Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft Cockpit development

Property to mute radio / marker  Topic is solved

Discussion about creating 2d and 3d cockpits.

Property to mute radio / marker

Postby benih » Tue Oct 31, 2017 3:54 pm

Hello,
i currently try to implement the GMA340 audio control panel for the c182s project.

The module is working already in that it sets properties in the /instrumentation/audio-panel tree node, similar to the c172.
But doing so does not effect anything.


- What property needs to be set to what value so i can mute the comms and marker beacon?
- and beeing on that, how can i increase comm radio above 100%? (amplifier) I want to amplify the audio when "headset" is selected.
benih
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Property to mute radio / marker

Postby Octal450 » Tue Oct 31, 2017 5:01 pm

If I remember correctly, each nav/comm radio has a "volume" property, which if set to 0, should disable all sounds coming from the radio.

Not sure if the marker-beacon has the same property, but you can look within the Debug --> Browse Internal Properties option.

Kind Regards,
Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Property to mute radio / marker

Postby Hooray » Tue Oct 31, 2017 6:08 pm

If in doubt, open $FG_ROOT/gui/dialogs/sound.xml (?) to see what's available there: https://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/fg ... /sound.xml

and then use the property browser to look up other stuff, I assume that the marker is using some sort of instrumentation/avionics channel: https://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/fg ... d.xml#l176


http://wiki.flightgear.org/Property_browser
Image
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11376
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Property to mute radio / marker

Postby benih » Tue Oct 31, 2017 10:33 pm

Thank you!
I try my luck with the volume property of /instrumentation/comm[n]/volume.
benih
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Property to mute radio / marker

Postby benih » Wed Nov 01, 2017 11:47 am

Ok, that worked.

However, i am still unable to increase the volume above 100% (so not able to amplify it).
How can i raise the volume, so for example ATIS is more understandable?
benih
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Property to mute radio / marker

Postby Thorsten » Wed Nov 01, 2017 12:20 pm

I'm guessing that an application is only allowed to send a volume fraction 0..1 to the sound driver - if you want to boost sound beyond that, you probably need to access the OS-wide sound settings or use whatever knobs your hardware has.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11194
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: Property to mute radio / marker

Postby benih » Thu Nov 02, 2017 3:51 pm

Thank you. I will propose to tune down the other sounds volumes then, so the comms stand out more clearly.
benih
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am

Re: Property to mute radio / marker  

Postby benih » Sat Nov 11, 2017 1:01 pm

Ok i solved it on my end: In the audio settings lowered the "effects" volume and increased master instead.
So far all is sounding ok.
benih
 
Posts: 96
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2017 9:34 am


Return to Cockpit development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests