Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby dg-505 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:24 pm

Thanks for the screenshot.

When you switch the External/Battery selector to "Battery" and the Battery master switch to "on":
What does this dialog window show?

Do you have any output in the console?
It's not just a hobby. I'ts a passion: FLYING !!

DHC-6 Twin Otter development
User avatar
dg-505
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:36 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Version: next
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby Harrisson » Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:42 pm

This time I managed to open FlightGear with the console (saw a tutorial in the wiki) and, well, I'll post the image (it has some nasal runtime errors)

And when I switch the power selector from external to off to battery, the dialog box rests the same.

Image
Harrisson
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:31 pm

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby dg-505 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:48 pm

Ah, that looks like we are getting closer!

As I don't know exactly what version of the aircraft yo use:
Can you find the file "systems.nas" and "Electrical.nas" that are mentioned in your terminal window and tell us what is in line 2 of "systems.nas" and in line 341 of "Electrical.nas"?

Or, to have a better overview, can you upload these files somewhere (maybe Google drive or something like this) and post a link to them?
It's not just a hobby. I'ts a passion: FLYING !!

DHC-6 Twin Otter development
User avatar
dg-505
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:36 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Version: next
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby Harrisson » Wed Nov 15, 2017 7:59 pm

It's here!

From the systems.nas:

#### DHC6 systems ####
aircraft.livery.init("Aircraft/dhc6/Models/Liveries"); - line 2
setprop("controls/armament/station[5]/release-all",1);
setprop("controls/armament/station[6]/release-all",0);
var C_volume = props.globals.initNode("sim/sound/cabin",0.3);
var D_volume = props.globals.initNode("sim/sound/doors",0.7);
var E1_volume = props.globals.initNode("sim/sound/engine[0]",0.0);
var E2_volume = props.globals.initNode("sim/sound/engine[1]",0.0);
var stall_volume = props.globals.initNode("sim/sound/stall-warning",0.0);
var hyd_pump_volume = props.globals.initNode("sim/sound/hyd-pump",0.0);
var ctn_counter=0;
Wiper=[];

And from the electrical.nas:

if (internal_starter < 0) { - line 341
internal_starter = -internal_starter;
starter_volts1 = bus_volts * internal_starter;
} else if (internal_starter > 0) {
starter_volts = bus_volts * internal_starter;
}

And the files:

https://www.dropbox.com/sh/b1so8l6f2inl ... cn61a?dl=0

And thank you!
Harrisson
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:31 pm

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby dg-505 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:14 pm

Well, strange...
I think I have solved this problem in the latest version but that was some time ago. And slowly I run out of ideas...

Can you pack the whole aircraft folder into a zip and upload it?
Maybe then I'm able to reproduce this behaviour
It's not just a hobby. I'ts a passion: FLYING !!

DHC-6 Twin Otter development
User avatar
dg-505
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:36 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Version: next
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby Harrisson » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:20 pm

Yes, here it is

https://www.dropbox.com/s/n5f24ofc2j34vsc/dhc6.zip?dl=0

this dhc6 folder was placed in FlightGear 2017.3.1\bin\FlightGear\Aircraft\org.flightgear.fgaddon\Aircraft
Harrisson
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:31 pm

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby dg-505 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 8:32 pm

:?: It's getting strange and stranger... There are no errors in my output...

What happens when you try out this version:
https://drive.google.com/file/d/12MFvInoPZSEVRhDTEkONNWmzZYA-8fMW/view?usp=sharing

That's the latest development version, not yet published
It's not just a hobby. I'ts a passion: FLYING !!

DHC-6 Twin Otter development
User avatar
dg-505
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:36 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Version: next
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby Harrisson » Wed Nov 15, 2017 9:06 pm

This version worked perfectly.

Started it manually and with the autostart, since the beginning there where sounds I didn't heard with the other version (like the fire test sounds)

And if the other worked for you (and for another person who downloaded it and tryed) I think the problem is here (maybe some driver?)
Harrisson
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:31 pm

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby wkitty42 » Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:16 pm

extremely doubtful that some system device driver is causing this problem...

FWIW: i just tried the DHC-6-300 that is in FGAddon and it started just fine as i went through the list... t'was my first time in the craft so i don't have any ideas, either... unless possibly the OP is using an older version of FG???
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5150
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby Harrisson » Wed Nov 15, 2017 10:38 pm

Well, for me it is not just the DHC-6-300, the Citation II and the Beechcraft 1900D have the same "problem" = manual with checklist - engines don't start. Autostart = nothing happens.

I downloaded FlightGear 2017.3.1 from the website - but tried with the version 2017.2.1 with the same results.

And I remember using these planes in the past (5 to 6 months ago) without any problems.
Harrisson
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:31 pm

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby dg-505 » Thu Nov 16, 2017 5:50 am

Can you try deleting the folder $FG_Home?
Or maybe give it another name, so that you will be able to restore the settings...

For Windows the folder $FG_Home is located in:
C:\Users[{YOUR-USERNAME}\AppData\Roaming\ and it's called "flightgear.org".

You can rename it to "OLD___flightgear.org" or something like this.
This will reset all your custom settings if this was the problem
It's not just a hobby. I'ts a passion: FLYING !!

DHC-6 Twin Otter development
User avatar
dg-505
 
Posts: 614
Joined: Mon Jun 02, 2014 2:36 pm
Location: Hessen, Germany
Version: next
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby Harrisson » Thu Nov 16, 2017 3:41 pm

Hi, nothing changes. Now I noticed that, when increasing the throttle, the levers don't move:
Image

But then I had an idea: I took the dhc6 folder from the installation folder (org.flightgear.fgaddon) and placed it in the documents folder (the one FlightGear creates).

I deleted one more time the "flightgear.org" from the Roaming folder, and then I told FlightGear to look for aircrafts in the documents... and it worked perfectly.
Harrisson
 
Posts: 12
Joined: Tue Nov 14, 2017 10:31 pm

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby Hubert35 » Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:52 pm

Hi,
I have the same problem with Boeing 777, no electricity and no response when I turn the battery master on. Will try your solution, but Im uncertain on how to tell FlightGear to look for Aircrafts in a specifik document. Can you describe how to do that?
Hubert35
 
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2018 1:45 pm

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 14, 2018 2:01 pm

Press the s key once, does the aircraft start?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6418
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Some aircrafts will not start the engines

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:54 pm

If your getting nasal errors about not finding functions then moving folders from one location to another location and suddenly it's working, it sounds like permissions issues. You mentioned a new Windows install, is this your own personal computer or a work computer?
Until you fix or stop the nasal errors you need not really look elsewhere, that is the cause of the failure. If the same files work in some locations and not others then that seems pretty clear as to the cause.
Personally I didn't think Windows what that picky, what version of Windows are you on?

edit...

I read on prior post it is Win 10. Not likely permissions, but odd that relocating directory removes errors.
Last edited by wlbragg on Wed Nov 14, 2018 5:53 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4496
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

PreviousNext

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests