Board index FlightGear Development AI Traffic

Stop the AI using the runway!

Intelligent, computer controlled vehicles that drive/fly over the planet!

Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed May 08, 2019 4:37 pm

Hi,
Any idea how I can stop AI aircraft using the runway as a taxiway?
This is the result:
Image

I converted the X-Plane Gateway taxi routes to a groundnet.xml file using d-laser's scripts... I suppose the only thing is to edit using taxidraw? But if so, what do I need to do?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby gooneybird » Wed May 08, 2019 5:20 pm

What's the location?

Once the groundnet is loaded into Taxidraw The first thing to do is Run "Tools Verify Ground Network" and correct all the errors that show up.
Then parking gate sizes, pushback routes and hold points etc. need to be added or adjusted.
You may find the AI will then stop taxiing on the runway, if not you will have to alter a couple of taxi routes.

Sometimes I find it's easier to do it all in Taxidraw and copy/paste the data from elsewhere.
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed May 08, 2019 6:09 pm

Ok - thank you :)

It may well be that because X-Plane had a taxi route down the middle of the runway (but not to be used to taxi, just to mark the runway) those need to be removed.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby gooneybird » Wed May 08, 2019 7:25 pm

Yeah, they need to come out, also if you have a lot of short taxiways together it can confuse the AI, in that case it is better to simplify the layout by removing unnecessary routes.

What airport is it?
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed May 08, 2019 8:27 pm

It's GCLP although a custom airport from X-Plane.org. I'll post a shit tomorrow of the layout.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby gooneybird » Wed May 08, 2019 9:37 pm

I have a partly completed groundnet for GCLP that I abandoned when I discovered that the buildings are in the wrong place :(

Image

If you are wanting a groundnet for GCRR I uploaded one a few days ago.
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed May 08, 2019 9:42 pm

Well, once this project is finished there should be a new layout and models in TerraSync :) merspieler secured permission to port a scenery from X-Plane.

Thanks, don't think I need that GCRR one but just to be sure is it already distributed via TerraSync or just via the new web server for groundnuts?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby gooneybird » Wed May 08, 2019 9:48 pm

That's good news about the new layout.
GCRR was uploaded to the new web server but I'm assuming it will eventually end up in terrasync.
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu May 09, 2019 11:40 am

I couldn't import my apt.dat into Taxidraw (version 0.3.2), as I got unhandled exception errors.

i wonder is it possible to open groundnet.xml files in Taxidraw? I didn't see any option for that.

Jonathan
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby BecOzIcan » Thu May 09, 2019 11:43 am

File Import AI network

Image
Current Projects: AI Traffic, Models & Liveries
User avatar
BecOzIcan
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 10:43 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Version: 2.12
OS: Win10

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu May 09, 2019 11:54 am

Hi Ian, thank you. It seems that I'm using an older version of Taxidraw which doesn't have that option, but I found this one which you linked a while back - http://www.mediafire.com/file/hza7epd9q ... 100726.zip - is it still the correct one to use?

Edit - yes - it appears it is :)
Image

Still doesn't explain why they taxi using the runway, instead of the east taxiway. I'll try simplifying it as gooneybird said.
Thanks!
Jonathan
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby BecOzIcan » Thu May 09, 2019 12:03 pm

Yes, it's the right TD version

Airport File (Looks like you don't have an old apt.dat)

http://www.mediafire.com/file/2vhm9n5r6mfqs7o/GCLP.tpj/file

"Open Existing Project" and point to the above in the first panel.

BEWARE : Airport layout and groundnet are independent files so "Save Project As" does NOT save the groundnet, only the airport layout.

With Airport project open, You have to File / Import and/or File / Export Groundnet to load or save your groundnet data

Cheers
Ian
Current Projects: AI Traffic, Models & Liveries
User avatar
BecOzIcan
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 10:43 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Version: 2.12
OS: Win10

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby BecOzIcan » Thu May 09, 2019 12:05 pm

legoboyvdlp wrote in Thu May 09, 2019 11:54 am:Still doesn't explain why they taxi using the runway, instead of the east taxiway. I'll try simplifying it as gooneybird said.
Thanks!
Jonathan


Send me your groundnet. I am still up for 2 hours so can have a quick 'diagnostic' look

Cheers
Ian
Current Projects: AI Traffic, Models & Liveries
User avatar
BecOzIcan
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 10:43 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Version: 2.12
OS: Win10

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu May 09, 2019 12:12 pm

Here you are:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/9no1tbc8pjuvrbw/GCLP.zip?dl=0
The pushback nodes need work - for instance, I need to remove extra yellow lines, since the X-Plane version connects parking positions with taxi routes. This is unedited from the autogen script.

I think it also needs holding points marked, other than that it looks fine?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Stop the AI using the runway!

Postby BecOzIcan » Thu May 09, 2019 12:17 pm

Source Document for ParkPos RADII, Numbering and Lat/Lon : https://ais.enaire.es/AIP/AIPS/AMDT_314 ... C_1_en.pdf

Attached partially corrected groundnet (for examples) and screenshots : http://www.mediafire.com/file/u793la623 ... an.7z/file

Minimum changes needed to your groundnet, in order of priority:

Will Fail Validation :
1. Keep all segments multi directional especially the ones with a terminating node on runway
2. Orphan routes between runways will never be used as they are not connected to anything but runways (S3)
3. All pushback routes must be redone. I did P28 P30 as correct examples in attached

Will not fail Validation but inefficient or confusing to AI aircrafts
4. for each runway access point : Keep it simple, one point on runway, one point outside as shown on S1 / S2 in my attachment
5. Military Area North East. no need for pushback as your aircrafts are rolling forward on departure. Unidirectional is fine in this particular case)
6. Try to make your routes smoother in curves, too hard of an angle will be be read as "I cannot turn there" this is a taxiway with incoming traffic joining my lane

Not needed
Holding points others than the pushback ones

Hope this help.

Bedtime for Australia now, passing on the relay to UK (Gooneybird) who can cover the next support shift :-)

Cheers
Ian
Current Projects: AI Traffic, Models & Liveries
User avatar
BecOzIcan
 
Posts: 1040
Joined: Tue Oct 04, 2011 10:43 pm
Location: Sydney, NSW, Australia
Version: 2.12
OS: Win10

Next

Return to AI Traffic

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests