Board index FlightGear Development New features

This file opens in ...

Discussion and requests for new features. Please note that FlightGear developers are volunteers and may or may not be able to consider these requests.

This file opens in ...

Postby gkick » Fri Nov 24, 2017 1:53 am

Hi,

I wonder if there is a way to eliminate what I consider an unnecessary dialog aka if for instance you open the map, the menu tells you (hey it opens in a browser), then you get a message ... this opens in a browser, the browser opens wonderfully provided the internal web server is running and the message stays open behind and you can click the ok button long after the map has been closed.
Thanks
gkick
 
Posts: 106
Joined: Sun Jan 01, 2017 11:04 pm

Re: This file opens in ...

Postby wlbragg » Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:20 am

I think it was done that way so unsuspecting users would realize there was a map opening in a browser. You could find in the GUI code where it is opened and comment it out.
Last edited by wlbragg on Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:59 am, edited 1 time in total.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4820
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: This file opens in ...

Postby Thorsten » Fri Nov 24, 2017 5:31 am

I wonder if there is a way to eliminate what I consider an unnecessary dialog


It's much less unnecessary if FG is in fullscreen mode and the browser happens to open behind FG, because without the message you get the impression nothing happens at all.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10840
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: This file opens in ...

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:27 am

yup, when running FG fullscreen, everything opens behind FG... load flight plan, save flight plan, aircraft center, and others... it is disconcerting when you open one and suddenly the sim stops responding until you think to ALT-TAB and look around at what else is open... in fact, i just found another bug while testing this...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5572
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: This file opens in ...

Postby Isaak » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:49 am

wkitty42 wrote in Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:27 am:yup, when running FG fullscreen, everything opens behind FG... load flight plan, save flight plan, aircraft center, and others...


At my end it doesn't behave like that, load/save FP opens just nicely on top of FG.
Isaak
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: This file opens in ...

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Nov 24, 2017 9:55 am

are you sure you're running Full Screen and not in a window? there's no frame around the sim or 'X' in the corner to close it with...

maybe it is a window manager thing? KDE on ubuntu does it as i described...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5572
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: This file opens in ...

Postby Isaak » Fri Nov 24, 2017 10:17 am

Using Windows here, mostly with a special config file to render on multiple screens, so kind of full screen (no window borders), but not the default. But if I recall correctly if I used the normal full screen mode the last time, it behaved as expected. I 'll try again after the weekend (not at home until Monday) to be sure.
Isaak
 
Posts: 447
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: This file opens in ...

Postby Thorsten » Fri Nov 24, 2017 3:21 pm

At my end it doesn't behave like that, load/save FP opens just nicely on top of FG.


We have already established on the mailing list that the behavior is OS and even window manager dependent (and really out of the hands of FG).
Thorsten
 
Posts: 10840
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am


Return to New features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests