Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

The animated jetway project

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: partly solved

Postby skyop » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:20 pm

HHS wrote:I'm sure that only STATIC models can use Nasal-scripts. It is even written in the README.scenery in data/Docs.
It would be new to me, if it would work on Shared objects as well.


Checkout a new Terrasync copy of Models/Airport tomorrow and read it and weep. :P
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: partly solved

Postby HHS » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:39 pm

skyop wrote:
HHS wrote:I'm sure that only STATIC models can use Nasal-scripts. It is even written in the README.scenery in data/Docs.
It would be new to me, if it would work on Shared objects as well.


Checkout a new Terrasync copy of Models/Airport tomorrow and read it and weep. :P


A look into the Documentation said clearly No- only STATIC objects can use Nasal.
And a test by me just right now did again say No.

Only STATIC Objects can use NASAL
From data/Docs/READMEScenery:
6 embedded Nasal in XML files (static objects and AI) -------------------------


6.1 static models
-----------------

Objects loaded via OBJECT_STATIC in *.stg files as well as AI models loaded
via scenarios may contain embedded Nasal code.


No word from Shared Objects and anything like that in the section about shared objects.
And as said: I just tested it: doesn't work as Shared Object- only as Static Object!

Just believe me- read it and weep. :P
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:42 pm

Okay, okay... I guess we shall see! :twisted:

If you're right and Nasal doesn't run for static objects, that is, IMO, a very stupid limitation. O_o
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby HHS » Mon Aug 23, 2010 11:43 pm

skyop wrote:Okay, okay... I guess we shall see! :twisted:

If you're right and Nasal doesn't run for static objects, that is, IMO, a very stupid limitation. O_o


Not really. You have to know which is the difference between them and how they are loaded.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Movable jetways

Postby Gijs » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:07 am

I can confirm that Nasal does work on Shared objects. I've used it for the military-shelters at EHVK for example.
If something is defined as "impossible" in an in-freuqent updated README, it doesn't mean that it really is impossible... apparently.
That is with last week's Git + Binary on Windows.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9364
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby HHS » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:23 am

Gijs wrote:I can confirm that Nasal does work on Shared objects. I've used it for the military-shelters at EHVK for example.
If something is defined as "impossible" in an in-freuqent updated README, it doesn't mean that it really is impossible... apparently.
That is with last week's Git + Binary on Windows.


Funny- I've tried- it doesn't work!

Edit: Indeed your hangars are working. But not the jetways as I tested it as Shared model. I guess the problem is in the nasal file itself!
Last edited by HHS on Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Movable jetways

Postby Gijs » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:32 am

HHS wrote:Funny- I've tried- it doesn't work!

Have you tried visiting EHVK (e000n50/e005n51/3040106) and clicking the door of one of the shelters? It takes a while to open, so be prepared to wait a minute.
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9364
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby HHS » Tue Aug 24, 2010 10:38 am

Gijs wrote:
HHS wrote:Funny- I've tried- it doesn't work!

Have you tried visiting EHVK (e000n50/e005n51/3040106) and clicking the door of one of the shelters? It takes a while to open, so be prepared to wait a minute.


Yep, as already said- it is indeed working. A undocumented feature (or bug but I hope not), as I can clearly remember that at the beginning nasal should only work on static objects.

Nethertheless- the jetways aren't working as shared objects. So I guess the problem is in the nasal part of the xml.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Movable jetways

Postby HHS » Tue Aug 24, 2010 11:12 am

Changing "airport" to "KLAS" let the jetways working as Shared Objects.
But might be as I maybe with changing the name removed a typo. So the nasal-part should be checked.
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Wed Aug 25, 2010 12:25 am

HHS wrote:But might be as I maybe with changing the name removed a typo. So the nasal-part should be checked.


Seems fine to me. :? When Martin gets back to me on the new XMLs I guess we'll double-check.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby Jester » Tue Aug 31, 2010 5:06 pm

Awesome job! 8)

However, I suggest changing the tags <jetway2-pos>, <jetway3-pos> etc. to simply <jetway-pos> and use indexing. Encoding numbers in xml tags like that is a big no-no.

I was also wondering, if we could make a simple dialog to adjust the jetway parameters right inside FG. So we wouldn't need blender to tune them. What do you think?
Jester
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:53 pm
Location: Hungary
Callsign: BA996,Rescue1
IRC name: Jester01
Version: GIT
OS: Debian Linux

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:30 pm

Jester wrote:However, I suggest changing the tags <jetway2-pos>, <jetway3-pos> etc. to simply <jetway-pos> and use indexing. Encoding numbers in xml tags like that is a big no-no.


How would I do this? Better come up with something now, we have about 5 aircraft -sets to change. ;)

Jester wrote:I was also wondering, if we could make a simple dialog to adjust the jetway parameters right inside FG. So we wouldn't need blender to tune them. What do you think?


Maybe- for now, use the internal property browser.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby Jester » Tue Aug 31, 2010 10:53 pm

I don't know the exact details of the jetway system, but if you simply use multiple <jetway-pos> tags in the xml they will show up in the property tree in order.
So, suppose you were referencing a property
Code: Select all
/aircraft/jetway2-pos
you should replace that with
Code: Select all
/aircraft/jetway-pos[1]
(indexing begins from zero)
Jester
 
Posts: 1200
Joined: Wed Feb 28, 2007 3:53 pm
Location: Hungary
Callsign: BA996,Rescue1
IRC name: Jester01
Version: GIT
OS: Debian Linux

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Sun Sep 05, 2010 4:24 pm

The fixed version of the movable jetway system is now available through TerraSync. Please update your copies and take another spin around KLAS. 8)

EDIT: Oh, and don't forget the fix on the wiki page.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby HHS » Mon Sep 06, 2010 2:59 pm

Hmmm...there aren't any jetways at KLAS anymore?
Terrasync from today.

Edit: got it working!

But still all jetways are moving-looks funny! :wink:
Nethertheless good work so far!
Up, up and away
User avatar
HHS
Retired
 
Posts: 3624
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2007 8:09 am
Version: GIT

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests