Board index FlightGear Support Installation Windows

Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10  Topic is solved

Installing FlightGear, scenery, aircraft etc. on Windows.

Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby SkinnierSteve » Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:01 am

I just downloaded and installed the latest version of FlightGear, because version 4.4's terrasync broke, and not even a clean install fixed it. I now have 2017.1.1, but when trying to launch it, it just says Unable to open navcache data or something like that. Any ideas how I can fix it?
SkinnierSteve
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:01 pm

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby Parnikkapore » Thu Feb 23, 2017 1:56 am

Rename %AppData%/Roaming/flightgear.org . Does it make any difference?
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby Müller » Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:53 am

I installed a few minutes ago and I did not have this type of problem, the 2017.1.1 version is working fine on windows10.
Müller
 
Posts: 410
Joined: Mon Feb 20, 2012 12:37 am

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby sanhozay » Thu Feb 23, 2017 8:58 am

I'm just looking at the source code for this. There should be an entry in your log file along the lines of "Failed to open DB at XXXX with error YYYY".

Could you find that line in the log and post what it says?

Or does it not produce a log file in FG_HOME either?
sanhozay
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:57 am
Location: EGNM
Callsign: G-SHOZ
Version: Git
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby Alant » Thu Feb 23, 2017 9:28 am

Rename (or delete) the folder that contains it- as Parnikkapor suggests.. It is a windows permissions problem. Next time you run FG all the files should be automatically regenerated.
Alant
 
Posts: 916
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby SkinnierSteve » Thu Feb 23, 2017 11:25 pm

Hmm, I just checked the appdata, and it still seems to be the files of the 2016.4.4 version. Should I delete it? Could that be the cause of the issue?
Also, I completely deleted FG_HOME before I did a fresh install of Flight Gear with the 2017.1.1 version.

Image
SkinnierSteve
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:01 pm

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby zakalawe » Fri Feb 24, 2017 8:31 am

Seeing the files from the older version is normal, don't worry about them. However, the location you're looking at *is* FG_HOME, so whatever you deleted, it wasn't FG_HOME. 2017.1 will be trying to create a file in that directory called navdata_2017.1.cache, apparently that step is failing. Can you please upload your fgfs.log from the screenshot above, to a web location / pastebin site?
zakalawe
 
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:48 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Callsign: G-ZKLW
Version: next
OS: Mac

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby Darko24 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:46 pm

I have the same problem, but with Parnikkapor suggests i renaming %AppData%/Roaming/flightgear.org, and now problem is solved.
Darko24
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:42 pm

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby Fpilot34 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:58 pm

Darko24 wrote in Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:46 pm:I have the same problem, but with Parnikkapor suggests i renaming %AppData%/Roaming/flightgear.org, and now problem is solved.

How do you rename it?
Fpilot34
 
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 4:39 pm

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby Darko24 » Fri Feb 24, 2017 9:11 pm

With File explorer in windows 10 go to users\yourname\appdata\roaming go to folder flightgear.org and rename folder - you can just give one number on begining . Next time you start the new folder will be created with new catch and FGFS work.
Darko24
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Feb 24, 2017 7:42 pm

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby SkinnierSteve » Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:04 pm

Pastebin says the log file is too large to upload. It's around 43 MB of text.
SkinnierSteve
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:01 pm

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby zakalawe » Sat Feb 25, 2017 4:45 pm

SkinnierSteve wrote in Fri Feb 24, 2017 10:04 pm:Pastebin says the log file is too large to upload. It's around 43 MB of text.

Okay then upload it (zipepd0 to here please: https://swanson.kdab.com/owncloud/index.php/s/P0DMwvV6TdQR5CW
zakalawe
 
Posts: 1152
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2008 4:48 pm
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Callsign: G-ZKLW
Version: next
OS: Mac

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby SkinnierSteve » Sun Feb 26, 2017 12:37 am

That won't be needed anymore. I fixed it by completely deleting the flightgear.org folder in appdata. Thanks anyways.
Last edited by bugman on Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:52 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Please do not quote the entire previous post.
SkinnierSteve
 
Posts: 17
Joined: Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:01 pm

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby bugman » Sun Feb 26, 2017 7:56 am

@SkinierSteve: As you deleted the information reqired for the developers to fix the problem permanently, expect to see this very same problem the next time you update FlightGear ;) This is a long standing issue for a subset of Windows users, but it never gets solved as everyone just deletes the folder. Next time please keep the evidence.

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1719
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: Unable to open navdata cache on windows 10

Postby Alant » Sun Feb 26, 2017 9:29 am

OK

The next time it happens here I will file a report on the devel list, where I am active.

I think that is a problem with the directory permissions and not the navcache file. Last time that I had a corrupt navcache I deleted it as usual. Flightgear then reported that it was unable to create a new one. It was however able to generate new log files in the same directory ,-) Deleting the whole directory restored normal operation.

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 916
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Next

Return to Windows

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests