Board index FlightGear Support

Output of Data for a project  Topic is solved

All general support: help on flying, installation, hardware, getting online etc. There are lots of users and developers to help you out.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- where did you download your aircraft/scenery from?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Output of Data for a project

Postby nakedMoleRat » Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:40 pm

I am in my final year of uni and I am looking for a flight simulator that will allow me to output real-time data of the aircraft. I am looking for a data dump once per second or so to a file or http so I can take it and make a fuzzy logic flight controller. I have seen you guys output your panels to a web browser and wondered if there is a quick way I can get the rest of the data out. I.'m willing to dev it myself if I can just get a heads up of where to start. Cheers
nakedMoleRat
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:35 pm
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Output of Data for a project

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Mar 15, 2019 2:02 pm

You can output the data using the generic protocol to a .csv file: for example,

add this to a file (e.g. fdr.xml) under data/Protocol

Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>
<PropertyList>
 <generic>
  <output>
   <line_separator>newline</line_separator>
   <var_separator>:</var_separator>
   <chunk>
    <name>METAR</name>
    <type>string</type>
    <format>%s</format>
    <node>/environment/metar/station-id</node>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>Indicated alt</name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>/instrumentation/altimeter[0]/indicated-altitude-ft</node>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>Pressure inhg</name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>/environment/pressure-inhg</node>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>Pressure sea level ingh</name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>/environment/pressure-sea-level-inhg</node>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>KIAS</name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>/instrumentation/airspeed-indicator[0]/indicated-speed-kt</node>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>TAS </name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>instrumentation/tas-indicator/indicated-speed-fps</node>
    <factor>0.592484</factor>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>GS </name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>/velocities/groundspeed-kt</node>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>wind direction</name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>/environment/wind-from-heading-deg</node>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>wind speed</name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>/environment/wind-speed-kt</node>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>stat_pressure</name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>/systems/static[0]/pressure-inhg</node>
   </chunk>
   <chunk>
    <name>total_pressure</name>
    <type>float</type>
    <format>%f</format>
    <node>/systems/pitot[0]/measured-total-pressure-inhg</node>
   </chunk>
  </output>
 </generic>
</PropertyList>


Then run FlightGear with:
Code: Select all
--generic=file,out,RATE,fdr.csv,fdr


The rate is in Hz - e.g. 20 would be 20 times a second.

See this for more documentation:
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Generic_protocol
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Create ... c_protocol
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Output of Data for a project  

Postby nakedMoleRat » Sun Mar 17, 2019 11:41 am

Thank you for the quick response, seems to be working for me. Hopefully this gives me everything I need
nakedMoleRat
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Mar 15, 2019 1:35 pm
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10


Return to Support

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sunmaydee and 3 guests