Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

X-Plane Gateway  Topic is solved

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:44 pm

Cancel alert!!!
Everything is working now, but there is no scenery! There is no runway, just a lake. However, the launcher does find the airport. I just want to ask though, do I still need to find the .stg and .btg.gz files for each tile? Or do I just follow the steps above with the apt.dat?


Thank you
Ivan
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby WoodSTokk » Mon Nov 12, 2018 2:27 am

Ivan-Pekar wrote in Sun Nov 11, 2018 2:44 pm:Cancel alert!!!
Everything is working now, but there is no scenery! There is no runway, just a lake. However, the launcher does find the airport. I just want to ask though, do I still need to find the .stg and .btg.gz files for each tile? Or do I just follow the steps above with the apt.dat?


Nice! Now you need more directories in your TerraLocal directory.
The full path is 'TerraLocal/Terrain/e070n60/e072n65/'.
This mean, create a new directory 'Terrain' inside your 'TerraLocal' directory.
Inside 'Terrain', create 'e070n60'.
Inside 'e070n60', create 'e072n65'.
Move your 'USMM.btg.gz' file Into the 'e072n65' directory.
You need also a copy from the files '4138713.btg.gz' and '4138713.stg' in your 'e072n65' directory.
You can find the original files in the 'TerraSync' directory under the same directory tree.
At last, open the '4138713.stg' file with a text editor and add the following line:
Code: Select all
OBJECT USMM.btg

Save and close.
Now you should also see the terrain and the airport.
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: SX-W57
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Debian Bullseye

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:30 pm

Yes, thank you WoodSTokk!! Everything works! I really appreciate your help! I have a few questions though:

There is a lot of tree incursion and missing parts of the airport. You mentioned something about 'a hole' being created. How do I do this?
If an airport has 3D objects, what do I do with them?


Thank you
Ivan
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby WoodSTokk » Tue Nov 13, 2018 12:27 am

Ivan-Pekar wrote in Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:30 pm:Yes, thank you WoodSTokk!! Everything works! I really appreciate your help! I have a few questions though:

There is a lot of tree incursion and missing parts of the airport. You mentioned something about 'a hole' being created. How do I do this?

Thats the problem i mentioned at the beginning. The hole in the tile for the airport will be greated automaticaly when the scenery will be recreated and this need several months.

Ivan-Pekar wrote in Mon Nov 12, 2018 6:30 pm:If an airport has 3D objects, what do I do with them?

I'm not a scenery expert, in real i dont know anything of scenery, but there are many threads with this topic.
There is also a wiki article: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Howto:Add_details_to_your_airport
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: SX-W57
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Debian Bullseye

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:52 pm

Thank you, WoodSTokk! I have one final question!
If I want to add ILS to a runway at the airport, what do I use? How do I do it?

Thank you
Ivan
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby WoodSTokk » Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:06 am

Ivan-Pekar wrote in Tue Nov 13, 2018 8:52 pm:I have one final question!
If I want to add ILS to a runway at the airport, what do I use? How do I do it?

ILS are described in a xml file.
If you want add a ILS for USMM, you need a directory tree and a file named 'USMM.ils.xml' in this tree.

Inside your 'TerraLocal' directory, create a new directory named 'Airports'
In this directory, create a directory named 'U'
In this directory, create a directory named 'S'
In this directory, create a directory named 'M'
In this directory, create your file named 'USMM.ils.xml'

All in all, your full path should look like 'TerraLocal/Airports/U/S/M/USMM.ils.xml'.
As you can see, the path will be build out of the ICAO code of the airport.
In the file you can define your ILS for this Airport.
As example:
Code: Select all
<?xml version='1.0' encoding='ISO-8859-1'?>
<PropertyList>
  <runway>
    <ils>
      <lon>…longitude…</lon>
      <lat>…latitude…</lat>
      <rwy>…runway…</rwy>
      <hdg-deg>…heading…</hdg-deg>
      <elev-m>…elevation…</elev-m>
      <nav-id>…identification…</nav-id>
    </ils>
  </runway>
</PropertyList>

You can write two <ils>…</ils> entries for a runway (one for every direction) and you can write more then one <runway>…</runway> entries (one for every runway on that airport).
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: SX-W57
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Debian Bullseye

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:10 pm

Thank you very much, WoodSTokk!
But what about the ILS Frequency that I input into F12 to make an ILS landing?
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby WoodSTokk » Thu Nov 15, 2018 2:26 am

Ivan-Pekar wrote in Wed Nov 14, 2018 6:10 pm:Thank you very much, WoodSTokk!
But what about the ILS Frequency that I input into F12 to make an ILS landing?

For that, you need all datas and write it in a nav.dat file.

In your directory 'TerraLocal/NavData' create a new directory named 'nav'
Inside this directory you can create files with the extation '.dat' (like 'USMM.dat')

This file is similarly to the 'apt/<ICAO>.dat' file, but the lines have another meaning.
I havn't found any article in the wiki, but i have a quick look in the default.
In general the file have this structure:
Code: Select all

810 this is the header line and must be the first line

… [one or more records]

99

A record looks mostly like this:
<type> <lat> <lon> <elev> <frequency> <range> <direction> <ident> <airport> <rwy> <description>
I think the most of it is self explaining.
But here some notes:
'lat' and 'lon' is in decimal degrees and give the exact position of the antennas
'elev' is in feet
'range' is in nautic miles

But not all types have all entries.
Here is a list, sorted by 'type', what i found out until now:

Type 2 = NDB (Non Directional Beacon)
2 <lat> <lon> <elev> <frequency> <range> 0.0 <ident> <description>
A NDB is omnidirectional, therefor the 'direction' is allways 0.0
'frequency' is in kHz

Type 3 = VOR ( Very-High-Frequency Omnidirectional Range)
3 <lat> <lon> <elev> <frequency> <range> <direction> <ident> <description>
'frequency' is in MHz plus 2 digits. This means the freq 117.35 will be written as 11735
'direction' is the declination. This means the magnetic deflection from the geografic north

Type 4 = LOC (Localizer) for ILS Cat I, II, III
Type 5 = LOC (Localizer)
4 <lat> <lon> <elev> <frequency> <range> <direction> <ident> <airport> <rwy> <description>
'frequency' is in MHz plus 2 digits (like VOR)
'direction' is the exact direction of the beam (take the declination into account)
'airport' is the ICAO code of the airport
'rwy' is the runway designation (like 05 or 28L)

Type 6 = GS (Glide Sloop)
6 <lat> <lon> <elev> <frequency> <range> <direction> <ident> <airport> <rwy> <description>
all the same as 4 and 5 (LOC) with one exception:
'direction' describe the vertical and lateral angle
As example, if the beam goes to 123.45 degrees lateral and the glide sloop is on 3.2 degrees, 'direction' will be writtes as 320123.450
So, the first 3 digits are the glide sloop angle (320 is 3.20 deg), and there after comes the beam lateral direction

Type 7 = OM (Outher Marker)
Type 8 = MM (Middle Marker)
Type 9 = IM (Inner Marker)
7 <lat> <lon> <elev> 0 0 <direction> ---- <airport> <rwy> <description>
all 3 makers dont have a frequency and range, therefor this values are allways 0
also the 'ident' is allways '----', at least i dont have found any marker with ident

Type 12 = DME (Distance Measurement Equipment)
Type 13 = DME (Distance Measurement Equipment)
If the DME is part of a ILS
12 <lat> <lon> <elev> <frequency> <range> <displacement> <ident> <airport> <rwy> <description>
otherwise 'airport' and 'rwy' is omitted
12 <lat> <lon> <elev> <frequency> <range> <displacement> <ident> <description>
The most ILS have also a DME, but the antenna is mostly located at the GS antenna (beside the TZ = touchdown zone)
But a DME for ILS should give the pilot the distance to the runway threshold.
Therefor, the DME has a 'displacement' setting (insteed of 'direction').
'displacement' is in nautic miles and is non zero if the DME is part of a ILS and not direct beside the runway threshold.
Otherwise it is allways 0.0
I have not found any difference between 12 and 13.

Types 1, 5, 10 and 11 is unknown for me. I havn't found it in the default nav.dat.

Here is a example (i have filtered the default file for 'LOWS', this is Salzburg in Austria):
Code: Select all
4  47.77909200  013.01294700   1411 10990  18     157.534 OES  LOWS 16  ILS-cat-III
6  47.80089400  013.00110600   1399 10990  10  300157.085 OES  LOWS 16  GS
7  47.87933300  012.94986400   1411     0   0     157.085 ---- LOWS 16  OM
12  47.80094200  013.00129400   1446 10990  18       0.200 OES  LOWS 16  DME-ILS
WoodSTokk
 
Posts: 1077
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:30 pm
Location: Milky Way/Sol/Earth/Europe
Callsign: SX-W57
IRC name: WoodSTokk
Version: 2020.4.0
OS: Debian Bullseye

Re: X-Plane Gateway  

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Thu Nov 15, 2018 4:13 pm

WoodSTokk, thank you so much for providing me with this information. Thank you for all your time and work - I appreciate it very much!

Ivan
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Sun Mar 17, 2019 1:51 pm

Hello all,
Thank you all very much for the information you have given me. I have now created many airports for personal use in FlightGear that work well (they appear in the launcher and in the scenery). There is, however, another, not that significant, issue. There is incursion from trees and terrain onto the airport. For example, there is a forest on the runway and hills covering the apron. This sometimes can be avoided, but it is often difficult to fly to/from such airports. In WED, I included excursion zones, but they don't seem to help. Does anyone have any advice?

Thank you
Ivan
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Mar 17, 2019 2:47 pm

the scenery has to be rebuilt with the new exclusion zones so the tiles can be properly cut out and the hole filled in with the airport data... are you rebuilding the scenery and loading those stgs in your custom scenery directory, too?
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9146
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Mar 17, 2019 6:17 pm

Exclusion zones are not respected by FlightGear since we create trees etc differently to how X-Plane does it.

You need to rebuild the surrounding terrain as well, not just the airports.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby Ivan-Pekar » Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:12 pm

wkitty42, legoboyvdlp, how do I rebuild the surrounding terrain? What software do I use?
I only edit the .stg file with this line
OBJECT ICAO.btg (the airport file, ICAO.btg.gz).

Thanks
Ivan-Pekar
 
Posts: 123
Joined: Thu Feb 15, 2018 5:57 pm

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Mar 18, 2019 6:40 pm

You must use TerraGear - see: http://wiki.flightgear.org/TerraGear
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7981
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 2:28 am
Location: Northern Ireland
Callsign: G-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: X-Plane Gateway

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Mar 18, 2019 7:23 pm

and terragear will rebuild the stg file as necessary with the new data...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9146
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests