Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&models).

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby hardba11 » Thu Nov 24, 2016 1:57 pm

last idea : the file I uploaded is named tourventoux.ac but in the error message it's TourVentoux.ac. did you check the lowercase ?
contribs: mirage2000-5, statics models - WIP: new aircraft - hobby: world tour in flightgear
hardba11
 
Posts: 164
Joined: Tue May 27, 2014 5:56 pm
Location: Paris - FR
Callsign: F-HRDB
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: debian

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby Catalanoic » Thu Nov 24, 2016 2:46 pm

Seems he has tried to upload the old model again (but the error message is intriguing...), anyways the new model (tourventoux.ac) shows OK in FG for me and i don't have found anything wrong looking on the lines...
Last edited by Catalanoic on Thu Nov 24, 2016 2:56 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby VicMar » Thu Nov 24, 2016 2:53 pm

Hi Josh,

If you could make your texture/s available as well as the .ac file I could try somehow to reverse engineer it through Blender to SketchUp, then use the direct export to .ac.

That might give us a better result.

Cheers,

Vic
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby Josh_grtuxteam » Thu Nov 24, 2016 4:30 pm

@ hardba11 , @ Catalanoic
oops, my bad i should have written "The format seems to be wrong for your AC3D file "tourventoux.ac". AC file needs to be a AC3D file
my last unsuccessful try out was with that renamed file.

@Vicmar

OK, here two package
One which refer to the name "TourVentoux.ac" it is longer using the existing ground.rgb and tour-face.rgb textures

https://sites.google.com/site/grtuxhangarctd/TourVentoux_pack.zip


The second with the new name "tourventoux.ac" it is using the same texture but .png format.

https://sites.google.com/site/grtuxhangarctd/tourventoux_pack.zip

That last one is supposed to answer to your recommendation "object for scenery" related

Both are keeping the same position
lon=5.27805954
lat=44.17373738
and the computed altitude= 1892.07 wil remain right ( no offset ) since the model as been modified accordingly .

We keep the original Author name "Gerard Robin" , since the basic drawing was by him.

I hope those will help you to understand the issue i am getting.

Thanks so much for your help

Josh

BTW an other update will be necessary , there is a
OBJECT_SHARED Models/Communications/base_clape_03.xml
which shouldn't be installed, probably a generic scenery object , implemented supposed to simulate the tower, so redundant.
It must be removed, i guess i will be able to do it.
User avatar
Josh_grtuxteam
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:58 pm
Location: France
Version: lastStable
OS: Linux OpenSUSE

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby VicMar » Thu Nov 24, 2016 8:39 pm

Hi Josh,

Your model loads into my FG and looks good. I've started to do an update with it but didn't get any report when I selected the .ac file.

How far through the input are you when you get the report?

Vic
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby Josh_grtuxteam » Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:07 pm

Hello Vic

after answering to:

AC3D file* browse .
x tourventoux.ac

PNG texture file(s) browse
x tourventoux.png
x tourventoux1.png

320x240 JPEG thumbnail* browse
x TourVentoux.jpg

Comment*
"Tour Ventoux" Update to suit to new scenery and road map

Then => tab submit => Author => Your Email => I accept to release ........ => click "submit model"

after a delay getting a display

The format seems to be wrong for your AC3D file "tourventoux.ac". AC file needs to be a AC3D file.

Please correct the models directly in your computer and submit again (no need to reselect them!)


nothing else.


Thanks

Josh
User avatar
Josh_grtuxteam
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:58 pm
Location: France
Version: lastStable
OS: Linux OpenSUSE

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby VicMar » Thu Nov 24, 2016 10:14 pm

OK, I'll try inputting tomorrow., Off to bed now.

Cheers,

Vic
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby VicMar » Fri Nov 25, 2016 8:40 am

Hi Josh,

I only changed 2 things:
1. I removed the upper case letters from the .jpg
2. I added "_thumbnail" in the .jpg name.

It went through OK.

EDIT: When the input arrived for validation, I checked the scenery map and your model was already there, so I rejected my submission.

It looks like your input (or one of the other helpers submissions) has been successful before my attempt.

Cheers,

Vic
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby Josh_grtuxteam » Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:53 pm

Hello, Vic

That's strange, since i ever received the faulty notification after i sent my update, about that model

Or, may be since i did commit also, yesterday evening, a modification related to the generic => OBJECT_SHARED Models/Communications/base_clape_03.xml <= deleting it because redundant , this could have confused you, that demand had been accepted.
I can check it today within the downloaded scenery.

On the other point the Mt Ventoux model is not updated, ever the same original one.

Easy to check with fgfs --aircraft=ufo --lat=44.17386 --lon=5.27864 --altitude=6278

Thanks a lot

Kind regard

Josh
User avatar
Josh_grtuxteam
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:58 pm
Location: France
Version: lastStable
OS: Linux OpenSUSE

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby VicMar » Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:05 pm

Easier to check here on the scenery map:
https://scenery.flightgear.org/map/?lon ... 37373&z=14

Cheers,

Vic
Time flies like an arrow
Fruit flies like a banana
User avatar
VicMar
 
Posts: 2061
Joined: Sun Apr 06, 2008 5:53 pm
Location: Lancing. UK (EGKA)
Callsign: VicMar
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: OS X 10.12.6

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby Josh_grtuxteam » Fri Nov 25, 2016 2:15 pm

Right, and i can notice the base_clape_03.xml object is not longer there.

However this does not show if the tourtventoux has been updated , only the position is indicated; it is longer right.
I can also notice The thumbnail displayed when clicking on the Blue arrow is the original one , not the new one

Thanks a lot

Kind regard

Josh
User avatar
Josh_grtuxteam
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:58 pm
Location: France
Version: lastStable
OS: Linux OpenSUSE

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby Catalanoic » Sat Nov 26, 2016 7:03 am

Hi Josh_grtuxteam! Today i tried to submit your model, the source file from your other post you made, and it went without problems:
Image
Hope it will be availible within hours/few days after validation.
UPDATE: Validation accepted
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby Josh_grtuxteam » Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:28 am

Hi, Catalanoic
Great, i'll check it.
I guess i probably have "somewhere on the network line" some troll , who keep me off to get any uploading to Flightgear database.
That' s not the first time :mrgreen:

Thanks so much

Josh
User avatar
Josh_grtuxteam
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:58 pm
Location: France
Version: lastStable
OS: Linux OpenSUSE

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby Catalanoic » Sat Nov 26, 2016 11:50 am

Something odd! Maybe this is a joke or something unexpected were wrong, but other people may have exactly that problem; use VPNs, Tor, other user names, etc to prevent it, my recommendation to this supposed free but global world.
User avatar
Catalanoic
 
Posts: 1069
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 12:33 am
Location: Barcelona (LEBL)
Callsign: Catalanoic
Version: 2017.3
OS: Lubuntu/Windows 7

Re: Scenery webtools (adding, editing, deleting objects&mode

Postby f-ojac » Sun Nov 27, 2016 4:52 am

Josh_grtuxteam wrote in Fri Nov 25, 2016 1:53 pm:Or, may be since i did commit also, yesterday evening, a modification related to the generic => OBJECT_SHARED Models/Communications/base_clape_03.xml <= deleting it because redundant

Hi,
In fact it is/was not redundant. There is another small tower to the North of the big tower with the red/white mast. This object was there to try to reproduce it.
See http://travelioo.com/img/Mont-Ventoux-Photo4.jpg for instance.
Hosting terrasync, World Scenery, TGWeb on my own private server. Click here to donate and help to make the service last.
f-ojac
 
Posts: 1289
Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2008 9:50 am
Version: GIT
OS: GNU/Linux

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests