Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub  Topic is solved

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:52 pm

How do you change the log-level?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4877
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:54 pm

FGRUN. I set it to warn. Want me to change it?

Or else,
--log-level=warn
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 01, 2017 5:58 pm

I figured it out, thanks.
I'm not getting any of those errors. Is it stopping the aircraft from loading?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4877
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 01, 2017 6:00 pm

Well, it crashes, because it can't read the FDM.
I'm using your github, btw. Maybe I should use FGADDON, see if it makes a difference?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby wlbragg » Wed Nov 01, 2017 6:01 pm

What is the address of the repo your pulling from?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4877
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 01, 2017 6:02 pm

I found this thread:
viewtopic.php?f=17&t=25089
Anyway,

Code: Select all
Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation.  All rights reserved.

C:\Users\Redpath>cd documents/github/aircraft

C:\Users\Redpath\Documents\GitHub\Aircraft>cd j3cub

C:\Users\Redpath\Documents\GitHub\Aircraft\J3Cub>git remote -v
origin  https://github.com/wlbragg/J3Cub.git (fetch)
origin  https://github.com/wlbragg/J3Cub.git (push)

C:\Users\Redpath\Documents\GitHub\Aircraft\J3Cub>
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby legoboyvdlp » Wed Nov 01, 2017 6:03 pm

Another thread suggests the only soloution is clearing flightgear.org. Trying that now.

Edit:
Did not work!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7001
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby wlbragg » Sun Nov 05, 2017 3:11 am

Sorry I am just now replying, for some reason I didn't get your new post grouped in "new posts".

Can you try loading it using the command line instead of fgrun?
If you need help with command line let me know.

Yes, I would also try the fgaddon version. But also try any of them completely isolated form the others if possible.

Oh, what version of FG are you using?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4877
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby dany93 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:10 am

Do you still have a previous version of the aircraft?
Or, at least, a previous version of the FDM?
(by checking that the JSBSim FDM filename = J3Cub.xml and this in J3Cub-main.xml are the same).
Code: Select all
        <aero archive="y">J3Cub</aero>
Last edited by dany93 on Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:27 pm, edited 1 time in total.
dany93
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: France (Paris region)
Version: 2018.4.0
OS: Linux Mint 18 (64 b)

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 5:18 pm

don't forget to be sensitive with the case in the names... winwhatever is not case sensitive but other OSes are very much case SenSiTiVe...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5634
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby wlbragg » Sun Nov 05, 2017 6:12 pm

I'm a bit confused who the last two post point to. Me or @legoboyvdlp? As this appears to be a cache or version conflict issue local to @legoboyvdlp's system, no? Either no one else is flying this model or it is working for everyone but @legoboyvdlp.
@legoboyvdlp, do you have other versions in your fgrun list/paths that might be causing conflicts?
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4877
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby wkitty42 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 7:23 pm

my post is in addition to dany's which i think is a reply to lego...


[aside] this is where selective quoting comes into play but i've been trying to play by the forum rules and not quote things "because it is just right up there" [/aside]
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5634
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby dany93 » Sun Nov 05, 2017 10:46 pm

My post was in response to legoboyvdlp.
Sorry, I hadn't understood where the issue came from.
dany93
 
Posts: 766
Joined: Mon Sep 07, 2009 3:43 pm
Location: France (Paris region)
Version: 2018.4.0
OS: Linux Mint 18 (64 b)

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby wlbragg » Sun Nov 05, 2017 11:00 pm

Sorry, I hadn't understood where the issue came from.

No worries, I just wanted some clarification in case I am missing something. I don't know for sure what this is and what is at fault so all input is welcome.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4877
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: JSBSim Piper J-3 Cub

Postby wlbragg » Sun Apr 01, 2018 6:05 am

FYI: I pushed some more refinements to the hydro system for the J3Cub and PA-18.

Water rudders now add drag when in the water.
Water rudder have more influence on turning speed and radius, you can now turn in the water sharply when the rudders are down.
Amphibious gear add drag in the aerodynamic FDM when extended.
The pontoon drag in the water is IMO is tuned really well. From the real life videos I have seen, our hydro simulation closely mimics RL. I am incredibly happy with it. :D
Following are a couple videos demonstrating the newly tuned hydro effects.

Test run.


Demonstrating landing, takeoff and the turning capabilities near Lake Tahoe.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4877
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], lomar and 23 guests