Board index FlightGear Support Flying

METAR not working

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: METAR not working

Postby Octal450 » Sat Feb 09, 2019 6:35 pm

Windows x64 users, I patched a version for you here:
2018.3.2 ONLY!
http://itpns.ddns.net/data/2018.3.2/fgfs.exe

Put in your bin folder.

I'm happy to patch any other versions for you if you need.

Image

Kind Regards,
Josh
Octal450

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Developer at Immersive Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
Dream no small dream; it lacks magic. Dream large. Then make the dream real. - Donald Douglas
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4029
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF450/Octal
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: METAR not working

Postby sidi762 » Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:12 am

V12 wrote in Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:07 am:sidi762 :
Error 404 - not found. With or without slashes. Please check link or service.


Hi,

That was probably caused by DNS cache. I've changed the DNS record as Chinese GFW started to block access to my server since yesterday...

It should be good in the next 24 hours.
sidi762
 
Posts: 110
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:15 am
Callsign: DAG0762
Version: 2017.1.3
OS: MacOS Sierra

Re: METAR not working

Postby fredsie » Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:55 pm

airzona wrote in Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:31 pm:
LH-1701 wrote in Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:19 pm:Linux Version can also be patched easily.

The main program is named fgfs. In my case its located under /usr/bin/fgfs

use hexeditor (like ghex) to search for

Code: Select all
http://tgftp.nws.noaa.gov/data/observations/metar/stations/

(as written earlier http://t will be enough here...)



Hi

I'm using version 2017.3.1 as that's the latest version packaged with Opensuse, and I can't find this string, or anything like it, in my fgfs executable. Did that version work a different way somehow?

Cheers
Fred
fredsie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:55 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK
OS: Linux o/Suse 15

Re: METAR not working

Postby LH-1701 » Tue Feb 19, 2019 9:20 pm

fredsie wrote in Tue Feb 19, 2019 1:55 pm:
Hi

I'm using version 2017.3.1 as that's the latest version packaged with Opensuse, and I can't find this string, or anything like it, in my fgfs executable. Did that version work a different way somehow?

Cheers
Fred


Hi,

i dont know how FG 2017.3.1 works, but what Version of Opensuse are u using? I am using Tumbleweed and there latest is 2018.3.2, this is also available for 42.3 and 15.0 from here:

https://build.opensuse.org/package/show ... FlightGear

reguards,

Tobias (LH-1701)
#ISupportJomo
LH-1701
 
Posts: 19
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2019 6:12 pm
Callsign: LH-1701
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Linux

Re: METAR not working

Postby fredsie » Wed Feb 20, 2019 11:02 am

Thanks Tobias! I'm on LEAP 15 but have got 2018.3.2 from the repo as you suggest. I've applied the edit and all is working!

Cheers

Fred
fredsie
 
Posts: 28
Joined: Sun Apr 24, 2011 2:55 pm
Location: Liverpool, UK
OS: Linux o/Suse 15

Re: METAR not working

Postby miguel » Fri Feb 22, 2019 6:18 pm

I have the F.G 2018.4 version. and it works
miguel
 
Posts: 41
Joined: Wed Aug 19, 2015 4:05 pm

Re: METAR not working

Postby AVA117 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 4:54 am

How do I apply the patch? Not being able to fly with real weather is a pain in the a**!
AVA117
 
Posts: 126
Joined: Tue Jan 10, 2017 11:07 am
Callsign: AS2002 AVA117 SPA695
IRC name: N/A
Version: Latest
OS: Windows

Re: METAR not working

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Feb 23, 2019 7:08 am

The official fix should be being released soon...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5227
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: METAR not working

Postby camelcat » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:58 am

When i replace the fgfs.exe with the patched one, it works and live Weather is availabe again. BUT i start automatically with the Chessna at PHNL. I cant choose Aircraft nor Airport.

Any Suggestions? (Using Win 64 and the 2018.3.2 Version.)

EDIT: Nope, it works now, if i start with the created shortcut on Desktop. Well, thanks for the patch!
camelcat
 
Posts: 6
Joined: Fri May 18, 2018 7:13 pm

Re: METAR not working

Postby jtprophet » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:34 pm

Josh I tried your patch as suggested above but I still receive the "No metar available aborting" message. I've applied it as you suggested and I do have Windows 7 Pro 64 bit, is this patch for Windows 10 64 bit?

John.
jtprophet
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464

Re: METAR not working

Postby Octal450 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:36 pm

Hi jtprophet
Please be sure you put in the right place, FG Install Folder/bin/fgfs.exe

I tested on Windows Vista, 7, and 10. Should be ok.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Octal450

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Developer at Immersive Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
Dream no small dream; it lacks magic. Dream large. Then make the dream real. - Donald Douglas
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4029
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF450/Octal
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: METAR not working

Postby jtprophet » Thu Mar 21, 2019 7:40 pm

Disregard my previous post, my pc time for some reason was showing Pacific time; this was the problem so your patch is working fine.

John
jtprophet
 
Posts: 120
Joined: Mon Apr 04, 2016 2:21 pm
Callsign: DAL1464

Re: METAR not working

Postby Octal450 » Thu Mar 21, 2019 8:34 pm

Alright, awesome! Glad it works!

Kind Regards,
Josh
Octal450

FGFS Aircraft Developer
Lead Developer at Immersive Design Group (Join our Discord!)
Download High Quality Aircraft from Octal450 Hangar
Dream no small dream; it lacks magic. Dream large. Then make the dream real. - Donald Douglas
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4029
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF450/Octal
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10 x64

Re: METAR not working

Postby mathieugouin » Fri Mar 22, 2019 1:23 am

I hope my free google app engine can cope with all the patched FG running and requesting metar :)

I'm glad it helped you out.
Mathieu
mathieugouin
 
Posts: 36
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:37 am
Location: CYHU
Callsign: MGOUIN
Version: V2018.1.1
OS: Lubuntu 18.04

Re: METAR not working

Postby RenanMsV » Fri Mar 22, 2019 7:41 pm

Heres a simple python script that should patch every windows fgfs.exe,

Code: Select all
'''
NEW URL GOOGLE APP SOLUTION by mathieugouin:

Replace the url using HEX Editor to this new one

from : http://tgftp.nws.noaa.gov/data/observations/metar/stations/
to : http://mgouin.appspot.com/fg?icao-station-identifier-name1=

D7FFD0 - FG 2018.2.2 32bits Metar URL offset
E5E510 - FG 2018.2.2 64bits Metar URL offset
DBEFD0 - FG 2018.3.2 32bits Metar URL offset - offset by FlyingHigh! :)
E9F5B3 - FG 2018.3.2 64bits Metar URL offset
'''
import os
from datetime import datetime
from zipfile import ZipFile

print("\nStarting ... \n")

def wait_for_input(message = ''):
   print(message)
   os.system('pause')
   raise SystemExit(0)

# Opening fgfs.exe and reading all bytes
file = open('fgfs.exe', 'rb')
fileContent = file.read()
file.close()

# Converting url strings to bytes
oldUrl = bytes('http://tgftp.nws.noaa.gov/data/observations/metar/stations/', 'utf8')
newUrl = bytes('http://mgouin.appspot.com/fg?icao-station-identifier-name1=', 'utf8')

# If find oldUrl patch it replacing by the newUrl
findIndex = fileContent.find(oldUrl)
if (findIndex >= 0):
   print("Found old url. Aplying fix now.")
   patchedContent = fileContent.replace(oldUrl, newUrl)
   print("Fixed. Saving new file.")

   # zip backup file
   zipname = 'fgfs_backup_{}.zip'.format(datetime.now().strftime('%Y-%m-%d-%H-%M-%S'))
   with ZipFile(zipname,'w') as zip:
      zip.write('fgfs.exe')
else:
   print("Could not find old url. Does not need to fix.")
   wait_for_input()

# Opening fgfs.exe and reading all bytes
out = open('fgfs.exe', 'wb+')
out.write(patchedContent)
out.close()
print('Saved new fgfs.exe. Backup as {}'.format(zipname))
wait_for_input()


Or you can use the standalone executable (for those who got no python installed)

https://www.dropbox.com/s/09fogkyg87n7o ... 9.exe?dl=1

Both patcher (.py or .exe) and fgfs.exe need to be placed in the same folder.


Thanks to @SurferTim and @mathieugouin !
Last edited by RenanMsV on Sun Mar 24, 2019 7:54 pm, edited 2 times in total.
www.flightgearbrasil.com.br
www.fgbrazukas.wixsite.com/fgbrazukas
RenanMsV
 
Posts: 133
Joined: Thu Oct 27, 2016 2:02 am
Callsign: BR-RVD

Previous

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests