Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Aircraft wont move!!

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Aircraft wont move!!

Postby tonyj » Thu Aug 03, 2017 6:05 pm

Hi, I am an absolute beginner but looking forward to using 'flightgear'.
I have installed 2017.2.1 on my HP laptop with windows 10 (home).
The installation worked fine and the app seems to start up ok. I am using the tutorial
to get a feel for the controls but when I reach the point where I am trying to taxi I
can not get the aircraft to move. Brake is off but even if I increase the throttle to
100% I get no movement? The same problem exists if I attempt to take off? No errors presented?
Any ideas what I am doing wrong?
tonyj
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:32 pm

Re: Aircraft wont move!!

Postby Zequinha » Thu Aug 03, 2017 7:15 pm

Well, I have the exact same problem. Are you trying to fly the default cessna? One must take a PhD in aviation to get that airplane to work :lol: ! All I do is I use different aircraft, like the EFA typhoon, really easy to fly with. Having said that, good luck and welcome to FlightGear!
Zequinha
 
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2016 4:26 pm
OS: GNU

Re: Aircraft wont move!!

Postby tonyj » Thu Aug 03, 2017 7:32 pm

Thanks for the quick response... yes, I am using the cessna.. will try another aircraft as soon as I can get to my computer..
cheers!
tonyj
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:32 pm

Re: Aircraft wont move!!

Postby wlbragg » Thu Aug 03, 2017 8:18 pm

It could be a couple different issues.

Brake has to be off, tie-downs have to be off.

This may seem like a dumb questions, but I got caught off guard by this before with a new user. Do you have land under your wheels or water?

Is this only using the tutorial? Have you tried just starting up normally and trying to get the aircraft to move?

Without tutorial...
Under aircraft options
un-check...
Complex engine procedures and failures
Allow securing aircraft

Use autostart and then try it.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4880
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: Aircraft wont move!!

Postby Clive2670 » Thu Aug 03, 2017 9:43 pm

CtrlB will release the parking brake....then you should move, this works with (most) planes
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: Aircraft wont move!!

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Aug 04, 2017 10:24 am

@Clive, CTRLB is speedbrake usually. Shift B is parking brake and b the ordinary brakes (SHIFT B is to hand brake as b is to brakes).
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7003
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Aircraft wont move!!

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Aug 04, 2017 4:45 pm

the main thing on the c172p is to ensure that all the tiedowns and wheel chocks are removed and stowed before releasing the brake and then rolling... and yes, one must have actual land under their wheels instead of water like when the scenery doesn't load... of course in that case, one can also use the c172p menu and change the gear to one of the pontoon setups... if choosing the pontoons with wheels, ensure that they are also raised or they will grab the water and hold you or throw you for a cartwheel ;)
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5636
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Aircraft wont move!!

Postby tonyj » Sat Aug 05, 2017 8:15 pm

Thanks for the advice. I am now flying! There appears to be a problem with the tutorial. It is not allowing any movement in spite of engine revs being high and all pre-flight checks being carried out and brakes off. I wanted to get some basic experience by using the tutorial but if I skip this and go direct to flying then the aircraft moves fine.
tonyj
 
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Aug 03, 2017 5:32 pm


Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Majestic-12 [Bot] and 4 guests