Board index FlightGear Development Effects and shaders

getting started with RTT  Topic is solved

An exciting "new" option in FlightGear, that includes reflections, lightmaps, the particle system etc.. A lot is yet to be discovered/implemented!

getting started with RTT

Postby cyrfer » Thu Oct 05, 2017 7:23 am

Hi! I am wondering how to get started implementing some ideas I have for ways to render the scene. I am competent with C++/OSG/GLSL but I am new to FG.

Some things I know I will need to understand are:

1. how to filter the scene elements to prevent some objects from being rendered? For example, I want to remove all of the ground and sky, rendering only aircraft.
2. how to change the shader used to render aircraft? At program start, but dynamically would be ok too.
3. how to render the scene to a texture?
4. how to create and dynamically update a custom texture's memory?
5. how to run a composite pass sampling from the scene texture and the custom texture?

Do I need XML, Nasal, C++, or some combination of these? I plan to develop on Windows, Linux, and Mac.

Thank you for any advice!
cyrfer

Re: getting started with RTT

Postby Thorsten » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:10 am

May I suggest to start small, read what the wiki has to say on effects and shaders and look into how a particular aircraft implements it? And then go from there?
Thorsten

Postby cyrfer » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:19 am

I've been digging, and starting small is exactly what I want to do.

It really helps to have someone point in the right direction when reading tons of documentation.

What I THINK is the closest thing I've found to the most basic way to customize the rendering is a git diff pasted into in the wiki, which is not ideal. Can you confirm or point to something more useful?
`diff --git a/simgear/canvas/elements/CanvasView.hxx b/simgear/canvas/elements/CanvasView.hxx`
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Canvas ... ra_Element
cyrfer

Postby Thorsten » Thu Oct 05, 2017 8:25 am