Board index FlightGear Support Installation

2018.3 Release

Need help getting up and running? Installing FlightGear, add-on planes, sceneries etc.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby V12 » Fri Oct 26, 2018 6:32 am

In 2018.3.x I observed bad behaviour of the shader effects in the MP environment. For example 2 737-800YV side by side, one is my, second MP player, on my own is all OK, but MP aircraft is without fuselage reflects and lightmaps. Or Concordes (my version from https://github.com/BAWV12/Concorde) - my own has all lights OK, but MP one has only white rectangles instead of the lights. In 2018.2.1 is all normal - both aircrafts (own and MP) looks similar.

Example :
MP Concorde on FG2018.3x :
Image

and on FG2018.2.x or OpenRadar camera (OrCam ?)
Image

EDIT - Added another images
FG2018.2.1 :

Image
My is AF, MP is BA

Image
My 737 is in the centre, others are MP

FG2018.3.x :

Image
My is BA, AF is MP

Image
My is left (dark), right is MP (light)

Something is wrong in the 2018.3.x multiplay effects rendering :(
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby V12 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 7:57 am

Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby stuart » Wed Nov 07, 2018 11:48 am

I managed to fix this last night with some fantastic assistance from Michael Danilov who tracked down exactly which of my changes had caused the problem.

Great example of open source development - many eyes make any bug easy :)

We are currently building updated RCs, which will hopefully be the proper release. Fingers crossed!

-Stuart
G-MWLX
User avatar
stuart
Moderator
 
Posts: 1428
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:56 am
Location: Edinburgh
Callsign: G-MWLX

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby V12 » Wed Nov 07, 2018 6:08 pm

Good job and big thanks, gentlemans !
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 628
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby Captain97 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:06 am

When will the full release be? Because I still can't find the Mac download link for it.
Captain97
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:56 am

The release candidates are only being built, it will probably be at lesst a few days before the release occurs.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 5701
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby Captain97 » Thu Nov 08, 2018 1:07 am

alright then. How long is "a few days"?
Captain97
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby Thorsten » Thu Nov 08, 2018 5:19 am

It will take till it's ready. No one knows - if another serious bug is discovered, it will be delayed till it's found and fixed, if not then not. If anyone would know in advance what needs to be done, we'd have done it already.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 9899
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby Richard » Thu Nov 08, 2018 9:24 am

Captain97 wrote in Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:06 am:When will the full release be? Because I still can't find the Mac download link for it.


There is a release candidate (RC) available for the Mac that can be found here: release candidates.

The way things work is that each RC can essentially become a release; the code is a lot more stable than the development (nightly) builds. Once we're happy that there aren't any serious faults in an RC it will be released and become 2018.3. It really helps the team if as many people as possible use the RC.
Richard
 
Posts: 609
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby Captain97 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:33 am

I think I found a bug. For some reason, I can't get onto the multiplayer server. Every time I try, solo mode loads instead.
Captain97
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby Richard » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:27 pm

@captain97 is this with 2018.3?

There are some MP servers that currently don't work properly; try using selecting mpserver01 and see if it works then.
Richard
 
Posts: 609
Joined: Sun Nov 02, 2014 10:17 pm
Version: Git
OS: Win10

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby Captain97 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 4:13 pm

Yeah @Richard. Its 2018.3.
Captain97
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby portreekid » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:51 am

Image

I get this error installing the RC on Windows 10. Someone else reported it I think

After ignoring the launcher doesn't show.

Code: Select all
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\fg_init.cxx:471:Created multi-app mutex, we are in writeable mode
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\main.cxx:467:CrashRpt enabled
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\main.cxx:494:FlightGear:  Version 2018.3.1
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\main.cxx:495:FlightGear:  Build Type Release
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\main.cxx:496:Built with Microsoft Visual C++ version 1900
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\main.cxx:498:Jenkins number/ID 241:241
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\options.cxx:2902:platform default fg_root = Path "../data"
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\fg_init.cxx:580:Reading global defaults
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\fg_init.cxx:590:Finished Reading global defaults
input:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\globals.cxx:788:Reading user settings from Path "C:/Users/portr/AppData/Roaming/flightgear.org/autosave_2018_3.xml"
navaid:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Navaids\NavDataCache.cxx:257:NavCache at:Path "C:/Users/portr/AppData/Roaming/flightgear.org/navdata_2018_3.cache"
navaid:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Navaids\NavDataCache.cxx:260:NavCache read-only flags is:0
navaid:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Navaids\NavDataCache.cxx:1347:NavCache: no main cache rebuild required
general:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\fg_init.cxx:1277:init package root at:Path "C:/Users/portr/Documents/FlightGear/Aircraft"
gui:4:qrc:///qml/Launcher.qml:96:qrc:///qml/Launcher.qml:96:5: Type Settings unavailable
gui:4:qrc:///qml/SettingsComboBox.qml:18:5: Type PopupChoice unavailable:175:qrc:///qml/Settings.qml:175:21: Type SettingsComboBox unavailable
gui:4:qrc:///qml/SettingsComboBox.qml:18:qrc:///qml/SettingsComboBox.qml:18:5: Type PopupChoice unavailable
gui:4:qrc:///qml/PopupChoice.qml:25:qrc:///qml/PopupChoice.qml:25:5: ModelDataExtractor is not a type
io:3:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\flightgear\src\Main\globals.cxx:825:Saving user settings to Path "C:/Users/portr/AppData/Roaming/flightgear.org/autosave_2018_3.xml"
general:4:C:\Jenkins\workspace\Windows-release\simgear\simgear\structure\subsystem_mgr.cxx:857:SGSubsystemMgr::remove: not found: scenery
portreekid
 
Posts: 294
Joined: Tue Jan 14, 2014 3:36 pm
Location: Dresden
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 7

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby BEL ISAAK » Sat Nov 10, 2018 6:26 pm

I'm getting the same issue. It's been reported on the mailinglist.
User avatar
BEL ISAAK
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: 2018.3 Release

Postby Captain97 » Sat Nov 10, 2018 7:36 pm

@BEL ISSAK how do you report something on the mailinglist? I can't figure that out. Cause I had an issue a while back that I was wanting to report on the mailing list. But, then the issue got fixed.
Captain97
 
Posts: 26
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests