Board index FlightGear Support Interfacing

Wings Level.

Connecting two computers, using generic protocol, connecting with Matlab?

Wings Level.

Postby Robertfm » Sun Aug 25, 2019 11:18 am

Is there any way of enabling Wings Level in the autopilot to a button on Yoke/Joystick. There is no obvious setting in Calibration.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Wings Level.

Postby Alant » Sun Aug 25, 2019 2:22 pm

You could try heading hold mode instead if the autopilot does not have wings-level. You may need to set the heading bug on the compass to something close to your current heading.

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 916
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Wings Level.

Postby Robertfm » Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:02 pm

I think you misunderstand, I do have a wings level setting in Autopilot. I am right handed and pretty useless with my lefthand. The AP is operated using the mouse. What was I was asking was if there was anyway of using a yoke/joystick switch to activate the functions.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Wings Level.

Postby Alant » Sun Aug 25, 2019 3:12 pm

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Writing_Joystick_Code:_Part_1 is the first of a series of articles explaining how to customise your joystick.

Alan
Alant
 
Posts: 916
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Wings Level.

Postby Robertfm » Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:18 pm

Interesting but not what I was looking for. Setting up the buttons is easy with the Calibration function. However there is no way of putting an X in the AP boxes without the mouse. That is what I was looking to do, assign a button to those functions. I have plenty of spare buttons.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm

Re: Wings Level.

Postby Johan G » Sun Aug 25, 2019 4:48 pm

Alan is actually sort of correct. If you look in the source for the autopilot dialog,[1] you will see that it changes some properties. You can make custom joystick bindings, either through bindings[2] or by an embedded Nasal script[3] in your preferences configuration file,[4] so that pushing a button on the joystick will toggle the autopilot on and off and using wing levelling when on.

____
[1] $FGData/gui/dialogs/autopilot.xml (permalink)
[2] Bindings (permalink)
[3] See Alan's post above your's
[4] Following FlightGear configuration via XML#Adding your own settings (permalink) to make it stay when you upgrade FlightGear, or more convenient (now :twisted: ) in your joystick configuration file.
Low-level flying — It's all fun and games till someone looses an engine. (Paraphrased from a YouTube video)
Improving the Dassault Mirage F1 (Wiki, Forum, GitLab. Work in slow progress)
Johan G
Moderator
 
Posts: 5545
Joined: Fri Aug 06, 2010 5:33 pm
Location: Sweden
Callsign: SE-JG
IRC name: Johan_G
Version: 3.0.0
OS: Windows 7, 32 bit

Re: Wings Level.

Postby Robertfm » Sun Aug 25, 2019 5:28 pm

Sorry Johan as I have previously said on a number of occasions, the programming thing is beyond me. If there was a short code to put in settings I can do that as others have had patience to do a blow by blow. If you could do that I could probably get it right eventually. Thanks.
Robertfm
 
Posts: 640
Joined: Thu Apr 25, 2019 4:56 pm


Return to Interfacing

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest