Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby CoolGames » Tue Mar 20, 2018 7:30 pm

I have compiled the 2018.2 from source including openscenegrphics and fgrun.
I learned about nasal using the console and canvas wiki examples.
I can gt the dragon to breathe fire from telnet.
I was able to find someone to fly the dragon after setting up a Logitech dual-action controler.

What I can't do though is fix animation and texture.
Earlier it was stated "Advanced Light Scattering" was needed but can't find the setting in any menu as rendering was stated !
Where is the setting in latest menus ?
User avatar
CoolGames
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:31 am
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Ubuntu Studio 17.10

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Mar 20, 2018 9:31 pm

in the sim, hit the F10 key... click on View and then Rendering Options... on the right hand side, half way down, just above the two buttons, it says "Atmospheric Light Scattering (ALS)" with a box on the left... click in that box to enable ALS... then click the [OK] button at the bottom...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9161
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 22.04

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby CoolGames » Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:03 pm

It is there but because I have Intel integrated graphics so warning says "Your graphics card may not support shaders or complex graphics."

In previous 2017.3.1 it was on the settings menu so it works on the old Dell T3400.

In 2018.2.0 that menu is experimental as aircraft Central and crashed when selected in current build.
I am looking trough source code for the test of "Intel will work" as it did in the older released version.
Where is a link discussing the issue ?

I have Intel DRI Mesa 520 !
Can I set it as usable in any xml file?

Mesa DRI Intel(R) HD Graphics 520.xml
Code: Select all
<?xml version="1.0"?>

<PropertyList>
  <shaders>
    <custom-settings type="bool">false</custom-settings>
    <generic type="double">1</generic>
    <landmass type="double">1</landmass>
    <model type="double">1</model>
    <contrails type="double">1</contrails>
    <crop type="double">1</crop>
    <skydome type="bool">false</skydome>
    <transition type="double">1</transition>
    <urban type="double">1</urban>
    <water type="double">1</water>
    <wind-effects type="double">0</wind-effects>
    <vegetation-effects type="double">0</vegetation-effects>
    <forest type="double">0</forest>
    <lights type="double">1</lights>
    <quality-level-internal type="double">1</quality-level-internal>
    <quality-level type="double">1</quality-level>
  </shaders>
  <random-objects type="bool">false</random-objects>
  <random-vegetation type="bool">false</random-vegetation>
  <random-vegetation-shadows type="bool">false</random-vegetation-shadows>
  <random-vegetation-normals type="bool">false</random-vegetation-normals>
  <vegetation-density type="double">1</vegetation-density>
  <random-buildings type="bool">false</random-buildings>
  <building-density type="double">1</building-density>
  <point-sprites type="bool">true</point-sprites>
  <particles type="bool">true</particles>
  <clouds3d-enable type="bool">false</clouds3d-enable>
  <clouds3d-vis-range type="double">10000</clouds3d-vis-range>
  <clouds3d-detail-range type="double">10000</clouds3d-detail-range>
  <clouds3d-density type="double">0.25</clouds3d-density>
  <shadows>
    <enabled type="bool">true</enabled>
  </shadows>
</PropertyList>
Last edited by Johan G on Wed Mar 21, 2018 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: Added [code] tags. They can be added manually or with the [^_ ] button above the text editing box.
User avatar
CoolGames
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:31 am
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Ubuntu Studio 17.10

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Mar 21, 2018 1:14 am

CoolGames wrote in Tue Mar 20, 2018 11:03 pm:In 2018.2.0 that menu is experimental as aircraft Central and crashed when selected in current build.

aircraft central in the sim is broken for now... especially in the alpha/beta repo code (aka next)... once the launcher is working better, the aircraft center will return...

at this time, i can't follow the other parts of what you're asking/saying... sorry :(
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9161
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 22.04

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby CoolGames » Wed Mar 21, 2018 12:18 pm

I am asking how to respond to ALS worked and now is disabled in 2018.2 due to sensing the INTEL GPU.
What causes the need for this and where was it discussed ?
Can I enable the experimental feature at my own risk ?
User avatar
CoolGames
 
Posts: 15
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2018 1:31 am
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Ubuntu Studio 17.10

Re: How to create a dragon in FlightGear?

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Mar 21, 2018 8:01 pm

wowowowowow... i've gone back and reread your post...now i understand it a little better... no, the experimental menu button under the ALS check box is not part of enabling ALS... it is only for adjusting the brightness and gamma settings... that's the only part that is experimental... everything else is the same as it has been... certainly nothing has been changed in detecting the video subsystem used on a system...

to go further, we need to see the log of the execution where FG crashed... since you're running ubuntu, please look in your ~/.fgfs directory and post the contents of fgfs.log so we can see what happened leading up to the crash... if it is too large to post here in code tags, please post it at pastebin and give us a link...

to post within code tags, you would do this...
Code: Select all
[code]
posted data here
posted data here
posted data here
[/code]

posting within code tags preserves the spacing of the data and makes it a lot easier to read... the display of the xml file you posted previously would be helped a lot by wrapping it in code tags... then everything would not be mashed up against the left margin ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 9161
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 4:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 22.04

Previous

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests