Board index FlightGear Development Weather

Rain shafts

Everything related to weather simulation, visuals should be discussed in the shader subforum.

Rain shafts

Postby Mihajlo » Wed Dec 26, 2018 10:53 pm

I noticed that rain shafts are visible fairly often in METAR mode (not sure about offline weather) and that there is no cloud above them. Since I am using Boeing 777 it's not possible that the cloud moved away and exposed rain shafts, since it's a fast airplane and there is not enough time for clouds to move away that much. My theory is that either rain shaft placement or cloud placement is wrong (not in line with each other) or cloud that is supposed to be above rain shaft is not generated, but the rain shaft is.
Here are the photos:
https://imgur.com/a/Hxw7ydB
https://imgur.com/a/QH7MOMS
Maybe the photos show an extreme case. Usually there are less rain shafts visible but I see it happens fairly often. I think that a few years ago this wasn't so noticeable and that at one point it got worse for whatever reason. Any thoughts on why this is happening and if it's possible to fix it?
Mihajlo
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:47 pm

Re: Rain shafts

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:08 pm

this has been discussed several times before... the fact is that the clouds are generated by some code and the rain is generated by other code... they have no linkage to each other... it may be possible that such linkage can be coded but so far, it hasn't been and no one has offered code for such...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Rain shafts

Postby Mihajlo » Wed Dec 26, 2018 11:24 pm

I think that rain and rain shaft are also separate. Rain (droplets) work as they should and are not generated without a cloud. I guess the alternative would be to remove rain shafts completely because IMO they take away from the experience more than they improve the visuals. Thorsten mentioned that procedural volumetric rain could replace this if I remember correctly, but since this is expensive it hasn't been implemented. Since GPU's are becoming faster every year I am not sure if this is still the case.
Mihajlo
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:47 pm

Re: Rain shafts

Postby wlbragg » Thu Dec 27, 2018 5:31 am

Check your LOD settings. There's been some work on this and it also has been mentioned to be the cause of the shaft appearing without the cloud more often than one would be used to.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Rain shafts

Postby Mihajlo » Thu Dec 27, 2018 9:30 am

My LOD settings:
Detailed: 10000
Rough: 15000
Bare: 250000
I'm still on 2018.3.1. Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe that the majority of LOD changes are in 2018.4.1 (I've seen the new LOD sliders in it). The only change that made it in 2018.3.1 is AI/MP LOD which I didn't touch.
Mihajlo
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:47 pm

Re: Rain shafts

Postby wlbragg » Thu Dec 27, 2018 3:15 pm

Yes, I think your correct.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Rain shafts

Postby Mihajlo » Thu Dec 27, 2018 4:26 pm

Then I guess LOD is not the only culprit. I think rain shafts were visible before that.
Mihajlo
 
Posts: 50
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 5:47 pm

Re: Rain shafts

Postby wlbragg » Thu Dec 27, 2018 5:04 pm

clouds are generated by some code and the rain is generated by other code... they have no linkage to each other.

Yes, in this case I think wkitty42 is correct then, this is a known "bug".
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4758
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640


Return to Weather

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: legoboyvdlp and 5 guests