Board index FlightGear Support Graphics

Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Graphics issues like: bad framerates, weird colors, OpenGL errors etc. Bad graphics ar usually the result of bad graphics cards or drivers.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?
- does the problem occur with any aircraft, at any airport?
- is there any output printed to the console (black window)?
- copy&paste your commandline (tick the "Show commandline box on the last page of FGRun or the "Others" section on the Mac launcher).
- please upload a screenshot of the problem.

If you experience FlightGear crashes, please report a bug using the issue tracker (can be also used for feature requests).
To run FlightGear on old computers with bad OpenGL support, please take a look at this wiki article. If you are seeing corrupted/broken textures, please see this article.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby Hooray » Tue Dec 18, 2018 11:42 pm

I wasn't suggesting to change the 777 permanently, but rather to make a back-up of the cockpit and comment out the canvas MFDs, i.e. to see if that has any effect or not.

Alternatively, it might suffice to simply overwrite the canvas placement handling API temporarily - e.g. by adding a little "disablecanvas.nas" file (plain text) to your $FG_HOME/Nasal directory, with the content being something along the lines of:

Code: Select all
globals.canvas.Canvas.addPlacement = func return props.Node.new();


Doing something along these lines should (temporarily!) turn the placement API into a no-op, so that aircraft would not actually replace the static texture with a canvas one - whether this works or not depends on a number of factors. But it's a safe thing to try, because you can simply delete the file to undo everything quickly.

Even if this should work to actually disable canvas placements temporarily, it may still not suffice entirely, because the Canvas system and any MFDs would still be running in the background, it's just the in-cockpit placements that would not be set up this way.

But I guess it's best to leave this to some of the power users more familiar with Nasal/Canvas stuff, i.e. to check if this has any effect on being able to run those aircraft in multi-screen mode or not. Like I said previously, this could also just as well be a red herring. To me it still looks plausible though, so this is indeed what I would try if I wanted to get to the bottom of the issue, even if just for the sake of excluding things.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Dec 19, 2018 7:25 pm

i don't know anything about multiple monitors so i can't help with your config... i'm sure there are others here who can help if/when they drop by this topic...

i just wanted to say that, IIRC, at flightsim weekend, the FG "booth" has a setup with one system driving like 6+ monitors... IIRC, 4 for the cockpit and scenery and the other one or two for instruments... there's posts here or on the wiki that talk about it and they also have some pictures... nothing about the config, though... i have no idea what craft they fly, though... i'm sure the c172p and the shuttle are two of them... not sure about any others...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9146
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby Hooray » Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:37 am

actually, we seem to have established by now that the problem is not specific to the 777.
Likewise, I also believe that the issue should show up for people using just a single screen and multiple OSG/OSG windows.
If it doesn't, it's likely to be in deep in the OSG or GPU driver code, at which point it would be interesting if osgviewer/fgviewer itself exhibits the same problem or not.

Again, this is only relevant from a troubleshooting standpoint, it will not magically "fix" anything. If anything, playing with OSG multi-threading settings (wiki) might have an impact here.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby SurferTim » Sun Jan 20, 2019 5:31 pm

Found part of the problem. It is multithreading. Set to single thread, my entire flight went without a hitch, except the update rate is slow.
This is what I have in config.xml
Code: Select all
      <!--multithreading-mode>AutomaticSelection</multithreading-mode-->
      <multithreading-mode>SingleThreaded</multithreading-mode>
      <!-- multithreading-mode>DrawThreadPerContext</multithreading-mode -->
      <!--multithreading-mode>CullDrawThreadPerContext</multithreading-mode-->
      <!-- multithreading-mode>CullThreadPerCameraDrawThreadPerContext</multithreading-mode-->
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby Hooray » Sun Jan 20, 2019 6:20 pm

yeah, like I said, if anything, it's the multi-threading setting that will have an impact here

It seems that, according to the devel list archives, Richard has been investigating a few threading related bugs - but it's still no joy to debug these things.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 12707
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 9:40 am
Pronouns: THOU

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby Isaak » Sun Jan 20, 2019 7:30 pm

Oh, I could have told you that. Multithreading frequently results in a crash indeed. Sorry for not making the connection and letting you dig in the dark for so long :/
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: Hamme, Belgium
Pronouns: he, him
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby SurferTim » Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:49 pm

Does anybody know if a more powerful computer or video card would correct this?
Is anybody running multiple screens with the B777? If so, what hardware/OS setup are you using?
Is anybody running the Rembrandt rendering on multiple screens? I can't.

Dell i7 16GB memory
PNY nVidia QUADRO P600 video.
Ubuntu 18.04 with nVidia driver installed.
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby Isaak » Mon Feb 04, 2019 12:55 pm

Hi,

I'm running the 777 on multiple screens:

Master PC: 4 screens (3840x2160 pixels)
Windows 10
Intel Core i7 4790K (Overclocked to 4.5 GHz), 32 GB DDR3 @1600 Mhz
2x MSI GeForce GTX 780Ti (Overclocked), 4 screens
Saitek Pro Flight Yoke, Throttle Quadrant, pedals; Thrustmaster T.16000M
Normally about 15-30 FPS, depending on the scenery. most of the time more than 20 FPS

Slave PC 1:
Windows 10
Intel Core i5 8600K @ 4.3 Ghz, 8 GB DDR4 @ 2666 Mhz
MSI GeForce GTX 970 (Overclocked), 2 screens (1920 x 1080 px and 1600 x 900 px)
Runs at 60 FPS almost constantly (doesn't have to do any FDM computations)

Slave PC2:
Windows 10
Intel Core i5 3450 @ 3.10 Ghz, 8 GB DDR3 @1333 Mhz
Asus GeForce GTX 660 (Overclocked), 2 screens (2x 1920 x 1080 px)
Runs at 30 FPS almost constantly (doesn't have to do any FDM computations)

Be sure to disable multithreading, it will result in crashes. I don't use Rembrandt, so I can't say if that does anything, but ALS works flawless.
Want to support medical research with your pc? Start Folding at Home and join team FlightGear!
Isaak
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 3:52 pm
Location: Hamme, Belgium
Pronouns: he, him
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: next
OS: Windows 10

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby SurferTim » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:13 pm

Thanks for that. Guess a more powerful computer is in my future. I don't like Windoze, but might have to resign myself to using it. I'll try it with Ubuntu first tho. ;) I have a couple hard drives with Windows 10 installed. Maybe I'll try those.

Edit: Does ALS allow landing lights? That is the only thing I am missing there.
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Feb 04, 2019 1:23 pm

Yes, they do:

turn up the landmass shader and you should see them!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Boeing 777 multiple screen crash

Postby SurferTim » Mon Feb 04, 2019 2:04 pm

YES! On Flightgear 2018.4.0 (nightly build) on Ubuntu 16.04 I have landing lights with ALS!
NO! With Flightgear 2018-3-1 on Ubuntu 18.04 I have no landing lights unless Rembrandt rendering.

Now to update my Ubuntu 18.04 to 2018-4-0.

Edit: One minor glitch. When using three windows, it puts the landing lights in all three windows. Any way around that?
Fly low. Fly slow. Land on a dime. Twin Otter. https://github.com/SurferTim/dhc6p
My other aircraft is a Citation-X https://github.com/SurferTim/CitationX
PirateAir videos at https://www.youtube.com/user/SurferTim850
User avatar
SurferTim
 
Posts: 1708
Joined: Sun Dec 09, 2018 6:49 pm
Location: Miramar Beach, FL
Callsign: Pirate
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Ubuntu 18.04

Previous

Return to Graphics

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests