Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby ThomasS » Tue Jul 10, 2018 6:22 am

Hello,

when trying to submit a new model to the scenery database I receive an error message saying "an error occured: error" a few seconds after pressing submit. Is there a chance to find more details about the reason?

Best Regards

Thomas
ThomasS
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: West of EDDK
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Linux,MacOS,Windows

Re: Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby Torsten » Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:17 am

I can't find anything obvious in the logs. Could you please try again and provide the exact time (UTC) when you hit the submit button, please?
That would help me a lot where to look in the huge log files

Thanks, Torsten
flightgear.org - where development happens.
User avatar
Torsten
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: near Hamburg, Germany
Callsign: offline
Version: next
OS: Linux

Re: Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby ThomasS » Tue Jul 10, 2018 9:46 am

Submitted again just now at 9:43:10 UTC (the seconds value is estimated). Same message.
ThomasS
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: West of EDDK
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Linux,MacOS,Windows

Re: Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby Torsten » Tue Jul 10, 2018 1:13 pm

OK, thanks. That helped.
I did find a log entry with a response code of 413 (Payload too large) which indicates that either the files you are trying to submit are too large (probably all together in total) or I have to find the magic number to set the maximum allowable request size.

What are the file sizes you are trying to submit?
flightgear.org - where development happens.
User avatar
Torsten
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: near Hamburg, Germany
Callsign: offline
Version: next
OS: Linux

Re: Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby ThomasS » Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:09 pm

I have these files:

Code: Select all
-rw-r--r--@ 1 thomass  staff    34336  8 Jul 16:57 EDDK-Terminal1-Thumbnail.jpg
-rw-r--r--@ 1 thomass  staff     6038 22 Feb  2017 EDDK-Terminal1-Windows.png
-rw-r--r--@ 1 thomass  staff   387703  8 Jul 16:27 EDDK-Terminal1.ac
-rw-r--r--@ 1 thomass  staff  1130334 22 Feb  2017 EDDK-Terminal1.png
-rw-r--r--  1 thomass  staff      456  8 Jul 16:30 EDDK-Terminal1.xml


If it really is a size problem, most likely the texture atlas is too large. The tutorial page mentions a total size of 0.5 MB as recommendation (or limit?) for a single model. So downsizing the texture atlas only might not be sufficient. Anyway, I'll try to downsize the texture atlas.

Well, in fact it is a large building.
ThomasS
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: West of EDDK
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Linux,MacOS,Windows

Re: Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby ThomasS » Tue Jul 10, 2018 2:35 pm

Downsizing the texture atlas changed the situation. I have the files

Code: Select all
-rw-r--r--@ 1 thomass  staff    34336  8 Jul 16:57 EDDK-Terminal1-Thumbnail.jpg
-rw-r--r--@ 1 thomass  staff     6038 22 Feb  2017 EDDK-Terminal1-Windows.png
-rw-r--r--@ 1 thomass  staff   387703  8 Jul 16:27 EDDK-Terminal1.ac
-rw-r--r--@ 1 thomass  staff   126670 10 Jul 16:16 EDDK-Terminal1.png
-rw-r--r--  1 thomass  staff      456  8 Jul 16:30 EDDK-Terminal1.xml


now. Pressing "submit" (at 14:28 UTC) started working for about 5 seconds and returned "An error occured: parsererror". Loading the model in FG by put_model() shows no such error in the FG logfile.
ThomasS
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: West of EDDK
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Linux,MacOS,Windows

Re: Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby Torsten » Tue Jul 10, 2018 4:01 pm

There is no error message on the server side.
Wild guess: something is wrong with your xml. The database xml parser complains about many things that flightgear silently accepts.
Look for the missing (or wrong) xml declaration at line 1, case sensitive references (includes to files etc. etc.)

Disclaimer:
Yes - it would be nice if the UI was able to point out whats wrong...
flightgear.org - where development happens.
User avatar
Torsten
 
Posts: 610
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: near Hamburg, Germany
Callsign: offline
Version: next
OS: Linux

Re: Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby ThomasS » Thu Jul 12, 2018 4:16 am

I finally succeeded in uploading. The reason was the model description field which contained too many characters.
ThomasS
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: West of EDDK
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Linux,MacOS,Windows

Re: Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby VicMar » Thu Jul 12, 2018 7:04 am

Confirmed - I validated your model this morning.

Vic
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2002
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: OS X 10.11.6

Re: Adding a new model to the Scenery Model Database

Postby ThomasS » Thu Jul 12, 2018 8:00 am

Thank you
ThomasS
 
Posts: 71
Joined: Sun Sep 11, 2016 1:21 pm
Location: West of EDDK
Version: 2018.2.1
OS: Linux,MacOS,Windows


Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Richard and 2 guests