Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude  Topic is solved

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby xen_steda » Tue Feb 04, 2020 1:59 pm

Hello, I have a question...Is it possible to start an aircraft at specific point (long,lat) instead of an airfield? Thanks for any assistance!
xen_steda
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Feb 04, 2020 2:26 pm

ButOfCourse<tm>

look at the location field help in the launcher... it tells you how to do it ;)

eg: i regularly use "28.608389N, 80.604333W" (without the quotes) to position the shuttle on Pad 39A at the cape... i also use similar to position the UFO over the control tower at several different airports where i like to sit and watch the AI craft moving about doing their thing ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6491
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby wlbragg » Tue Feb 04, 2020 4:11 pm

Or you can do it in the additional options in the QT start menu using the following...

--lat=28.608317
--lon=-80.604216
--altitude=-9999

-9999 starts you on the ground at that location.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5596
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby xen_steda » Tue Feb 04, 2020 5:24 pm

Oh guys this is really exciting, I cannot wait to try this out when i get back to my computer, thank you very much for the help!

Also, is it possible to save a flight and return to it at another time? Like say I'm 6,000ft up in my Super Cub nowhere near an airfield or meadow, can I save it and quit out to return to the plane flying at the same spot and altitude?
xen_steda
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby Thorsten » Tue Feb 04, 2020 5:42 pm

I think save/resume when not on the ground is so far unique to the Space Shuttle (it is rather difficult to implement...)
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11639
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby wlbragg » Tue Feb 04, 2020 6:23 pm

is it possible to save a flight and return to it at another time? Like say I'm 6,000ft up in my Super Cub


Yes it is possible, but like Thorsten said it requires some extra attention to get it right. So far, we limited the Cub and c172p to on ground saving on purpose. They have every conceivable landing gear known. I figured one can land if they must, "anywhere, including water", save it, take a nap, then proceed. :lol:
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5596
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby xen_steda » Tue Feb 04, 2020 6:49 pm

Oh ok then that's really not bad at all. So you're saying if I find a nice field to land on I can then save and start from that field after relaunching Flightgear? Thanks for your help!
xen_steda
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude  

Postby wlbragg » Tue Feb 04, 2020 7:13 pm

Yeah, that was something I wanted to be able to do once I added the bush tires, skies and pontoons. I felt it was important to be able to save your adventure and then resume later on. There is a Save/Resume in the GUI.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5596
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby xen_steda » Tue Feb 04, 2020 10:48 pm

So I'm trying to start off at El Capitan Meadow in Yosemite National Park but it's not really working out. Could anyone assist me with this?
xen_steda
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby wlbragg » Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:19 pm

What's not working? Give me your coordinates?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5596
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby xen_steda » Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:41 pm

wlbragg wrote in Tue Feb 04, 2020 11:19 pm:Give me your coordinates?


So the way Google Earth reads out the coordinates is different from how you input it for Flightgear because the Google Earth format reads this:

37°43'25.33"N
119°38'07.80"W

I entered this into Flightgear:

37.432533N, 119.380780W
xen_steda
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:53 pm

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby wlbragg » Wed Feb 05, 2020 12:22 am

Use a conversion program https://www.fcc.gov/media/radio/dms-decimal

37.725833
119.635278
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 5596
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Start aircraft at a specific Longtitude and Latitude

Postby xen_steda » Wed Feb 05, 2020 12:37 am

Yep, nailed it, thanks a lot for your help!
xen_steda
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Jan 05, 2020 3:53 pm


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Gilly and 0 guests