Board index FlightGear Support Flying

View at flying

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

View at flying

Postby meitoma » Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:15 pm

Hello gys,
i have a question ...... if I fly the "757" and press "h" I see the follow HUD:

Image

but if I fly the "777" and press "h" I see this HUD:

Image

It´s possible to view the same for the "777" as the "757" ? without zoom out to see all informations ? If I want see the full HUD at the 777 it´s neccessary to zoom out but I don´t want it.

Thanks in advance and kind regards.
____________________
greetings meitoma
meitoma
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 4:54 am

Re: View at flying

Postby lomar » Sat Mar 16, 2019 5:23 pm

go to cockpit view optinos and uncheck the 3D HUD
lomar
 
Posts: 215
Joined: Mon Jun 30, 2014 1:38 am
Callsign: lomar
Version: nightly
OS: win 10

Re: View at flying

Postby Isaak » Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:14 am

The reason that the 3D HUD isn't centered vertically is because the pilot view has a 13.5° tilt. You can indeed switch off the 3D HUD, as lomar said (view > HUD) but this isn't saved between sessions so you'll have to redo that setting every time you launch the sim. I'll ask the developers if this can be made persistent. If I find some time (won't be very soon), I'll dig in the HUD code and see if I can center the 3D HUD better specifically for the 777.
Isaak
 
Posts: 433
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: View at flying

Postby Octal450 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:48 am

@Isaak
No, there is an easier way. Just add this inside <sim> to your -set (or common or main etc) file. This is what does 757, as does my planes, etc.

Code: Select all
      <hud n="0">
         <enable3d n="0">false</enable3d>
         <enable3d n="1">false</enable3d>
      </hud>
Octal450

Lead Programmer, IDG (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4226
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: View at flying

Postby meitoma » Sun Mar 17, 2019 8:56 am

Hello and thanks for your help,
@it0uchpods ...... can you tell me please where I can find the file to change and what is the right filename ? I use Win10. Thanks in advance.
____________________
greetings meitoma
meitoma
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 4:54 am

Re: View at flying

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:30 pm

Isaak wrote in Sun Mar 17, 2019 12:14 am:You can indeed switch off the 3D HUD, as lomar said (view > HUD) but this isn't saved between sessions so you'll have to redo that setting every time you launch the sim.

don't --disable-hud --disable-hud-3d --disable-anti-alias-hud work from the command line or in the additional options box in the launcher? they are default sim properties and look to be persistent to me if i set them, start the sim, exit the sim, remove them and then restart the sim... i may be missing something, though...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: View at flying

Postby tdammers » Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:08 pm

Or, yet another solution: don't use the HUD at all, and learn to fly without it. The real aircraft doesn't have a HUD either. The builtin HUDs are really more for debugging aircraft and input configurations than anything.
tdammers
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 10:35 am
Callsign: NL256
IRC name: nl256

Re: View at flying

Postby meitoma » Tue Mar 19, 2019 4:46 am

Hi at all and thanks for the instruction, help and informations. Now I understand.
____________________
greetings meitoma
meitoma
 
Posts: 11
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 4:54 am


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests