Board index FlightGear Support Tools FGRun

FlightGear Wizard

FGRun is a graphical frontend to run FlightGear.

FlightGear Wizard

Postby fatkat61 » Mon May 31, 2010 8:50 pm

When I start FlightGear the FlightGear Wizard starts on the first page where all the file stuff is. I tried using defaults and it crashes, it won't let me do anything. What do I do? What can I do? Do I re-install? I think my mom did it. Yesterday she got mad at me and tried turning off my computer when I was playing FlightGear.
I am using the latest version, on Vista
VAN-604's flies DHC-2, DHC-3, DHC-6, A-6E, KC-135E,777- 200ER,C-130 Hercules, Zeppelin NT, and of course m133
User avatar
fatkat61
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 3:19 am
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Callsign: VAN-604
Version: 2
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby rsotaccs » Mon May 31, 2010 10:00 pm

Try to locate your $FG_ROOT directory. Take a screenshot of the 1st window of FG launcher and post it here. Let's see what's wrong. You could also try to delete fgrun.prefs file.
Active again! Sometimes... // BRASIL
rsotaccs
 
Posts: 111
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:50 pm
Callsign: PT-RSB
IRC name: PT-RSB
Version: 111219
OS: Win7 x64

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby fatkat61 » Mon May 31, 2010 10:05 pm

When I start it up the Executable is blank, FG_ROOT is blank, and FG_SCENERY is blank.
VAN-604's flies DHC-2, DHC-3, DHC-6, A-6E, KC-135E,777- 200ER,C-130 Hercules, Zeppelin NT, and of course m133
User avatar
fatkat61
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 3:19 am
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Callsign: VAN-604
Version: 2
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby dany93 » Tue Jun 01, 2010 2:15 pm

Hi, fatkat61

It seems that, at least, you have lost your paths (hoping no other file is corrupted, as rsotaccs suggests: fgrun.prefs, autosave.xml) .

For me (Windows Vista, FG 1.9.1b), my Wizard 1.5.1 (in French) is:

Executable: C:/Program Files/FlightGear/bin/Win32/fgfs.exe
FG_ROOT: C:/Program Files/FlightGear/data
FG_SCENERY: C:/Program Files/FlightGear/data/Scenery/
Hidden file for airports: C:/Users/(your session)/AppData/Roaming/flightgear.org/fgrun//airports.txt

You can search most of them by the explorer included in the wizard (Folder icons for 1 and 2, or "Add"... for FG_SCENERY). By this way you have your real paths and names.

Cheers

Dany
dany93
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: France (Paris region)
Version: 2018.4.0
OS: Linux Mint 18 (64 b)

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby fatkat61 » Sat Jun 05, 2010 4:03 am

Thank you for the help it all works now :D
VAN-604's flies DHC-2, DHC-3, DHC-6, A-6E, KC-135E,777- 200ER,C-130 Hercules, Zeppelin NT, and of course m133
User avatar
fatkat61
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 3:19 am
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Callsign: VAN-604
Version: 2
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby dany93 » Sat Jun 05, 2010 12:18 pm

Good news. You're welcome
dany93
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: France (Paris region)
Version: 2018.4.0
OS: Linux Mint 18 (64 b)

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby fatkat61 » Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:31 am

It happened again. AHHHHHH :evil:
VAN-604's flies DHC-2, DHC-3, DHC-6, A-6E, KC-135E,777- 200ER,C-130 Hercules, Zeppelin NT, and of course m133
User avatar
fatkat61
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 3:19 am
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Callsign: VAN-604
Version: 2
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby Avionyx » Mon Jul 05, 2010 8:44 am

Just a thought...and probably a silly one. The exe file isn't still within a .zip or .rar folder is it?
Avionyx
 
Posts: 429
Joined: Mon Jan 11, 2010 3:07 pm
Location: EGKA
Callsign: G-AVYX
Version: GIT
OS: Arch

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby fatkat61 » Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:22 am

Avionyx wrote:The exe file isn't still within a .zip or .rar folder is it?

No its not
User avatar
fatkat61
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 3:19 am
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Callsign: VAN-604
Version: 2
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby Sealbhach » Fri Jul 09, 2010 12:31 am

Last edited by Sealbhach on Sat Jul 10, 2010 12:36 am, edited 1 time in total.
Sealbhach
 
Posts: 942
Joined: Wed Jun 30, 2010 9:17 am

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby fatkat61 » Fri Jul 09, 2010 1:03 am

does it run on windows?
VAN-604's flies DHC-2, DHC-3, DHC-6, A-6E, KC-135E,777- 200ER,C-130 Hercules, Zeppelin NT, and of course m133
User avatar
fatkat61
 
Posts: 31
Joined: Sat May 22, 2010 3:19 am
Location: Delta, BC, Canada
Callsign: VAN-604
Version: 2
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby dany93 » Fri Jul 09, 2010 10:06 am

Hi, fatkat61

What is the problem?
If your paths are not exactly those I posted before, did you try this :
dany93 wrote:You can search most of them by the explorer included in the wizard (Folder icons for 1 and 2, or "Add"... for FG_SCENERY). By this way you have your real paths and names.

Under Windows Vista, these paths are saved in C:\Users\(Your-session-name)\AppData\Roaming\flightgear.org\fgrun.prefs. This folder is cache. If there is no flightgear.org\fgrun.prefs, or it has been lost, or for a new user-session, it is created at your first opening / exiting from the game. But in this case you have to enter your paths.

Dany
dany93
 
Posts: 759
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: France (Paris region)
Version: 2018.4.0
OS: Linux Mint 18 (64 b)

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby iguana72 » Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:46 am

I'm having the same problem. I've tried to do what people have suggested. But nothing has worked so far. Help please.

EDIT: Nevermind. I fixed it
I fly for fun.
iguana72
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Feb 26, 2011 2:13 am
Location: Colorado USA
Callsign: IDKWhat
Version: 2.4.0
OS: Windows Vista

Re: FlightGear Wizard

Postby Gijs » Fri Sep 02, 2011 5:12 pm

iguana72 wrote in Fri Sep 02, 2011 1:46 am:Nevermind. I fixed it

Mind telling us "how" you fixed it? It might be helpful to other people...
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9311
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10


Return to FGRun

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest