Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

scenery objects

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

scenery objects

Postby rudder » Tue Jul 31, 2018 4:01 pm

Well, I have spent a lot of time over the last 3 weeks trying to build our local AP. I have serched the web and forums ( and I mean serched ) trying to find out why my objects do not show in the sim.(FG 2018.2,win 7). I have tried everything I have read ,over and over, no good . I can place them with the UFO ok. I have pasted the req,d info as req,d still they do not show up. I have tried to enable terrasync cannot, I read that there is a bug in FG2018.2 that was corrected in FG2018.3? I bought the flash drive ($80 ) hoping to get the update did not work out. It is very frustrating to say the least, and would appreciate any help I can get, Thanks and have a good day. Rudder.
rudder
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:03 pm

Re: scenery objects

Postby Torsten » Wed Aug 01, 2018 6:42 am

Hi,

we are very busy moving our infrastructure from private hosting to a public cloud provider (AWS).
I am almost done with creating the docker images and currently run some final tests to optimize resource usage.
Sorry for the long delay, as with every software project: it takes a lot longer than expected.

Torsten
flightgear.org - where development happens.
User avatar
Torsten
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: near Hamburg, Germany
Callsign: offline
Version: next
OS: Linux

Re: scenery objects

Postby rudder » Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:33 am

Thank you for your reply,how ever this does not help me. Rudder
rudder
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:03 pm

Re: scenery objects

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 1:40 pm

it should help you... help you to understand that your objects cannot be distributed via terrasync until after the infrastructure changes are completed...

you say you pasted the required info as required but where, exactly did you paste it? in the STG file? is it pointing to the model's location on your HD? you realize that the model will have to be uploaded to the scenery database with the positioning data you have, right? IIUC, that can't be done until the infrastructure work is complete... so everyone is in a holding pattern waiting... in the mean time, you would have to manually place the models in the proper directories on your machine... make sure you keep copies of them so you don't lose them when terrasync comes back up... it will remove files that it does not know about...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: scenery objects

Postby rudder » Wed Aug 01, 2018 3:00 pm

Sorry did not understand reply from Torsten. The following is the course I followed.

select model from Scenery _model_airport_hanger 70x15 ac.
installed with UFO._to A/P Kokv
PRESS KEY E&D
.
Copy from Appdata_roaming_FG-export_UFO.-model_export. ( OBJECT_SHARED Models/Airport/Hangar_70x15.ac -78.14517690 39.14104273 217.0215 312.0 0.0 -0.0)

Pasted to _FG_Data_scenery_objects_W80n30_(W79n39) _Stg 1663051. ( OBJECT_SHARED Models/Airport/Hangar_70x15.ac -78.14517690 39.14104273 217.0215 312.0 0.0 -0.0 )
Thanks Rudder.
rudder
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:03 pm

Re: scenery objects

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Aug 01, 2018 8:15 pm

ok... so you have the data for the new hanger pasted into the stg for that airport in Objects...

1. is this in a scenery override directory or in your existing terrasync scenery directory?
i think, since you noted the base directory as FGData, that would be your local terrasync directory...

2. are you using terrasync?
3. does the line still exist in that file or has it disappeared?

4. are you placing this hanger at KOKV?
if so, i've copied the existing Objects/[...]/1663051.stg file from my terrasync directory to my scenery overrides directory and added your line to it... then i flew to KOKV from KRDU (about 200nm)... i seem to see one hanger there at KOKV on the far left when i'm fixing to land on RWY32... since i see the one hanger and there aren't any others that i can see defined in the files, i would say that your process is correct... why you're not seeing the hanger building, we've not yet determined... please provide answers to the questions asked here and let's see if we can get this solved for you ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: scenery objects

Postby rudder » Thu Aug 02, 2018 2:39 pm

(1) if you mean ,do I have my own folder the answer is NO. I tried with my own scenery folder the same result.
(2) Not using Terrasync
(3)File still exist in stg file.
(4) Yes in Kokv.

If the object should show in the UFO. it has gone .I have another computer, I may install fg ,To rule out computer problem.
I have tried to install object in other airports, same result. Kiad, Kmrb.Thanks for your help. Rudder.
rudder
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:03 pm

Re: scenery objects

Postby wkitty42 » Thu Aug 02, 2018 6:31 pm

yesterday when i tested your addition, i copied the existing 1663051.stg file to my overrides and added your hanger line as noted... as an experiment, in that copied file i removed everything else except your one object... scenery is merged unlike craft which are actually overridden... i was still able to see the building... so i have this...

Code: Select all
%terrasync%/Objects/w080n30/w079n39/1663051.stg   <- this is the distributed scenery
%myscenery%/Objects/w080n30/w079n39/1663051.stg   <- this contains only your hanger


%myscenery%/Objects/w080n30/w079n39/1663051.stg contains only the following...
Code: Select all
OBJECT_SHARED Models/Airport/Hangar_70x15.ac -78.14517690 39.14104273 217.0215 312.0 0.0 -0.0


it should be noted that while i do not use terrasync in the sim, i do use it via external tools to update my scenery... when i have terrasync turned off, my FG still uses my terrasync directory for scenery because i've specifically added my terrasync directory to my scenery paths list... i also use a separate terrasync directory instead of letting FG put it in $fghome...

eg:
Code: Select all
terrasync-dir = "/home/myuser/myflightgear/TSScenery"
scenery-search-paths =
        /home/myuser/myflightgear/mySceneryOverrides
        /home/myuser/myflightgear/TSScenery


in response to your answers:
1. did you remember to add your scenery folder to your FG's scenery paths list?
2. ok. how did you get your scenery and where, exactly, do you have it stored on your disk?
3. i assume you mean the entry still exists in your stg file? since you're not using terrasync, it would not have deleted it which is a good thing at this point.
4. pretty good guess i made :)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: scenery objects

Postby rudder » Fri Aug 03, 2018 6:33 pm

thanks.

(1)never had one ,have one now. same thing.
(2)object from, FG.-scenery-models-airport. stored FG.-data-models-airport.

have installed FG. in another computer, same thing.
At this point,I feel that I must be doing something wrong, or something is in the software. thanks Rudder.
rudder
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:03 pm

Re: scenery objects

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Aug 04, 2018 1:15 am

can you explain your #2 answer in more detail, please? without the shorthand? full paths as they reside on your system and in your launcher...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: scenery objects

Postby rudder » Tue Aug 07, 2018 9:21 am

Good morning Wkitty42.

to. c:/flightgear 2018.2.2/data//models/airport
from c:/flightgear.2.018.2.2/data/scenery/models/airport

Hope this is what you want. thanks rudder.
rudder
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:03 pm

Re: scenery objects

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Aug 07, 2018 1:55 pm

are you saying that you changed the path in the stg or that you moved the model to the other directory?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 4762
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: scenery objects

Postby VicMar » Wed Aug 08, 2018 7:33 am

Is it possible your 'Models' folder does not contain the model you have placed?
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2025
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: scenery objects

Postby rudder » Wed Aug 08, 2018 9:42 am

Thanks everyone the following is what i do.

(1) copied default model from data/scenery/models/airport.
(2) pasted into data models airport. ( used model in UFO. )
(3) copied from the following xml ( created by pressing keys D&E inUFO> (OBJECT_SHARED Models/Airport/atc-tower-100m.ac -78.15209589 39.14882845 218.6705 0.0 0.0 -0.0)
(4) pasted into stg file.

-<model n="1">

<legend type="string"/>

<heading-deg type="double">0</heading-deg>

<pitch-deg type="double">0</pitch-deg>

<roll-deg type="double">0</roll-deg>

<path type="string">Models/Airport/atc-tower-100m.ac</path>

<latitude-deg type="double">39.14882845</latitude-deg>

<longitude-deg type="double">-78.15209589</longitude-deg>

<elevation-ft type="double">717.4227925</elevation-ft>

<absolute-path type="string">C:/FlightGear 2018.2.2/data/Models/Airport/atc-tower-100m.ac</absolute-path>

<stg-path type="string">w080n30/w079n39/1663051.stg</stg-path>

<stg-heading-deg type="double">0</stg-heading-deg>

<elevation-m type="double">218.6704671</elevation-m>

<object-line type="string">OBJECT_SHARED Models/Airport/atc-tower-100m.ac -78.15209589 39.14882845 218.6705 0.0 0.0 -0.0</object-line -<model n="1">

<legend type="string"/>

<heading-deg type="double">0</heading-deg>

<pitch-deg type="double">0</pitch-deg>

<roll-deg type="double">0</roll-deg>

<path type="string">Models/Airport/atc-tower-100m.ac</path>

<latitude-deg type="double">39.14882845</latitude-deg>

<longitude-deg type="double">-78.15209589</longitude-deg>

<elevation-ft type="double">717.4227925</elevation-ft>

<absolute-path type="string">C:/FlightGear 2018.2.2/data/Models/Airport/atc-tower-100m.ac</absolute-path>

<stg-path type="string">w080n30/w079n39/1663051.stg</stg-path>

<stg-heading-deg type="double">0</stg-heading-deg>

<elevation-m type="double">218.6704671</elevation-m>

<object-line type="string">OBJECT_SHARED Models/Airport/atc-tower-100m.ac -78.15209589 39.14882845 218.6705 0.0 0.0 -0.0</object-line hope this helps rudder.
rudder
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Sun Jul 08, 2018 7:03 pm


Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Exabot [Bot] and 32 guests