Board index Other Hangar talk

Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Talk about (almost) anything, as long as it is no serious FlightGear talk and does not fit in the other subforums.
Forum rules
Please refrain from discussing politics.

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Fri Feb 19, 2021 6:06 am

Out of London City Airport

Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Fri Feb 19, 2021 6:49 am

@benih
I started the JAR file and hit Connect and it just worked, I guess. I'm not sure what I am supposed to be seeing or doing.
As far as msfs bindings, I'll have to take a look some other time, I may have to ask you some specific questions.

EDIT:
I re-read your first instructions, trying it again with those instructions.

OK, Not so simple. Hitting slave to SimConnect fails, port not found.

Options says port is localhost 16661
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:06 am

I was testing the RadioGUI and started at London City Airport, live weather. I just had to take off and see what this looked like. Can you guess the outcome of the flight?
I have to admit, the graphics are outstanding. I guess that is what money can buy, right!

Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby benih » Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:17 am

The graphics are outstanding, true! :)

OK, Not so simple. Hitting slave to SimConnect fails, port not found.

Thanks for the test!
The port you have seen in the options is the target port where the fgcom protocol messages are sent to (when you activate sending by pushing the connect button in the lower left), i.e. in this case a running fgcom-mumble plugin instance (which you didn't load, but thats fine for that test).

The SimConnect library is supposed to find it's port automatically.
So probably it failed to do so, or the SimConnect Port was just not open. I do not know if you have to tell MSFS to open it...


[EDIT] Google results look like one has to install the SimConnect component beforehand:
http://www.stryder-it.de/simdashboard/h ... ator_(2020)
https://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/forums/simconnect.60/

EDIT2: and then it seems not: https://www.fsdeveloper.com/forum/threa ... fs.449055/
But there need some config to be done on the mfsf machine to allow the connection:
First of all, on the gaming computer you don't need to install anything special, Microsoft Flight Sim runs its own simconnect server, you just need to set it up properly.

Find the SimConnect.xml in the Microsoft files, usually somewhere here:
C:\Users\[user name]\AppData\Local\Packages\Microsoft.FlightSimulator_8wekyb3d8bbwe\LocalCache

Add a new connection to that xml file:
Code: Select all
<SimConnect.Comm>
<Descr>Global IP Port</Descr>
<Disabled>False</Disabled>
<Protocol>IPv4</Protocol>
<Scope>global</Scope>
<Address>192.168.0.66</Address> !!Set the IP of your gaming machine
<MaxClients>64</MaxClients>
<Port>7421</Port> !!Can be another port if you like
<MaxRecvSize>4096</MaxRecvSize>
<DisableNagle>False</DisableNagle>
</SimConnect.Comm>


Update I made you another build which also lets you define the SimConnect connection parameters from the options dialog, grab it here:
https://github.com/hbeni/fgcom-mumble/f ... es.jar.zip
User avatar
benih
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am
Callsign: D-EBHX

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:11 pm

I looked at this for awhile now and I am not getting much further.

The SimConnect library is supposed to find it's port automatically.
So probably it failed to do so, or the SimConnect Port was just not open. I do not know if you have to tell MSFS to open it...

Understood. From what I am reading it is supposed to be installed by default. Nothing definitive about it being open or not.
I'm getting a Connection refused.

I looked in the MSFS files and there is a SimConnect.dll so it's there. Everything I read says it is just working by default.

I am running MSFS through Steam, maybe that is making a difference?

I don't know what to do with the port settings you added, wouldn't know if there is a different port or not?

I checked the config file location and there is no Microsoft.Flight_8wekyb3d8bbwe but there is a Microsoft.FlightDashboard_8wekyb3d8bbwe.
No files in that folder and I think that is related to SimConnect but for a different client?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:28 pm

Just turned Developer mode on, we'll see if that makes any difference.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:30 pm

Nope
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:34 pm

That's interesting, they have a console log, 43 errors, 375 warnings, 822 messages. And I thought FGFS logs were bad.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby benih » Fri Feb 19, 2021 8:07 pm

wlbragg wrote in Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:30 pm:Nope

:cry: i unfortunately cannot test myself .... but if we find out the port number, it might work.
User avatar
benih
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am
Callsign: D-EBHX

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby Johan G » Sat Feb 20, 2021 1:30 pm

wlbragg wrote in Fri Feb 19, 2021 7:34 pm:[...] they have a console log, 43 errors, 375 warnings, 822 messages.

Whoa! :shock:
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 6277
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 2020.3.4
OS: Windows 10, 64 bit

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Sun Feb 21, 2021 7:00 pm

This is for those working on VNLK



Is the power off in this aircraft? Don't you think you should be able to pull your way up that incline?
Last edited by wlbragg on Sun Feb 21, 2021 7:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Sun Feb 21, 2021 7:02 pm

@benih just for kicks I tried disabling Windows Firewall (apps and lan), didn't help. When I use the default port I get a connection refused, but when I used 500 (a port I have seen mentioned with in some reference to MSFS) I got a connected to kittyhawk, but no data. I have no idea why.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby benih » Mon Feb 22, 2021 8:31 am

@wlbragg thanks for following up on that.
Port 500? I wonder if that is dynamic or always fixed to that (so i can adjust the default).
Kittyhawk is good: as far as i read, this is msfs2020‘s codename.

Why there is no data is a good question. I tried to make the radioGUI request the data in a loop... maybe that it is never started, because that is done in a callback if simconnect.
I try to incorporate more logging, so we can see if the callback runs...
User avatar
benih
 
Posts: 558
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am
Callsign: D-EBHX

Re: Microsoft Flight Simulator returns to the skies

Postby wlbragg » Mon Feb 22, 2021 4:47 pm

Kitty hawk hu, good, I never saw that anywhere and I wondered why that suddenly appeared to connect.
Ok now that I know it connected, maybe I can fiddle with a little bit, make sure I'm not getting data
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
wlbragg
 
Posts: 6033
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Previous

Return to Hangar talk

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests