Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

IT-AUTOFLIGHT RC3 (Beta Testers Needed!) (Page 6)

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Octal450 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:26 pm

OK Found some bugs:

* Fixed: Roll Flight Director does not work properly in T/O, ALIGN, or LVL modes
* Fixed: T/O LVL Roll mode does not engage properly
* Fixed: VNAV sometimes engaging, where VNAV calculation is not possible
* Fixed: VNAV disregarding current altitude, when setting CLB/DES/XX mode, if the previous
waypoint had no altitude restrection

From the Changelog of ITAF 170, not yet available.

Once the fixes have been tested, I will push Build 170.
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Octal450 » Wed Apr 05, 2017 7:45 pm

OK:
Build 170 is out to all the test aircraft:

URGENT testing needed, as I don't have enough time at the moment.

Thanks,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Flyngo » Thu Apr 06, 2017 11:03 am

Hi Josh,

did some short flights last night with 738 and MD-90 - version 169 (- now I see, we are already at 170) ...

With the MD-90 I could do a complete autoflight EDDF to EDDS incl. nice autoland, it missed some set altitudes, but always caught the next one after a missed point. (You found that one already?) Descend was a bit shaky, but manageable. MD had some NIL errors in the console wiht changing numbers.

738 lots a problems - AP disengaged often during flight, there was a whole lota triming going on all the time (with the 738 trim sounds it sounded like a sped up poker game going on :lol: ) In descent I had to risk my license by going over 250 kt to get down to the approach, then it partly missed the ILS and landed gracefully 100 feet left and parallel to the rw. Retry landing by replay it missed the GS completely and chose to stay at GA height. 738 specialises on the NIL error line 559.

Will try version 170 today or tomorrow. Thanks for your hard work and best, I
Flyngo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: EDDS
Callsign: KC-URG
Version: 2017.2.1

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Octal450 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 11:54 am

Yeah...
If you see the changedlog for 170, I fixed the FLCH controller. That should solve this issue.

As for missing waypoints, that depends on your descent IAS. Faster IAS = faster descent. I don't calculate target descent rate yet. (Coming soon)

As for the nil errors, did they come from it-autoflight.nas?
Sorry I need line numbers to fix them... I don't have that issue.

Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Flyngo » Thu Apr 06, 2017 12:21 pm

Yes, these are it-auto...nas errors, they show at loading and start-up. 738: line 559, MD: lines 469, 519, 559.

Some more small things, not related to the AP: MD has "unrecognised value for speed-set", "neither condition or property set" for sound and typo on the splash screen "Hanger" - as it doesn't hang or crash FG like others do, "Hangar" would do fine;-)

170 later.
Flyngo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: EDDS
Callsign: KC-URG
Version: 2017.2.1

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Octal450 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 5:47 pm

@Flyngo
That's odd... I don't get ANY of those errors... Some don't make any sense. And the functions that they reside in work fine.............

unrecognised value for speed-set == never seen that before?
neither condition or property set == never seen it

I can't understand...

I'm going to download 2017.1.2 and try that... But there shouldn't be an error... The code is correct...
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Flyngo » Thu Apr 06, 2017 8:43 pm

Checked this again & played with the startup options in the laucher Sorry, these auto...nas-errors all seem to be related to startup=paused. Unpaused, the don't show. For the others, see the console print:

FG_ROOT = "Path "C:/FlightGear 2017.1.1/data""

Attempting to set starting position for EDDF:25C
Reading timezone info from: Path "C:/FlightGear 2017.1.1/data/Timezone/zone.tab"
Splash screen progress creating-subsystems
Creating Subsystems
========== ==========
Reading materials from C:/FlightGear 2017.1.1/data/Materials/regions/materials.xml
picking entry # 0, server is http://mpserver16.flightgear.org/scenery
Reading systems from Path "C:/FlightGear 2017.1.1/data/Aircraft/Generic/generic-systems.xml"
Initializing HUD Instrument
Reading sound sound from Path "D:/Dokumente/FlightGear/Aircraft/My Hangar/Aircraft/MD-90/Sounds/MD-90-sound.xml"
Neither a condition nor a property specified
Neither a condition nor a property specified
Creating subsystems took:1265
Splash screen progress binding-subsystems
Loading local weather routines...
Animated jetways ... initialized
IT-AUTOFLIGHT: Please Wait!
Unrecognized value for /sim/presets/speed-set:
IT-AUTOFLIGHT: Done!
EFIS ... OK
Ground Services ... FINE!
Thrust System ... OK!
IT-AUTOFLIGHT: Done!
EFIS ... OK

?
Flyngo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: EDDS
Callsign: KC-URG
Version: 2017.2.1

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Octal450 » Thu Apr 06, 2017 9:23 pm

@Flyngo Here is why:
Those areas of the IT-AUTOFLIGHT Logic grab information from some Filters and Predicts in the XML file, so if the sim starts paused, ITAF tries to init -- but can't, because it's reading from values which the filters don't define yet, because the sim is paused, and they haven't run.

Good find!
I'll fix it in the next build by initializing those vars from nasal, before the init script runs. Thanks!

The other stuff is not related to the MD-90, I think... on my Windows, I don't see all that stuff, since I start the console from FGRUN.

Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Flyngo » Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:41 am

Thanks, I am happy that a hobby pilot can be of help.

I checked the console messages of other planes - yes, some sound and speed errors come up a lot and seem to be related to the launcher - that launcher also has other little problems like forcing the user to update planes and giving an error instead of doing this - after restart the plane is gone (bug filed). Fgrun is only available in older FG versions, I think?

Will do some more autoflying new version tonight or tomorrow - after-work-crashes are the best (the test flight of the MD was nice until touchdown when the plane burst in flames - I was so much into "this goes automatic" that I forgot to extend the gear :oops: ).
Flyngo
 
Posts: 66
Joined: Mon Sep 19, 2016 3:47 pm
Location: EDDS
Callsign: KC-URG
Version: 2017.2.1

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Octal450 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 1:09 pm

Haha that happens.

I still use FGRun on my box, it was NOT included until 2017.1 I think, I still use the copy from my 2016.1.2 install.
Last edited by Octal450 on Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 6:48 pm

FWIW: if one wants to continue to use FGRun they need to save a copy off or not uninstall the FG that brought it to their system... FGRun has not had a maintainer for a while... it uses old code libraries that are being replaced in FG and with updates to the newer code features, it just won't compile any more... the new --launcher is designed to replace FGRun and make things a lot easier for folks... plus the new --launcher has features that are not available in FGRun...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 7373
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Octal450 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 7:55 pm

Yes.... I know that.......

FGRun is way better for developers, like me, who need to restart FGFS every few mins. I just click "Run" again, and he starts at the same airport, with everything reconfigured.

I meant to say *not included in 2017, fixed that typo now.
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby wkitty42 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:08 pm

@it0uchpods: yeah, i was posting that for the benefit of others... i probably should have quoted :shrug:
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 7373
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 20.04

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Octal450 » Fri Apr 07, 2017 8:12 pm

lol
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

Re: IT-AUTOFLIGHT Development (Beta Testers Needed!)

Postby Octal450 » Mon Apr 10, 2017 2:24 am

All,
I worked very hard with my Physics/Math Professor Grandfather :mrgreen: and we have now created ETA system for calculation for waypoints, and a decent rate calculation for VNAV system, and even some FMS Speed predictions.

I will begin programming the formulas soon, and I did some tests in FGFS with him, and the manual calculations, and manual inputs to the AP, and it worked just fine. So now I just need to automate everything so that the VNAV system can do it all on it's own. I'm very excited to get this done!

Best Regards,
Josh
Skillset: JSBsim, Systems, Canvas, Autoflight/Control Systems, Basic Animations
Aircraft: MD-11 (Mainly), A320-family, MD-80, Contribs in a few others

Octal450's Hangar|Launcher Catalog
|MD Dev Discord|Airbus Dev Discord
User avatar
Octal450
 
Posts: 4974
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm
Callsign: WTF411/Octal
Version: next
OS: Windows 7/10 x64

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests