Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Liveries

Repainting

Discussion of aircraft textures and liveries

Repainting

Postby YourDailyTsunami » Sun Feb 24, 2008 10:46 am

When I've created a new .rgb file, what do I do to connect it to the rest of the plane?
all the booze is free, airline goin' broke, here come the ladies with another jack'n'coke... :P
YourDailyTsunami
 
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Europe, mostly
Callsign: Tsunami

Postby AndersG » Sun Feb 24, 2008 11:02 am

Normally you would change an already existing .rgb file. If you must change the file name you can do a search and replace in the .ac file (it is a text file). However, if you want to change the way the image is mapped onto the 3d geometry you'll have to use a 3d editor with a texture mapping capability, e.g. Blender.

/Anders
AndersG
 
Posts: 2448
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2006 9:20 am
Location: Göteborg, Sweden
Callsign: SE-AG
OS: Debian GNU Linux

Postby sneo » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:35 pm

rename the old rgb as a .old file then name your rgb as the name of the required.

e.g
oldfilename: front.rgb => rename to front.rgb.old
your repaint: front.rgb

this saves time and enable you to keep the old one just in case u need it back.
CallSign: (Realistic Aviation) 9V-NHY, (Tester) sneo; Website: http://fgfs-sneo.blogspot.com/
sneo
 
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:43 am
Location: singapore

Postby YourDailyTsunami » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:38 pm

So there is no way to use both the old& the new one? :(
all the booze is free, airline goin' broke, here come the ladies with another jack'n'coke... :P
YourDailyTsunami
 
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Europe, mostly
Callsign: Tsunami

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Sun Feb 24, 2008 1:59 pm

YourDailyTsunami wrote:So there is no way to use both the old& the new one? :(


of course its possible.....like the 787...and many other aircraft have many liveries(Repaints)
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Postby YourDailyTsunami » Sun Feb 24, 2008 6:41 pm

So what files do I have to create to make it working? Can I use the old .ac files? Do I need to write new .xml Documents?
all the booze is free, airline goin' broke, here come the ladies with another jack'n'coke... :P
YourDailyTsunami
 
Posts: 584
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2007 7:01 pm
Location: Europe, mostly
Callsign: Tsunami

Postby Gijs » Mon Feb 25, 2008 7:42 am

This is what to do for liveries like the 787. Make for each livery these new files:
  • Aircraft/.../Models/... .ac | change the textures inside it with any editor like Notepad).
  • Aircraft/.../Models/... .xml | copie the existing file, but change the model path to your new .ac file.
  • Aircraft/..../... -set.xml | copie the existing file, but change the model path to your new .xml file.

Look at the 787 to see how it's done.

Good luck!
Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9381
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10


Return to Liveries

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests