Board index FlightGear Development New features

3d volumetric airport grass

Discussion and requests for new features. Please note that FlightGear developers are volunteers and may or may not be able to consider these requests.

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Vladimir Akimov » Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:10 am

Can we get a file to simply overwrite? Please :'(
You know me from youtube :)
I'm VladFlyer, take a look :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBOvOg ... yNsYKuAxbw
User avatar
Vladimir Akimov
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:05 pm
Callsign: VladFlyer
Version: 3.2.0
OS: Win 8.1

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Catalanoic » Sun Mar 20, 2016 9:17 am

Or a GUI selectable option, as requested before. But be free to do it possible!
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Thorsten » Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:29 am

Doesn't your OS come with a text editor, or why can't you simply change the numbers in the config file?
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11068
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Vladimir Akimov » Sun Mar 20, 2016 11:29 am

well, yes. I will try doing it.

EDIT: I tried and it didn't work for me :(
You know me from youtube :)
I'm VladFlyer, take a look :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBOvOg ... yNsYKuAxbw
User avatar
Vladimir Akimov
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:05 pm
Callsign: VladFlyer
Version: 3.2.0
OS: Win 8.1

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Catalanoic » Sun Mar 20, 2016 3:20 pm

I'm not sure whats your problem but you need to follow the instructions
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Vladimir Akimov » Sun Mar 20, 2016 4:18 pm

I did it as in the instructions.
You know me from youtube :)
I'm VladFlyer, take a look :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBOvOg ... yNsYKuAxbw
User avatar
Vladimir Akimov
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:05 pm
Callsign: VladFlyer
Version: 3.2.0
OS: Win 8.1

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby wlbragg » Sun Mar 20, 2016 5:31 pm

In Materials/regions/global-summer top of the file (I think it is commented out by default).
Code: Select all
    <tree-effect>Effects/tree-grass</tree-effect>
   <wood-coverage>3.0</wood-coverage>
   <tree-texture>Grass/grass5a.png</tree-texture>
   <tree-varieties>5</tree-varieties>
   <tree-range-m>200.0</tree-range-m>
   <tree-height-m>0.4</tree-height-m>
   <tree-width-m>1.0</tree-width-m>


Make sure your line <tree-texture>Grass/grass5a.png</tree-texture> is pointing to a valid texture that resides on your computer.
Kansas(2-27-15)/Ohio/Midwest scenery development.
KEQA (2-27-15), 3AU, KRCP Airport Layout
User avatar
wlbragg
 
Posts: 4906
Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2012 11:31 pm
Location: Kansas (Tornado Alley), USA
Callsign: WC2020
Version: next
OS: Win10/Debain/nVGT640

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Thorsten » Sun Mar 20, 2016 5:37 pm

I guess we all know that 'didn't work for me' isn't an actionable statement for debugging or anything else, so I hope you're not expecting any follow up from me.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11068
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Catalanoic » Sun Mar 20, 2016 7:01 pm

Sorry Vlad but i remember from your great videos you're using FG 3.0 maybe these definitions aren't defined on that old FG version.
I tested it on FG 3.4 i can remember.. but we're in 2016.1 (not tested yet). But i can say it works with the last version (from other users).

PS: Thorsten, with a selectable option by default shiped (as the incomplete Aircraft Center feature in 2016.1) we can test it faster. You talks always for a centralised way to develop this software, but its counterproductive when there are some not-centralised works like the 3d volumetric airport grass, FG photoscenery, etc, appeared in the forum..
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1055
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Thorsten » Mon Mar 21, 2016 6:11 am

I must have explained this a handful of times, but:

* the grass definitions are on FGData and not some backwater repository

* the reason it's not on by default is that it looks awful for Rembrandt and the default renderer, and I don't want to add something by default that makes the experience for non-ALS users worse - and that's not negotiable

* the grass is technically the same as all other random vegetation, so we can't selectively switch it on and off (just as you can't switch trees off only in urban terrain) and we can't switch it on and off per rendering framework - as far as the GUI is concerned, if you see trees, you will see grass

* the grass also causes a severe performance hit during approach, much more in fact than trees usually do

* the only viable solution is thus that those who want to see it uncomment it

I could probably spend a few hours coding C++ control for trees on a per-landclass basis and implement a GUI option and then a few hours more to convince Stuart that this is reasonable to commit (I'm not really sure), but I frankly think that removing comments from an xml file is a bearable burden.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11068
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Vladimir Akimov » Mon Mar 21, 2016 12:31 pm

Okey, i think I know how to figure it. Thanks. and Yes, I use 3.2, you're right Catalonic.
You know me from youtube :)
I'm VladFlyer, take a look :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBOvOg ... yNsYKuAxbw
User avatar
Vladimir Akimov
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:05 pm
Callsign: VladFlyer
Version: 3.2.0
OS: Win 8.1

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby rafa_elds » Thu Jan 19, 2017 10:23 pm

Hi fellows!

I successfully enabled the effect editing the appropriate file, but I realised that grass isn't showing up for airports in Brazil, just in other countries.
Perhaps a different material than global is used because of regional variations? Can I enable the effect by editing some other material file, and if so, what would this file be?
Rafael dos Santos
rafa_elds
 
Posts: 14
Joined: Thu Feb 20, 2014 11:29 pm
Location: SBSJ
Version: 3.7nightly
OS: Win 10 x64

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Thorsten » Fri Jan 20, 2017 6:25 am

Perhaps a different material than global is used because of regional variations? Can I enable the effect by editing some other material file, and if so, what would this file be?


Yes, Brazil has its own set of airport keep definitions. You can look under Materials/regions and into everything that starts with brazil_ - it's actually the most detailed regional definition in the world, because there's lots of different regions inside Brazil covered (Amazon forest, Cerrado, Mata Atlantica, Pampas, Pantanal,...) - you may have to adjust airport keep more than once to activate grass in all regions.
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11068
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Timi » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:48 pm

Found a nice video showing how the grass moves under the down wash:
Timi
 
Posts: 25
Joined: Mon Nov 21, 2016 8:08 am
Callsign: Jaeger
Version: 2019.1.2

Re: 3d volumetric airport grass

Postby Thorsten » Fri Aug 31, 2018 1:49 pm

We can't do such long grass with the fur shader unfortunately...
Thorsten
 
Posts: 11068
Joined: Mon Nov 02, 2009 8:33 am

Previous

Return to New features

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 0 guests