Board index FlightGear Release candidates

Grass in FG

Release candidate testers are encouraged to post their feedback here. Please read the introduction topic for details.
Forum rules
Please read the introduction topic for details.

Grass in FG

Postby Foxtrot15 » Tue Jan 26, 2016 10:58 am

Hi,

I read somewhere in the wiki that 3.6 has 3d grass. Interestingly, neither 3.6, 3.7 nor 16.0 has 3d grass with rendering maxed out.

Did I read wrongly?
Foxtrot15
 
Posts: 379
Joined: Thu Aug 27, 2015 5:01 am
Location: Singapore
Callsign: Ice-99
Version: 2016.1.0
OS: OS X

Re: Grass in FG

Postby Thorsten » Tue Jan 26, 2016 11:11 am

You have to uncomment the lines for volumetric grass in the materials file. I didn't find a way to make it look good with Rembrandt or default on, so I didn't simply want to spoil things for non-ALS users.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10943
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Grass in FG

Postby Hooray » Tue Jan 26, 2016 12:00 pm

sounds like materials.xml might benefit from supporting XML conditions, or does it already ?
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11329
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Grass in FG

Postby Thorsten » Tue Jan 26, 2016 3:03 pm

They do, but random vegetation is an effect declared on top of that and effects do not support the standard conditions (they do support predicates). Since grass runs over what is in essence the normal tree effect, disabling it when Rembrandt is running kills all the trees.

I suppose with enough determination it can be hacked into something that actually switches, but then it's also a performance-critical thing,...
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10943
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am


Return to Release candidates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests