Board index FlightGear Support Installation

Official hangar not loading

Need help getting up and running? Installing FlightGear, add-on planes, sceneries etc.
Forum rules
In order to help you, we need to know a lot of information. Make sure to include answers to at least the following questions in your initial post.

- what OS (Windows Xp/Vista, Mac etc.) are you running?
- what FlightGear version do you use?
- what graphics card do you have?

Please, also see Requesting Technical Help.

Note: If you did not get a reponse, even after 7 days, you may want to check out the FlightGear mailing lists to ask your question there.

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby Alant » Mon Jan 08, 2018 12:49 am

I did use the word "may" :)
Alant
 
Posts: 878
Joined: Wed Jun 23, 2010 5:58 am
Location: Portugal
Callsign: Tarnish99
Version: from Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 3:00 am

Alant wrote in Sun Jan 07, 2018 11:51 pm:So far they (ibiblio that is) seem blisfully unaware of any problems.

if that's the case, they aren't monitoring their twitter feed... i specifically posted to them about the problem several days ago... no response... i'm starting to wonder if the owner has had some RL problem and cannot respond... i've seen too many leave this world and their fam not know anything about what they were doing or providing to the world...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby Thorsten » Mon Jan 08, 2018 6:07 am

I get around this by maintaining a complete SVN copy of fgaddon here.


As I said elsewhere - the actual repository is hosted on SourceForge, they're up and running and SVN checkouts work fine, so you don't even need a local copy.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10694
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby jam007 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 7:25 am

wkitty42 wrote in Sun Jan 07, 2018 9:41 pm:i'm not sure if any one else has access to that level of the server...

There is a news Announcements on the http://www.flightgear.org/ page. Maybe someone else has access to these postings?
jam007
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 10:04 am
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby Clive2670 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 8:26 pm

What do we do if the hangar doesn't work? 777 not working now since I decided to "remove" hangar from my version and then "add" it again? any other places the plane might be on the 'net please?
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Jan 08, 2018 9:31 pm

FGAddon? ;) :mrgreen:
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby swampthing » Tue Jan 09, 2018 12:01 am

As Thorsten said, this will get you your aircraft in the meantime. Its actually the only thing I use. http://wiki.flightgear.org/FGAddon
www.opredflag.com
I have sworn upon the altar of God, eternal hostility against every form of tyranny over the mind of man. -Thomas Jefferson-
swampthing
 
Posts: 528
Joined: Wed Oct 28, 2015 4:10 am
Location: Missouri
Callsign: swamp
Version: 2018.2
OS: multiple

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 5:20 pm

i just got a response from @ibiblio... looks like the site is back in operation... i was able to use firefox to retrieve the craft catalog xml file... the launcher should now be able to operate properly...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby jam007 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:03 pm

:)
jam007
 
Posts: 477
Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2012 10:04 am
Location: Uppsala, Sweden
Version: 2017.3.1
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby Thorsten » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:08 pm

I can confirm that trying to manually download is working fine again.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10694
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:37 pm

I'll go and give it a go well done everyone for all your hard work in fixing the issue!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 7:20 pm

Just tried it, all seems be up and running again thanks Thorsten and all for sorting it!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby wkitty42 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:57 pm

Clive2670 wrote in Tue Jan 09, 2018 6:37 pm:I'll go and give it a go well done everyone for all your hard work in fixing the issue!

it wasn't a problem with anything of flightgear's... it was all something with ibiblio that they had to fix...

/me rummages through tweets... ahh, here it is...

[quote="@ibiblio on twitter"]Second unrelated mirrors outage due to lvs/keepalived change after update. Mirrors should be stable (again) now[/quote]
Last edited by wkitty42 on Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5502
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Official hangar not loading

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Jan 09, 2018 8:58 pm

Cheers wkitty42 well all sorted now which is good!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Previous

Return to Installation

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests