Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Fri May 04, 2018 5:34 pm

The latest version, ASE v079, new features: quickline: the button [LINE] now goes directly to the line, eg. 10 enter, and poof your there, no repeated slow stepping through the other signs to get to the one you want.
SteveO
ASE v079
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1h6h-Q0NuIWkgZKiWdfAnhoXHYL03iUnL/view?usp=sharing

Sign Size Issue
https://drive.google.com/drive/folders/1SoI126N5WKZ1ZdBqYru-aTDN9uXN5zd4?usp=sharing
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sat May 05, 2018 11:23 pm

I was very careful this time on placing signs of different sizes and color. The issue is size 4 is the same as the size 3 should be 15 inches larger a 40" by FAA rules and guidelines.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/16JtEqc5IBGgGqtLEL_aLtfowortsZ86V/view?usp=sharing

Noted the workflow was quite tedious, will make some changes closing the append window each time a sign is made. After each added sign I had to manually edit the size a save the change. Believe I will add sign size to the append sign maker and automate some of these steps.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby Gijs » Sun May 06, 2018 9:51 am

MickeySkooter wrote in Sat May 05, 2018 11:23 pm:I was very careful this time on placing signs of different sizes and color. The issue is size 4 is the same as the size 3 should be 15 inches larger a 40" by FAA rules and guidelines.

I believe size 4 and 5 are only available for distance remaining signs (@B) per FAA standard. Have you tried that? See http://wiki.flightgear.org/Sign_Specifi ... Sign_Types
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9288
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sun May 06, 2018 6:45 pm

Thanks, I will do that. I'm working on ASE 0795 to fix my append (sign maker), way better workflow, Sign Size selection is now implemented, ufo monitor works now. Saves and reloads the obj editor now.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sun May 06, 2018 7:21 pm

You're absolutely right. Placed several @B signs and they were the 40" and 25" signs.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Mon May 07, 2018 12:40 am

Here's ASE 0795, watch carefully on to the syntax checker and debug to grasp what it's telling me. I morph many branches segments to save from writing repeat code. A branch can be a goto one minute and a gosub the next, nr is the variable that determines whether II need a return or not. Not closing the back door can create program flow issues.

ASE v0795
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1P99JcJ_p92ZVOOUYcUebG1pSpB1z8pFv/view?usp=sharing
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Tue May 08, 2018 5:26 pm

Here's ASE v0798, much-improved operation. Add a new help topic "Manual editing with ASE text editors." Takes a while to get used to because its not the standard windows control key via the keyboard. On to the assign function, the game is afoot ....

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1zzYDD4Pyb8EmlLn1ZrKNjqLY3HrL_91B/view?usp=sharing
SteveO

I noticed a bug in the code and updated the link with a corrected .exe. So to tell if you downloaded the one copy with the bug, click
monitor UFO then go into append sign maker. With append still, open click on the main window. Disable the monitor UFO and then click on the APPEND button, should pop back in sign maker but, an error on line 283, an extra comma, causes the app to crash.
The link above has the correction.
Last edited by MickeySkooter on Sun May 13, 2018 10:20 am, edited 1 time in total.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Thu May 10, 2018 11:50 pm

Found another issue with append (ASE sign maker) space signs were incorrectly coded for @R and @Y. Fixed other issues.
Here's ASE v0799 . Making progress with v8.0.0 assign function. Disabled for now.
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Jv4PytVNfLBn0Rq11tGi3f9SCnoLy76W/view?usp=sharing
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sun May 13, 2018 4:48 am

Yet another update, I noted an issue when you first loaded an airport, ASE would extract the object sign data from the WED file.
WED would export some runway signs eg. back sign 8 as {@@}8 which ASE misinterpreted as 8, so I modified it as {@@,@B}8.
The .dat remains unchanged.
ASE v080, multi-point assign, is not fully functional, so if preferences are set, load an airport, press assign and the message box will say, models,= 0 ref #. Import the ufo- model-export (monitorUFO ) and click IMPORT, it will count all click points from the last UFO export.

ASE v080

https://drive.google.com/file/d/1vO61AAed1SUFNiSBtQF-0Dwh8Y_UJT_3/view?usp=sharing

SteveO
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Sun May 13, 2018 10:19 am

In my next project and others, I will need a property.dll to call values like wind speed, latitude, longitude, heading, and altitude Portreekid and wkitty42 were the greatest help. Since .nas is C or C++ functions, wonder how hard it would be to make a dll from them? I have a full suite of Liberty Basic C++ source files, GLBCC, sure it has stdin and stdout
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Mon May 14, 2018 7:03 pm

I thought I had dimensioned enough signs a 500 then I exported EHAM with 444 signs. Stepping through them I found @B signs with arrows which I do not have bitmaps defined yet. Wonder if any airport has over 1000 signs?

Still working on the multipoint function,
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Tue May 15, 2018 6:27 pm

More issues with EHAM.dat, I found all the alpha bitmaps from a previous version of ASE v065 which fixed some issues, but for now, they are yellow and black, I assume they are white on black. Found two issues with EHAM imported to WED from the apt.dat file. Took a while to find them, taxiway hole with less than 3 sides. Fix one but the other one has too many points for me to fool with now. How are these airports generated? I have some that the taxiways on the opposite side of the runway. No room in the airport boundary to fix them other than two get a working copy of terraGUI without going through cmake, to busy to concentrate on that right now.
Also, I have an issue with the sign: {@Y,^u}A14{@L}N3{@@,@B}{no-entry}{@L} ... I have no @B no-entry.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Wed May 16, 2018 1:09 am

Took a while but I managed to get all 444 EHAM signs to work. Found out spite WED does not cover @B alpha characters somehow found their way in apt.dat ... I must have 46 bitmaps for each color @L. @B @Y and @R. Will have an update out shortly. SteveO
EHAM turned out to be a good challenge, good example of changing standards or rogue sign making. Even the FAA canceled the taxiway signs and marking pub, guess they couldn't keep up either.
Does anyone know if all CAT 1, CAT ii and CAT III are black on red signs?

Here's ASE v081
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1Wz-nhVSVT2uOmfB1P-UMPNv-pZJSVKa9/view?usp=sharing
As an afterthought, I could make a pre-scan sign code to see if all bitmaps exist for that sign before drawing,. mark the code with a syntax error.bmp to denote there is an issue.
Sorry folks I wrote over the back sign position with the same as the front side, cut and paste will get you every time.
Link has been updated.
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Fri May 18, 2018 1:57 am

Here's the update with the sign code prescan. Checks for conflicts with ASE bitmaps not available. Conflict occurs it will give a notice that there is an issue, press OK and it will place a confused emote got the code it has a conflict with. Minor upgrade to Help. I have to get the sign decoder right to move on or multipoint assignment will have them too, just more of them.

ASE v082
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1ogXWUMXZXCOKpwbHFN14ACXmGd7U_K_m/view?usp=sharing
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Using WED - Airport Sign Extractor

Postby MickeySkooter » Fri May 18, 2018 4:23 pm

Made a few upgrades to append sign maker, it will cover all the signs that I encountered with EHAM. A small issue with the ufo icon, which is black ufo on green when you enter append, if you click on it in ASE v082 it crashes because there is no ufoFalse bitmap now corrected.

Here is the update ASE v083
https://drive.google.com/file/d/1NVb2mGSgI7bqmRtgBosftTaMZyWo12Ya/view?usp=sharing
MickeySkooter
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Tue Feb 20, 2018 4:33 am
Location: Montz, Louisiana
Callsign: NC3110
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Windows 10

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest