Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

Erickson S-64 Aircrane anyone?

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby unrealaviation » Fri Sep 13, 2019 11:51 pm

Just grabbed this. Fabulous.
'Bit curvier tnan I remember it, except the left gear leg, that is still 'square'.
Would love to see a passenger pod for it. I can't find a three-view for that or even some basic measurements though. :-(

Kev
unrealaviation
 
Posts: 37
Joined: Sat Dec 16, 2017 12:30 am

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Sat Sep 14, 2019 7:39 am

Starting back up on the AirCrane interior panel. Hopefully I can make some major progress on it.

These are really close to what I'm looking to model.
Image

Image

If anyone recognizes any of the above instruments already modeled in any of the GPL aircraft, please post a note mentioning the instrument and the aircraft it is currently modeled in.

So far, just starting.
Image
Last edited by wlbragg on Sat Sep 14, 2019 4:00 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sat Sep 14, 2019 8:54 am

I think I recognize that digital clock down on the left below the AI (from the c172) :
The main instruments are fairly standard but I can't think off the top of my head of a specific aircraft that would use them, might be worth trying a few contemporary ones. I think the Alouette ones are similar, from memory.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7164
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Sat Sep 14, 2019 4:08 pm

Yes it is, thanks, one more down (actually two), ha!
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wkitty42 » Sat Sep 14, 2019 9:41 pm

wlbragg: did you ever get hold of my friend armchair99 for details on some of the instruments in this craft? he works for erickson as a pilot and certainly flys one of these all over the place... he's fought fires in cali as well as in OZ... i know i shared the info but don't remember when or where... if you need more info, please let me know...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Mon Sep 16, 2019 12:37 am

No, I haven't. I will if I need some specific answers though. Right now I have plenty to keep me busy. But there is certainly a lot of systems I could use information on. It's nice to know we have a source for those questions. Systems like the seat facing back and what all is available to that position, there just isn't much data I've been able to find on those types of systems and questions.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Mon Sep 16, 2019 10:34 pm

Getting there, it's a lot of details and takes a whole bunch of time to do the gauges, especially customizing.
The torque meter and the tank volume display are not the permanent or final versions.
Speaking of torque gauge, does anyone know what the two different needles and legend scales are for and if there are YASim properties that support both needles. I haven't looked at any docs on torque gauges or any existing torque meter code except the one that is already implemented. All it has in the xml is one property driving both needles, sim/model/aircrane/torque-pct?

Image

EDIT: I actually answered part of my own questions. I see the gauges on the Aircrane have both a "Torque Meter Percent" gauge, which I'm sure is driven by the above mentioned property. It is a single scale. But the gauge right below the "torque percentage" is the one that appears to have a bunch more information on it and may or may not have two needles on it.

Image
OK found a better picture, now I see what it is. Why does the top torque percent gauge have two needles?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby Octal450 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 3:16 am

I only see one needle...

Kind Regards,
Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:04 am

I think your right, I came across a model and some code for a similar torque meter and it had two needles .I need to look at it closer and see what was up with it.

I'm not sure I understand how both the VOR and RMI work in this system. It doesn't appear to have a radio to control setting freq., is that normal? Is there like a default freq. these instruments are tuned to? Or is there some other adjustment such as a knob or something?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Sep 17, 2019 6:48 am

I think they both have two needles. Are there two or one engines on the S64? Sometimes the tailrotor has its own engine.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7164
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Sep 17, 2019 2:43 pm

@wlbragg: are you speaking of the two red ticks on the scale? they appear to be "valid range" indicators... in other words, values between those two indicators are good... outside of that range, there's a problem...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5757
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby Maerchenprinz » Tue Sep 17, 2019 4:20 pm

Hi!

A little bit confusing that the tachometer has one needle labeled "R", which usually stands for "Right"... I bet all the money I have (2,17€) that this stands for "Rotor", and the other needle is labeled "E" for "Engine". As the Skycrane has a turboshaft turbine, engine compressor and power shaft (rotor drive unit) are only "clutched", so are not interconnected and can have different RPM.
A big difference between the (hopefully, I would win my bet!) TWO needles should make you worry then...

Ciao,

Adrian

P.S.: Maybe they even overlap when the two RPMs are nominal - Sikorsky was of russian-ukrainian origin, and eastern engineers are known to often have little, but great user-convinient ideas :)
EDIT: It has TWO turbines, I keep my bet anyway...
User avatar
Maerchenprinz
 
Posts: 174
Joined: Thu Mar 15, 2007 5:24 pm
Location: Bochum, it's better, much better than you think!
Callsign: Adrian

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Tue Sep 17, 2019 9:59 pm

stands for "Rotor", and the other needle is labeled "E" for "Engine"

It has TWO turbines, I keep my bet anyway...

Ah, now that makes sense. Thanks.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Wed Sep 18, 2019 1:12 am

Anyone care to guess what radio is controlling the RMI or the VOR in this picture? Do any of the radios on the horizontal panel look like it might be the dedicated radio?

Image
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

Re: Erickson S-64 Aircrance anyone?

Postby wlbragg » Thu Sep 19, 2019 8:03 am

Slowly filling in!

Image
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
Intel i5 3570K AMDRX480
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4988
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Linux/AMDRX480

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest