Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Parking brake and mouse yoke mode

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Parking brake and mouse yoke mode

Postby yengema1 » Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:22 pm

Has any other member had a problem with Shift-B NOT releasing the handbrake nor will using the mouse in standard mode and clicking the actual brake (view below) please.
I have a feeling it may be related to a keyboard issue, although my keyboard is standard UK settings.
yengema1
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 6:15 pm

Re: Parking brake and mouse yoke mode

Postby Johan G » Wed Feb 15, 2017 8:51 pm

Hi and Welcome to the FlightGear forum! :D

What aircraft do you have those issues in? Both keyboard and and model bindings can be very aircraft specific.

Edit: Fix broken smiley.
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5712
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: Parking brake and mouse yoke mode

Postby sanhozay » Wed Feb 15, 2017 9:33 pm

I've had this in various aircraft but it's intermittent. Tapping the brakes (b) usually releases it for me.
sanhozay
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:57 am
Location: EGNM
Callsign: G-SHOZ
Version: Git
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Parking brake and mouse yoke mode

Postby Isaak » Wed Feb 15, 2017 10:19 pm

It occurs for me too, I 've only flown the 777 lately, so I don't know if it happens on other planes, but I always thought it had something to do with my Saitek Pedals not being moved and sending a 'brake-down' signal because of it. At start-up I have to move all my controls (throttle quadrant, yoke, pedals, joystick) to send a first signal to FG. Moving1 axis is enough to send all the other signals correct. So after start-up I have the habit of pushing down a toe-brake. I have no idea if this is hardware or software related and never considered it a noteworthy bug, but if someone has a clue of how to fix it: it would be welcome. What I do consider a bit annoying is the fact that since I assigned two axes to my flaps and speed-brakes, those get extended on start-up (both halfway, the 0-point of the axes on my throttle quadrant) without an option to retract them without starting the engines and enabling hydraulic power. which is only available after performing the full pre-start, start and aft-start procedures. The controls do move, the control surfaces obviously not. This was not the case when I still used buttons to move those controls, so I guess FlightGear assumes all joystick-axes are at their zero-point during start-up and sets the control surfaces accordingly. For the toe-brakes on my pedals, this would mean they are halfway pressed, more than enough to prohibit the airplane from moving when taxi-thrust is applied.

Using FG 2016.4.1 on a Windows 10 64bit machine.
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 561
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: Parking brake and mouse yoke mode

Postby Johan G » Fri Mar 27, 2020 1:51 am

Some posts were split off to the new topic Where is the Bombardier CRJ700 parking brake?
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5712
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests