Board index FlightGear Support Flying

777-200ER  Topic is solved

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

777-200ER  

Postby jestepp65 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 4:57 pm

Hey Guys,

I decided to take the famous 777 out for a sky trip and its very very realistic with its cockpit. 1 question. When flying i manage my speed and stuff. But there is this noise that is a constant ticking. I don't know how to describe it. I don't know what i am doing wrong. Why is this noise happening?


Any help is appreciated :D
Best Regards,
UA-1056 (Find me in the skies!)
User avatar
jestepp65
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:43 am
Location: Poca, West Virginia, United States
Callsign: UA-1056
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: 777-200ER

Postby Clive2670 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:23 pm

Is it the "stick shaker"? I fly the 777-200LR (over 2500 hours of flying in that beast) and the only time I hear a "ticking noise" is from the stick shaker which obviously I don't hear very often unless I do something seriously wrong!! If all else fails uninstall it completely (Removing "left over" files in the %appdata% file and try reinstalling it! Are you using the "default" 777 or it0uchpods (Josh's) 777 update? Josh's one has a lot of updates that make it more realistic Link: https://gitlab.com/fg777_seattle/fg777_ ... ree/master try this one Add it to a file on your desktop and point flightgear to that file for this plane. Watch that page as there regular updates to the plane and controls. Hope this helps
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: 777-200ER

Postby Clive2670 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:27 pm

Also if you can record a video and post it to youtube so we can watch and help work out what the noise is please! Leave the link!!!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: 777-200ER

Postby jestepp65 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:35 pm

Hello,

Its seems to only be doing it when i am climbing. When i stay at a steady 100 climb rate it goes away. Is this information helping any? I cannot record a video right now.
Best Regards,
UA-1056 (Find me in the skies!)
User avatar
jestepp65
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:43 am
Location: Poca, West Virginia, United States
Callsign: UA-1056
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: 777-200ER

Postby jestepp65 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 5:42 pm

Also,

I am using the 777 from the FlightGear Repository.
Best Regards,
UA-1056 (Find me in the skies!)
User avatar
jestepp65
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:43 am
Location: Poca, West Virginia, United States
Callsign: UA-1056
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: 777-200ER

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:30 pm

You are likely stalling, which means flying too slowly :)
Is there a red part on your speed display: are you below the top of the red part?

It is definitely the stick shaker, the other tick is the overspeed warning which means flying too fast ;)
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 6848
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 777-200ER

Postby Clive2670 » Mon Sep 25, 2017 6:44 pm

I agree with legoboyvdip it's stick shaker watch your speed!
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: 777-200ER

Postby jestepp65 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:38 pm

Hi guys,

I am going to say that is whats going on. Thanks for your support :D

It really makes sense. I don't normally watch my speed. I am going to try it again and look for these things.
Best Regards,
UA-1056 (Find me in the skies!)
User avatar
jestepp65
 
Posts: 84
Joined: Fri Jun 02, 2017 2:43 am
Location: Poca, West Virginia, United States
Callsign: UA-1056
Version: 2017.2.1
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: 777-200ER

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Sep 26, 2017 6:02 pm

jestepp65 wrote in Tue Sep 26, 2017 2:38 pm:Hi guys,

I am going to say that is whats going on. Thanks for your support :D

It really makes sense. I don't normally watch my speed. I am going to try it again and look for these things.

I have put a short video up on this link to demonstrate the minimum "clean speed" and maximum speed before "overspeed warning" FYI: "clean speed" is the minimum speed without any flap extension or gear down, and no spoilers. PLEASE ignore "siren" at 2:40ish, as this was another program that caused it, NOT the plane!, Minimum "clean speed" is 190 Knts at this point stick shaker activated with the audible "Whoop Whoop" master warning alarm. Then I speed up to activate the "overspeed" warning which initiates at 335 Knts (Only possible by turning off the Auto-throttle) Maximum design speed is 320 Knts. The link to the video is https://youtu.be/Thk4s8YvX4I (Video will go to 1080p within 24 hours of posting) Hope this helps and it is the warning (stick shaker) that you encounter? Let me and everyone else know please if this is helpful.
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests