Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby Isaak » Sat Oct 24, 2020 10:11 am

Yes. Click on nav rad on the CDU. You can enter both ILS, VOR (both including radials) and NDB's. Be aware that as IRL the 777 is unable to lock on a VOR radial. That's done with the CDU, but is not yet implemented in FG.
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby I-PIC68 » Sat Oct 24, 2020 11:16 am

What I mean is that I cannot enter at same time VOR and ILS, because there is no option for ILS.

Image

like here:
https://forums.x-plane.org/uploads/mont ... 032422.jpg

I think when you turn the dial, on the cockpit, from VOR to APP, it should set the ILS's frequency, like in the Airbus.
Aircraft: Boeing 777-300ER, Airbus A320, Cessna 172P 182S, DHC-6
Airport: LIPQ, LGTS
User avatar
I-PIC68
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun May 24, 2020 9:16 am
Location: Trieste, Italy
Callsign: I-PIC68
Version: 2020.3.8
OS: Windows 10

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby Isaak » Sat Oct 24, 2020 1:33 pm

I am not familiar with the real 777's CDU, so I 'm not certain of its capabilities. It is certainly different from the A320 and it 's also not the same as the 737, as there is no radial dial in the 777's cockpit, that's all done from the CDU. I think you mean the ND's display dial, but I 'm not certain that it's tied to the CDU IRL. The current implementation does work, but its indeed very basic and could use some attention. Sidi762 has been doing some work on the CDU, but I don't know how far he stands atm and if he is still working on it. There's a lot to be done in the 777. Please do feel free to contribute in any way you can ;-)

Kind regards,

Isaak
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby Octal450 » Tue Oct 27, 2020 3:15 pm

Isaak,
It is needed separate. To fix this you'd have to add a third nav radio and dme, which must be set-up manually because FG Won't do it for you, then you can definite it. I usually do [0] for ils, [1] for ils2 (if needed but its there just in case), [2] for VOR1 and [3] for VOR2.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4917
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby NewsDude » Tue Dec 01, 2020 4:33 pm

Hey, I thought the autothrottle glitch was solved? I'm currently in the 777-200, at 35,000. The autothrottle keeps wanting to set to 0.
User avatar
NewsDude
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:35 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
OS: MacOS X

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby Isaak » Tue Dec 01, 2020 4:52 pm

You have to make sure you set a correct cruising speed in the Route Manager, preferably before takeoff. I don't think anything has changed regarding that issue in the 777.
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 617
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby NewsDude » Wed Dec 02, 2020 4:58 am

Got it. Thanks Isaak!
User avatar
NewsDude
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:35 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
OS: MacOS X

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby NewsDude » Sat Feb 27, 2021 5:09 am

I'm just wondering, will there ever be a Project Seattle type of project for the 737, or other Boeing planes?
User avatar
NewsDude
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Aug 28, 2019 7:35 pm
Location: San Jose, CA
OS: MacOS X

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby V12 » Sat Feb 27, 2021 7:16 am

There is not study level 737 for FG. Only basic flyable plane with basic autopilot. No MCDU or other advanced devices, no VNAV etc.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 2271
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Announcing NEW Boeing 777 'Seattle' - Pre-Release

Postby merspieler » Sat Feb 27, 2021 11:56 am

NewsDude wrote in Sat Feb 27, 2021 5:09 am:I'm just wondering, will there ever be a Project Seattle type of project for the 737, or other Boeing planes?


If YOU start it, yes...

Else you're at the mercy of others...

Since you're asking in the future, there's no way of telling if that will exists....

The best way to predict the future is to create it your self

- Willy Brant
Be the change you wish to see in the world, be an ally to all! Love is the answer.

If everything is going against you, keep in mind that airplanes take off against the wind, not with it.
merspieler
 
Posts: 967
Joined: Thu Oct 26, 2017 10:43 am
Location: Wish to be in YBCS
Callsign: JST935. ORI1711
IRC name: merspieler
Version: next
OS: Debian Bullseye

Previous

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest