Board index FlightGear The FlightGear project News

FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

News from the ever evolving world of FlightGear.

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby ausdkunst » Mon Nov 21, 2016 7:23 am

Cool. Hopefully someone can fix it and let us know :)
BULLDOG RS (The No.1 place for Flightgear automobile): https://bulldogrs.wordpress.com/
User avatar
ausdkunst
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:47 am
Callsign: bulldog
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Josh_grtuxteam » Mon Nov 21, 2016 4:12 pm

Working, BUT:
Using the command line under Linux , the command with .......--enable-rembrandt does not give Rembrandt enabled.
It seems the command line has not longer the higher priority , but right now is coming after the preference file. content

Thanks


Josh
User avatar
Josh_grtuxteam
 
Posts: 107
Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2016 2:58 pm
Location: France
Version: lastStable
OS: Linux OpenSUSE

Works fine Win7 Ultimate 32 bit :Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1

Postby captainjack » Mon Nov 21, 2016 6:27 pm

Just to state that the new Zurich edition installed without problem and runs as expected on my Windows 7 Ultimate edition laptop (Gateway circa 2006). Thank you to the developers, this is amazing software and I am glad to have found it because my laptop is low on resources and could not run other simulators. I now enjoy IFR flying in the piper seneca at 15-22 frames per second, just fine for my purposes!
John
1.6 ghz dual processors (pentium), 2gbyte ram, integrated intel graphics chipset.
captainjack
 
Posts: 88
Joined: Sat Nov 05, 2016 12:52 am

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby swwon » Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:44 am

Im still using 2016.2.1 and its fine by me. Didn't .3.1 just come out 2 months ago, was just considering upgrading? Ad now an 4th version is out....Whats the benefit of 4.1? Is the frame rate smoother/better, graphics significantly improved?
I'm curious, why come out with a "new version" in two moths time when as of right now in this thread there are bugs and such reported on this new "stable" version? Why not develop the "next version" for a year working out ALL bugs and issues and release a version 4.1 next fall with it being virtually flawless, while having an other year of development and testing already under your belt for the 2018 version? Whats with the rush? I ask with all due respect, I'm just confused.
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby PINTO » Tue Nov 22, 2016 12:50 am

There's a release every quarter. That was decided a year ago, and personally I prefer it this way. Bugs that are in FG don't take till 2018 to get fixed.
Actively developing the MiG-21bis (github repo) (forum thread) (dev discord) (fg wiki)

http://opredflag.com is an active flightgear dogfighting community (using a system that isn’t bombable)
User avatar
PINTO
 
Posts: 945
Joined: Wed Oct 21, 2015 6:28 pm
Callsign: pinto
Version: 2016.3.0
OS: Win10

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby swwon » Tue Nov 22, 2016 2:18 am

Right so we get to deal with new bugs every quarter...cool!
Last edited by Johan G on Tue Nov 22, 2016 9:49 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No need to quote the entire preceding post
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Parnikkapore » Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:08 am

...AND push new fixes to users every quarter.
There are free alternatives to every program you encounter. You just have to find them.
Parnikkapore
 
Posts: 818
Joined: Thu Oct 29, 2015 10:16 am
Callsign: HS-FGS
Version: next [PPA]
OS: Mint 18

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby ausdkunst » Tue Nov 22, 2016 10:17 am

Tried 2017.1.0 on OSX and also cannot get it to work :(
BULLDOG RS (The No.1 place for Flightgear automobile): https://bulldogrs.wordpress.com/
User avatar
ausdkunst
 
Posts: 343
Joined: Fri Aug 28, 2015 9:47 am
Callsign: bulldog
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby elgaton » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:18 pm

A fix for the Mac problem has been worked on (unfortunately, the problem described did not occur on any developer's machine, so the bug went unnoticed); a new release (2016.4.2) is currently being built and should be available in a few days at most.
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Clive2670 » Tue Nov 22, 2016 1:19 pm

Well done to all that make this simulator possible!! Now running 4.1 and it is less of a hog on resources than 3.1 was, 3.1 used to use about 40% of my i5 quad core processor and about 1.7 Gb of my 6Gb RAM. 4.1 uses about 25% processor power and about 640Mb of my 6Gb RAM. All working well thanks. Oh and the frame rate has increased from about 10 on 3.1 to 18-22 on 4.1 :D :D :D
Thanks Clive aka: G-BLS01
Can be seen flying the Boeing 777-200LR
Toshiba laptop,
Intel i5 4210U,
16Gb RAM,
AMD R7-M260 graphics 2Gb RAM
User avatar
Clive2670
 
Posts: 593
Joined: Mon Feb 08, 2016 7:11 pm
Location: Anywhere in the World at some point on Flightgear!
Callsign: G-BLS01
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 64bit

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby sidi762 » Wed Nov 23, 2016 7:26 am

it crashed on mac...
Code: Select all
platform default fg_root = Path "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data"
Reading global preferences
Finished Reading global preferences
Reading user settings from Path "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/autosave_2016_4.xml"
init package root at:Path "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/Aircraft"
No user specified aircraft, using default
Loading aircraft -set file from:Path "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Aircraft/c172p/c172p-set.xml"
Reading localized strings for 'en' from Path "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Translations/en/sys.xml"
Reading localized strings for 'en' from Path "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Translations/en/atc.xml"
System locale not found or no internationalization settings specified in preferences.xml. Using default (en).
Using default download dir: Path "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear"
read-allowed path not found:Path "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/Liveries"
Using TerraSync dir: Path "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/TerraSync"
initializing cloud layers
Configuration State
======= ==============
aircraft-dir = "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Aircraft/c172p"
fghome-dir = "Path "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear""
download-dir = "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear"
terrasync-dir = "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/TerraSync"
aircraft-search-paths =
   
scenery-search-paths =
   /Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/TerraSync
   /Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/TerraSync/Terrain
   /Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/TerraSync/Objects
   
   /Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Scenery
   /Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Scenery/Terrain
   /Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Scenery/Objects
   
Splash screen progress init
Intel Inc.
Intel(R) HD Graphics 6000
2.1 INTEL-10.20.25
1.20
Splash screen progress loading-aircraft-list
Starting automatic scenery download/synchronization. Using built-in HTTP support.Directory: '/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/TerraSync'.
Splash screen progress loading-nav-dat
NavCache at:Path "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/navdata_2016_4.cache"
NavCache: no main cache rebuild required
Splash screen progress init-scenery
General Initialization
======= ==============
FG_ROOT = "Path "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data""

Attempting to set starting position for LSZH:16
Reading timezone info from: Path "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Timezone/zone.tab"
Splash screen progress creating-subsystems
Creating Subsystems
========== ==========
Reading materials from /Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Materials/regions/materials.xml
picking entry # 1, server is http://fgfs.goneabitbursar.com/terrascenery
sync of http://fgfs.goneabitbursar.com/terrascenery/Models started, queue size is 26
after update of:Path "/Users/liangsidi/Library/Application Support/FlightGear/TerraSync/Models" child update took:198
Successfully synchronized directory 'Models'
sync of http://fgfs.goneabitbursar.com/terrascenery/Airports/L started, queue size is 25
Reading systems from Path "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Aircraft/c172p/Systems/systems.xml"
Initializing HUD Instrument
Reading sound sound from Path "/Applications/FlightGear.app/Contents/Resources/data/Aircraft/c172p/c172-sound.xml"
Creating subsystems took:2106
Splash screen progress binding-subsystems
Loading local weather routines...
Animated jetways ... initialized
KMA20 audio panel initialized
Hobbs system stopped
Hobbs system stopped
Starter off
KI266 dme indicator #0 initialized
Segmentation fault: 11
logout
Saving session...
...copying shared history...
...saving history...truncating history files...
...completed.
Deleting expired sessions...none found.

[Process completed]

booom
Last edited by Johan G on Wed Nov 23, 2016 5:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: [code] tags
sidi762
 
Posts: 130
Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 8:15 am
Location: Beijing, China
Callsign: DAG0762
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: MacOS Mojave

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby swwon » Wed Nov 23, 2016 9:09 am

OK gentlemen....How do I add custom scenery? How do I direct the FG to access the exact order of scenery lines that I need in order for Dubai and Hong Kong to show properly?
Also how do I set the option to see my frames per second? thanks
swwon
 
Posts: 232
Joined: Sun Nov 22, 2015 10:32 am
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Isaak » Wed Nov 23, 2016 3:31 pm

swwon wrote in Wed Nov 23, 2016 9:09 am:OK gentlemen....How do I add custom scenery? How do I direct the FG to access the exact order of scenery lines that I need in order for Dubai and Hong Kong to show properly?
Also how do I set the option to see my frames per second? thanks


Just add your custom scenery in the addon tab of the launcher. You can drag/drop them in the right order (top to bottom, keep terrasync folder last).

You can show the frame rate in sim via 'view' > 'view options' > tick 'show frame rate'. The option will be saved for your next session.
Isaak
 
Posts: 467
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2011 2:52 pm
Location: Leuven, Belgium
Callsign: OO-ISA
Version: 2019.1.1
OS: Windows 10

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Vladimir Akimov » Wed Nov 23, 2016 3:44 pm

any actual photos?
You know me from youtube :)
I'm VladFlyer, take a look :

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCBOvOg ... yNsYKuAxbw
User avatar
Vladimir Akimov
 
Posts: 630
Joined: Tue Oct 22, 2013 7:05 pm
Callsign: VladFlyer
Version: 3.2.0
OS: Win 8.1

Re: FlightGear 2016.4.1 "Zürich" released

Postby Torsten » Wed Nov 23, 2016 5:05 pm

Everybody experiencing crashes, especially on OSX, please go to
https://sourceforge.net/projects/flight ... candidate/
and download the release candidate for 2016.4.2
Please report if the bug has been fixed.

Thanks
Torsten
flightgear.org - where development happens.
User avatar
Torsten
 
Posts: 637
Joined: Fri Feb 01, 2008 9:22 pm
Location: near Hamburg, Germany
Callsign: offline
Version: next
OS: Linux

PreviousNext

Return to News

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests