Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby naplesAPF » Fri Mar 12, 2021 4:18 am

How does one turn on the Control Panel lights in this MD-11? When It's dark outside the control panel is totally dark.
naplesAPF
 
Posts: 59
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 8:17 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby Octal450 » Mon Mar 29, 2021 2:59 am

hi naples, sorry for late response, I don't have a photo of the controls right now, I'll have to get it for you. there is a knob on the extreme left of the FCP panel, and 2 on the lower left of the overhead.

I had a few moments to add a thing:
Heading Bug Parking, for pre-select and selected:
Image
Image

And the VSI target bugs, only visible in V/S mode:
Image

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby Octal450 » Mon Apr 05, 2021 11:20 pm

Fixed bad disengagement of ABS RTO MAX mode... oops

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby turkish_aviator » Mon Apr 12, 2021 10:44 pm

First, i apologize if i asked this before but don't remember now. My mind is extremely busy these days.

Well, when my heading changes, the display brightness/visibility are changing as well. Especially when sun passes directly behind me, displays become completely white, so i change the clock time from the menu to see the displays. What can i do to fix this?

And i know that UPS has some GE engined MD-11s, but there's no livery for UPS in MD-11F(GE) file, if i copy the livery from PW engined MD-11F liveries file and paste to GE engined MD-11F liveries file, will it cause any problems?
turkish_aviator
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 8:37 pm
Version: Latest
OS: Win7

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby Octal450 » Wed Apr 14, 2021 1:53 am

Code: Select all
Well, when my heading changes, the display brightness/visibility are changing as well. Especially when sun passes directly behind me, displays become completely white, so i change the clock time from the menu to see the displays. What can i do to fix this?

That is a problem with your rendering of the display shaders. I can add a option to disable them.

Nope, just copy it and fix the path in the XML.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby Octal450 » Sat Apr 24, 2021 5:04 am

Folks, FG 2020.4.0 have updated the views so that the "2" key now shows helicopter view since it is now view next to the captain view and the others are offset and the FCP panel is not able to be quick-seen.

I've added a patch that changes the view based on FG version.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby Octal450 » Sat Apr 24, 2021 3:38 pm

Recalculated idle limits, they were too high. This should help descent performance.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby turkish_aviator » Mon Apr 26, 2021 11:47 pm

For flaps 35 and at a weight about 180-200 tons, what should be my final approach speed?
turkish_aviator
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 8:37 pm
Version: Latest
OS: Win7

Re: New MD-11 Development

Postby turkish_aviator » Tue Apr 27, 2021 9:54 am

Octal450 wrote in Sat Oct 03, 2020 8:05 pm:PFD rewrite done! FPS bump inbound!

Image

PLEASE test and let me know either here or via discord if there are any problems in the rendering of the PFD! I tested everything and seemed fine on my end.

Also fixed the DUAL LAND bug where it would revert to SINGLE LAND when reversers deploy on landing.

Kind Regards,
josh


I know this is an old post but i have a question about it. While performing an ils approach, i could never see "dual land" or "single land" even in flare phase, i was only seeing "loc" and "g/s" and they were all White, not Green like in this post. Am i doing something wrong?
turkish_aviator
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 8:37 pm
Version: Latest
OS: Win7

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby Octal450 » Tue Apr 27, 2021 11:42 am

It always works for me, A/P must be on for it to work, and you must centralized on the localizer and glideslope. Then at 1500ft it does a self check. If the self check passes, (takes abuot 10 sec, about 1350ft or so in a standard descent), it'll appear the modes DUAL / SINGLE LAND. Or if A/P is off, you'll see APPR ONLY. Also ensure you use the latest MD-11...

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby turkish_aviator » Tue Apr 27, 2021 7:35 pm

Thanks!

Today, just after touchdown (my plane was not that heavy and my vapp was 145kts) i checked the engine display and i noticed engine 2 (tail) has been shut down. I know Concorde was shutting down outboard engines after touchdown but is that a common procedure for the MD-11 as well? and does the aircraft doing it automatically? Sorry for that question but i am not that much familiar with the real aircraft so i would like to add to my knowledge as well :)
turkish_aviator
 
Posts: 64
Joined: Thu Oct 08, 2020 8:37 pm
Version: Latest
OS: Win7

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby Octal450 » Tue Apr 27, 2021 7:44 pm

Hi,
No, that would only happen if you ran out of fuel. Balance your fuel tanks and then when 1 and 3 are full keep filling 2, then when that's full fill upper aux then lower aux then tail. Tank flow will be automatically managed.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby Octal450 » Sun May 30, 2021 7:09 pm

Fixed compatibility problems with latest 2020.4.0... sorry for nag messages you may have seen from aircraft config.

Now also added ability to cancel panel state loads for whatever reason... was requested so here you go.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby V12 » Wed Jun 02, 2021 7:51 pm

turkish_aviator wrote in Tue Apr 27, 2021 7:35 pm:...I know Concorde was shutting down outboard engines after touchdown...

If I have correct info, Concorde had high touchdown speed and needed all 4 reversers for slow down. After slow down to taxi speed, engines was shutting down.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2274
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11 Development

Postby Octal450 » Thu Jun 03, 2021 1:53 pm

Hello,
Sorry for lack of update. Been busy with A320.

Added realistic IRU alignment -> not only visual, this will soon affect the air data system as I create it too.
Before IRU turned on:
Image

IRU starts to align:
Image

Attitude comes alive first:
Image

HDG, VS, and FD bars come alive:
Image

Alignment complete:
Image

Huge thanks to MD-11 First Officer Jeff once again, for providing details and information on how this should look. It also is simulated in the IRU itself, the AirData system will also work off this logic.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4921
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest