Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Concorde Help

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Concorde Help

Postby Captain97 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 9:26 pm

The Concorde won't pull up. I am pressing the correct key that is specified for the elevators, but the Concorde just won't pull up! The elevators won't respond.

Edit: I just checked, and the elevators do work. They would respond when I set the AP to different pitch settings. But, they just won't respond to my keyboard!

Edit: Just did another test, and my keyboard works for this Concorde version: https://github.com/godarklight/concorde

But not this one: https://github.com/BAWV12/Concorde
Captain97
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: Concorde Help

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Oct 28, 2018 11:13 pm

maybe the key is different? check the craft help via F10->Help->craft keys
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Concorde Help

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Oct 29, 2018 12:02 am

I think the Concorde does not work at all with keyboard if I remember right. You will have to use a mouse or joystick.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6857
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Concorde Help

Postby Captain97 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:46 am

So, I'm not sure if this will matter, but I am currently on a Mac with a Microsoft wireless keyboard. And my keyboard works with this Concorde version: https://github.com/godarklight/concorde

But, for some reason, it refuses to work with this one: https://github.com/BAWV12/Concorde
Captain97
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: Concorde Help

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Oct 29, 2018 7:38 am

Yes, if I remember right keyboard input is disabled, although I can check again.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6857
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Concorde Help

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:34 pm

Ok -

roll / rudder works fine with keyboard. Pitch, however, does not work.

Instead, you can use your mouse to control flight controls - toggle this using Tab.

@bawv12, I'm getting this error:

Code: Select all
Nasal runtime error: No such member: datumatexport
  at C:/Users/redpa/Documents/FlightGear/Custom Aircraft/Concorde/Nasal/Concorde-override.nas, line 127
  called from: /input/keyboard/key[359]/binding, line 5
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6857
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Concorde Help

Postby V12 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 4:37 pm

Press TAB key and You can control the plane with mouse. When press LeftMouseButton and move mouse left - right, You will control nose wheel steering hydraulics.
I checked documentation on the http://wiki.flightgear.org/Concorde and found, that arrow keys up and down are attached to the autopilot. This is reason, why You can't control the plane with standard keys on the keyboard.

This error is unknown for me, but I was able simulate it. I will try to fix this problem.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde Help

Postby V12 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 5:24 pm

Probably fixed and restored elevators control by UP/DOWN arrow keys. There was one nasty typo error, probably veeeeeery long in default fgaddon package. This error :
Code: Select all
Nasal runtime error: No such member: datumatexport
  at C:/Users/redpa/Documents/FlightGear/Custom Aircraft/Concorde/Nasal/Concorde-override.nas, line 127
  called from: /input/keyboard/key[359]/binding, line 5

should be supressed. Download again from my git please and report.
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12

Re: Concorde Help

Postby Captain97 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 6:05 pm

Okay, I’m in class right now, but I’ll let you know how it works soon as I get home. Thanks!
Captain97
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: Concorde Help

Postby Captain97 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:13 pm

Success! I now have keyboard control!
Captain97
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:33 pm

Re: Concorde Help

Postby V12 » Mon Oct 29, 2018 10:34 pm

I'm happy with You. Some minutes ago I landed on EGLL, 3:15 hours after take off from KJFK (log at https://fgtracker.ml/modules/fgtracker/ ... ID=7056943) :)
Fly high, fly fast - fly Concorde !
User avatar
V12
 
Posts: 1337
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 4:27 pm
Location: LZIB
Callsign: BAWV12


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests