You usually get everyone to agree on that, and then the discussions what actually is clear and concise for the end user start - because also 10 end users have 15 ideas how a GUI should be designed to be clear and concise.

I suggest you make a mockup-design of a GUI you favor, bring it to the mailing list and have a discussion about its pros and cons- and if some consensus emerges, you can make a merge request of your changes and see it committed.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10419
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Postby FlyingHigh » Thu Apr 04, 2019 5:07 am

Thorsten, thank you for your reply.

Yes, it does harm.

It harms those who read the menu choices and who then interpret those choices, in the simplest and most common use of language, and who then end up in a strange place, getting something that they never agreed to when they clicked on the thing in the first place.

Maybe a good idea, but certainly badly implemented.

Please do all you can to see that it is removed from 2019.1.1 before 2019.1.1 is published.

After the idea has matured, it can perhaps be included again in some future release.

Thanks.
FlyingHigh
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2018 1:08 am
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows

Re: Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Postby Thorsten » Thu Apr 04, 2019 5:12 am

Please do all you can to see that it is removed from 2019.


Frankly - no - because removing it also does harm to those who use the option, and in my judgement that harm is by far greater than to the people who do not understand an option.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10419
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Activate/Deactivate Terrasync in runtime

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Apr 04, 2019 7:04 pm

FlyingHigh wrote in Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:16 pm:The menu option says " Scenery Download"

right... if the box is checked, scenery downloads will be attempted... if the box is unchecked, then it is disabled so no scenery downloads...

it doesn't have to say "terrasync" does it? scenery -> terrain -> terra -> terrasync... hummm... seems to be a pattern here :)

FlyingHigh wrote in Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:16 pm:But then, in the submenus,
[...]
it offers " download traffic and multiplayer aircraft"

What does " Scenery Download" have to do with " traffic" or " multiplayer aircraft" ?

Nothing.

incorrect... the AI/MP craft are part of the overall scenery... they simply aren't static like the terrain is... the AI craft can be turned on/off anyway and they are/were also used for both AI and MP representation of other craft in your area...

FWIW: the plan is/was that the AI/MP craft could be downloaded this way instead of them all being in fgdata making it larger... fgdata being so large why all the aircraft were moved out into fgaddon, too... so anyway, the idea was that when flying along in MP and you meet another craft, the AI/MP version of that craft would be downloaded just like the scenery is when you approach it... the current method of having to download the proper craft just so you can see it instead of the glider is ""painful"" and there is a desire to eliminate that pain so this all happens majikally and you just see the other craft without having to do anything manually...

FlyingHigh wrote in Wed Apr 03, 2019 9:16 pm:Then, this menu offers " download other data files" .

What are those other download files?

could be other files like tower and groundnet files... i forget, exactly, what they are but james (aka zakalawe) started work on that stuff long ago... he and i discussed some of it several years ago, too... other things are higher in the todo list so adjusting these has not been done yet... plus there's been a lot of other work done in the MP area so the above mentioned idea may not even be desirable any more... especially since there's now two different models (the original one, a low poly one) used for a MP craft depending on their distance and your LOD settings...

FWIW: maybe more gentle writing would be better? that or maybe fix the percieved problem and proffer a patch of your solution? you could just fix it in your copy, too ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5122
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5


Return to New features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests