Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

The animated jetway project

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Movable jetways

Postby obk01 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:26 am

where do i put the folder?
obk01
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:45 am

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:28 am

obk01 wrote:where do i put the folder?


It's called README.txt for a reason >_>
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:29 am

Gijs, need a little help here: I'm trying to implement the jetway positions for your 744, but I can't get the model to show up in Blender with texturing. :?
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby obk01 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:35 am

skyop wrote:
obk01 wrote:where do i put the folder?


It's called README.txt for a reason >_>

i read it but im not that good with this stuff so im just lost....
obk01
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:45 am

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:38 am

obk01 wrote:i read it but im not that good with this stuff so im just lost....


Well then it's probably not for you then, there's no way to dumb down the installation any further. I'll see if I can get a video of the animation in a jiff.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby obk01 » Tue Aug 10, 2010 12:40 am

skyop wrote:
obk01 wrote:i read it but im not that good with this stuff so im just lost....


Well then it's probably not for you then, there's no way to dumb down the installation any further. I'll see if I can get a video of the animation in a jiff.


thanks for trying
obk01
 
Posts: 103
Joined: Fri Apr 03, 2009 12:45 am

Re: Movable jetways

Postby Gijs » Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:15 am

skyop wrote:Gijs, need a little help here: I'm trying to implement the jetway positions for your 744, but I can't get the model to show up in Blender with texturing. :?

You opened the 747-400/Models/747-400_fuselage.ac model in Blender? Does Blender give a missing-texture error?
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9365
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Tue Aug 10, 2010 1:38 pm

Gijs wrote:You opened the 747-400/Models/747-400_fuselage.ac model in Blender? Does Blender give a missing-texture error?


Nope, I tried to open 747-400/Models/747-400.ac and the UV mapping was all wrong and there were no textures. I guess that must've been the wrong model.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby flak » Tue Aug 10, 2010 5:28 pm

installed as mentioned in the readme

didn't find any jetway with a yellow line :(
tried clicking on many of the jetways to see if any of them were the movable ones..
flak
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:20 pm
Callsign: Anant
Version: Git
OS: Windows 7

Re: Movable jetways

Postby Oscar » Tue Aug 10, 2010 7:46 pm

flak wrote:installed as mentioned in the readme

didn't find any jetway with a yellow line :(
tried clicking on many of the jetways to see if any of them were the movable ones..

Try to press Ctrl+C on your keyboard, and you'll see which jetways is clickable. It'll be marked yellow or green I think (dunno, I'm colorblind).
User avatar
Oscar
 
Posts: 425
Joined: Sat Sep 05, 2009 1:12 pm
Location: The Netherlands
OS: Mac OS X

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Wed Aug 11, 2010 5:37 am

:D

Image

Image

@flak: start at runway 1L at KSFO and taxi to terminal 1 (on your left). There should be two lone gates, they are the animated ones.
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby flak » Wed Aug 11, 2010 2:38 pm

It worked in GIT FlightGear..
(In my 2.0 version, the animated jetways just don't appear)


Tried it with the 777. Works great!
flak
 
Posts: 76
Joined: Mon Feb 22, 2010 5:20 pm
Callsign: Anant
Version: Git
OS: Windows 7

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Wed Aug 11, 2010 4:07 pm

Aircraft developers who are interested in this system, there is a rudimentary tutorial available at the WIP wiki page: http://wiki.flightgear.org/index.php/Howto:_Animated_jetways. No screenshots as of yet. :oops:
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby skyop » Wed Aug 11, 2010 9:44 pm

Got a video of the animation! :D

http://tinypic.com/r/2hf7wiq/4
Aircraft: [ CRJ700-family | DC-10-30 ] Scenery: [ KBFL ]
skyop
 
Posts: 3047
Joined: Mon Jun 14, 2010 12:40 am
Location: Austin, Texas, USA
IRC name: skyop
Version: next
OS: Fedora 23/Windows 10

Re: Movable jetways

Postby nickyivyca » Thu Aug 12, 2010 7:01 am

:shock:

That is really fast...

When I was in Philadelphia, the gate over had its jetway at probably an A320 or 737 height, and the total adjustment time was about over 2 minutes for adjusting to a CRJ. Lowering the jetway probably took the most time, moving it around probably only took about 30 seconds.

But definitely looking good! Think it can work worldwide in the future?
Personal Fleet: 787-8, CRJ-200, 737-300, MD-81, DHC-3A, Beechcraft Starship
New hangar!
Curent projects: New 787, New CRJ-200, DC-9, New 777-200ER FDM
User avatar
nickyivyca
 
Posts: 1256
Joined: Tue Dec 29, 2009 5:42 am
Location: Near KSFO, closer to KPAO
Callsign: Nick, ---206
Version: 2
OS: Win 7 (64)

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests