Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Wrong Scenery

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Wrong Scenery

Postby Robertfm » Mon Sep 16, 2019 3:07 pm

Now here's a weirder than weird one. When flying I use PHi map that shows plane travel, I use Skyvector map for actual route plotted, and FGMP for airport details. Now I was flying in Denmark happily looking at the scenery and was suddenly aware I was flying over open water on my sim screen. All three maps showed it was forest. I continued and eventually reached land. Then the terrain was as per the maps leading me to the airport.

Any ideas
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: W10 v 1907

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby dilbert » Mon Sep 16, 2019 7:50 pm

Using UFO and terrasync on a machine lacking previously downloaded Scenery file, found
EKRK floating in the middle of a white scenery tile. All the surrounding tiles were good.

On another machine with scenery previously downloaded and installed in Scenery file, tile was good,
whether Terrasync was on or off.
dilbert
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: KBFM, Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 220.3.2
OS: WIN 10

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby Robertfm » Tue Sep 17, 2019 8:33 am

I have scenery set on automatic download with Terrasync on, so are you saying I would have to load European scenery in addition to this. This is the first time such a thing has happened and I have been flying in Europe for a week now.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: W10 v 1907

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby dilbert » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:11 am

No. Just reporting the weird thing I saw in addition to your post. Sometimes it's an individual problem; but in my case (and possibly yours) it looked like a missing tile problem with the Terrasync download. Hopefully, if it's universal, it can be addressed by Development fairly soon.

My earlier scenery download provided the missing tile, but can't say whether a current download would, though you would have nothing to lose trying it. You would only have to download the affected section, which I think is e010n50zip.
If you're running 2018.3.2 using WIN10, there's a glitch in scenery addons, so you would have to extract the file from Downloads to Users>{your computer name}>Documents>FlightGear>Scenery :) This would not affect Terrasyc. If FG doesn't find what it needs in Terrasync, it then looks for it in Scenery .
Last edited by dilbert on Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:41 pm, edited 3 times in total.
dilbert
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: KBFM, Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 220.3.2
OS: WIN 10

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby Robertfm » Tue Sep 17, 2019 10:51 am

I am using 2019.1 I will take a look I have the scenery on disc's.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: W10 v 1907

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby bugman » Tue Sep 17, 2019 12:50 pm

If there's a temporary issue with the server providing the scenery mirror you are auto-downloading from, you may not get the tile and you'll see the default water tile. Pre-downloading tiles can obviously help with this issue.

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1804
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby dilbert » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:26 pm

Thanks Edward. Terrasync is back working for EKRK. Seemed like server was temporarily down, the way things acted,
dilbert
 
Posts: 572
Joined: Wed Jan 07, 2015 8:36 pm
Location: KBFM, Alabama, USA
Callsign: db1
Version: 220.3.2
OS: WIN 10

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby Robertfm » Tue Jun 30, 2020 5:54 pm

Has issues yesterday when on approach to airport runway disappeared and then reappeared then I landed an it was gone again. Today I had 'sea' on two journeys in Canada. I still use Terrasync, after I disconnected FG and reconnected it was fine again.

Is there a way of manually updating Terrasync.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: W10 v 1907

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 6:57 pm

use terramaster, a java based (IIRC) GUI... point it at your existing terrasync path... also add that terrasync path to your scenery addons section in the launcher... then you can turn off terrasync and update your scenery with terramaster when you want to... doing this will remove some additional work from the sim and may cause it to run slightly faster...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6661
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby Robertfm » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:11 pm

Sorry could you please explain where I get terramaster from and how do I point it at existing terrasync path

Edit: Just watched an FG video which says it's slow to load dependent on amount of data. Also slow to upload on game launch. I think I will stick with terrasync. Thanks anyway.
Last edited by Robertfm on Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 1414
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm
Version: 2020.1.3
OS: W10 v 1907

Re: Wrong Scenery

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Jul 01, 2020 7:21 pm

your fgfs.log file should tell you where your scenery directory is located for terrasync...

read about terramaster here: http://wiki.flightgear.org/TerraMaster
get the terramaster jar file from here: https://github.com/Portree-Kid/terramaster/releases

try clicking on the jar file to run it... if it doesn't run, open a command line, cd to the directory where the jar file is located, run it with "java -jar terramaster.jar"... one might be able to make an icon on their desktop for this, too...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 6661
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest