Board index FlightGear Support Tools OpenRadar

Preview version on the way

OpenRadar is a standalone radar screen which connects to the FlightGear multiplayer servers. It is currently being developed.

Preview version on the way

Postby wagnerw » Wed Aug 24, 2016 7:06 pm

Dear users,

At first: I need to excuse myself for being unavailable for such a long time. I am occupied by many important issues in real live, there was no time left for me and for OpenRadar. I wonder if this will change in the next weeks. Maybe not...

In this time one of our ATCs, a-v-o, has been very busy to improve OpenRadar: He has found and fixed many bugs, fixed the latest METAR download and introduced a new set of features: He rewrote the flight strip bay. This new feature is a big step forward although it means a bigger change for you.

Andreas will explain the features in our wiki. Be sure to let him explain it, before you try!!!

This "next release" is considered to be in ALPHA status although it runs and is used by Andreas himself on regular basis.

Thank you for your time and work!!!
wagnerw
 
Posts: 283
Joined: Tue Nov 06, 2012 8:35 pm
Callsign: D-W794

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby a-v-o » Thu Aug 25, 2016 6:12 am

Hello ATCs,

at first you will only notice the new layout of the flightstrips with edit fields, so that you can enter assigned values directly onto the flightstrip.
Image
Chat messages are created with these values.

For more information have a look at the wiki-page:
http://wiki.flightgear.org/OpenRadar:_Flightstrip

If you want to divide your flightstrips-bay into sections you'll find that it's highly customizable. There's a complete introduction on this wiki-page:
http://wiki.flightgear.org/OpenRadar:_Flightstrips-Bay
You can customize the sections and columns for different ATC roles and/or different airports.
a-v-o
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:34 am

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby jomo » Thu Aug 25, 2016 2:51 pm

Hi
looks new and complicated
Is there any way how I can test that ?
Seems the new OR is not yet available - and I am afraid I am not good enough to just try it in my mind!
jomo / ATCjomo
ATC at EDDF Fr,Sa,Su,We from 20:00 to 24:00 CET/MEZ., see http://www.emmerich-j.de
User avatar
jomo
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:46 pm
Location: Mainz, Germany
Callsign: jomo jomoATC
OS: UBUNTU 18.4

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby elgaton » Thu Aug 25, 2016 3:36 pm

I guess you'll need to compile it from source for now (unless Wolfram provides a release).
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby jomo » Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:13 am

a-v-o Thank you very much for the download Adr for that jar. May be we should make that avail here for everybody - should be OK if stated: "For Preview Testing only"

I will seriously try it during the 3 EDDF-Triangle sessions over the weekend.
Right now I just made some first tests between 2 PCs on my desk - one with the old .jar one with the new ---> some first impressions:

General
I like that inputting and generating commands from the strip. Works fine! (Even though I am not sure if everybody will always remember what those many fields mean - but let's try as is)

Why do updates being done on "old Fashion Input masks" (centre mouse-click) only show up after the Position of the FlightStrip changed? Should it be the same source between those two input schemes? Or do they need to be updated via the server (responds-times?)

Fields
Radio: should be able to switch by mouse-click - when not avail show empty field -->> may be even better a "red sign crossed out" for notAvail - changing to normal green when active

Model: Is ok - but would be nice to change to RED colour when model changes to inactive! (e.g. customer FGFS crashed, exiting radar-range, etc.)

IFR/VFR: Should be able to switch by mouse-click

RW: Can that be a selection-field for the list of available RWs? Would be nice especially for incoming traffic

In general that seems to be a good way to go (although I was a little concerned at the beginning!)
Thanks a lot for that work
jomo / ATCjomo
ATC at EDDF Fr,Sa,Su,We from 20:00 to 24:00 CET/MEZ., see http://www.emmerich-j.de
User avatar
jomo
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:46 pm
Location: Mainz, Germany
Callsign: jomo jomoATC
OS: UBUNTU 18.4

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby a-v-o » Fri Aug 26, 2016 10:34 am

jomo wrote in Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:13 am:a-v-o Thank you very much for the download Adr for that jar. May be we should make that avail here for everybody - should be OK if stated: "For Preview Testing only"


The address is my local router behind a 6 MBit-dsl line, so not really high-speed. If someone can't await Wolfram's preview release, feel free to contact me to get the URL, but I don't want it to be published forever in a forum.

jomo wrote in Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:13 am:Why do updates being done on "old Fashion Input masks" (centre mouse-click) only show up after the Position of the FlightStrip changed? Should it be the same source between those two input schemes? Or do they need to be updated via the server (responds-times?)


The last one is correct: The flightstrip gets its data from the input from the flightplan exchange server.

jomo wrote in Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:13 am:Radio: should be able to switch by mouse-click - when not avail show empty field -->> may be even better a "red sign crossed out" for notAvail - changing to normal green when active

Actually this component is the same as on the old flightstrips. As I have plans for user-defined flightstrips, I can put that on the ToDo list. Is there anyone who can create nice icons?

jomo wrote in Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:13 am:Model: Is ok - but would be nice to change to RED colour when model changes to inactive! (e.g. customer FGFS crashed, exiting radar-range, etc.)

Is also possible -> ToDo list.

jomo wrote in Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:13 am:IFR/VFR: Should be able to switch by mouse-click

My concept was to differentiate between flightplan data (which is entered in the dialog = plan a flight) and current assignments (which should be noted on the flightstrip).
Again: No problem to implement it as an option.

jomo wrote in Fri Aug 26, 2016 9:13 am:RW: Can that be a selection-field for the list of available RWs? Would be nice especially for incoming traffic

As this assignment can be done with a doubleclick onto the runway identifier in the runway panel, I didn't think, this possibility would add anything to the usability. It can be an option for the user-defined flightstrips.

Thank you for your feedback.
a-v-o
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:34 am

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby jomo » Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:23 am

As promised some things I noticed during the weekend-testing:
In former releases targets that got neglected were sorted into the most right FlightStrip column to the end. Now it still gets moved right - but sorted within the other FlightStrips on the right! So it is difficult to differentiate between "active targets in other areas" and the "neglected" ones when the area is busy!
Also OR/ATC stations were shown as neglected and handled as above. Now they get handled like any other target! (See e.g. http://www.emmerich-j.de/EDDF/Films/201 ... 808-50.ogv at ~5 min the "EDDFtwr"). Otherwise they disturb very much if more OR are at the same location (e.g. GND, TWR, etc.)

Altitude Problem: Because of the Metar-Problems I experienced altitude-indications far out of sight - as long as the target was above the Transient-level (in EDDF 5000) - below that the Altitude indication was ok! First I thought that may be because I did not have a QNH (setting of metar source did not work!) - but why would there be a difference above and below 5000/transient?).
====> This also happens in the old release when no metar available --> i.e. QNH=0! (If that cannot be fixed just do not indicate the altitude at all but use "n.a.") - that would be less confusing!)!

Speed-Jumping: I experience very often, that the indicated speed of incoming targets change drastically in wild jumps e.g. between 220/300kn or even 400/250 kn. See e.g. http://www.emmerich-j.de/EDDF/Films/201 ... 041-32.ogv (at ~19min film) MDN666: Between 200 and 350 on approach
That also happens sometimes as well in old as new OR

In general that new look is nice
jomo / ATCjomo
ATC at EDDF Fr,Sa,Su,We from 20:00 to 24:00 CET/MEZ., see http://www.emmerich-j.de
User avatar
jomo
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:46 pm
Location: Mainz, Germany
Callsign: jomo jomoATC
OS: UBUNTU 18.4

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby Octal450 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 12:16 pm

I'd like to test it myself, I will be controlling in the FGFS Festival Fall 2016.

@jomo
I believe the Speed-Jumping is due to the aircraft, not OR. You can see this happens on the MPmap as well. I believe that some aircraft do not trasmitt ground speed correctly, und it causes the numbers to jump around.

Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby wkitty42 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 4:14 pm

"speed jumping" is more likely caused by network congestion and the fact that UDP (the protocol used for multiplayer) is not guaranteed to reach the destination... UDP is stateless and lost packets are just lost...
"You get more air close to the ground," said Angalo. "I read that in a book. You get lots of air low down, and not much when you go up."
"Why not?" said Gurder.
"Dunno. It's frightened of heights, I guess."
User avatar
wkitty42
 
Posts: 5721
Joined: Fri Feb 20, 2015 3:46 pm
Location: central NC, USA
Callsign: wk42
Version: git next
OS: Kubuntu 14.04.5

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby oscar6662 » Mon Aug 29, 2016 10:07 pm

or he just pressed "a" and then "A" because he realised he was going a bit fast :)
Todo bien todo correcto? Y yo que me alegro!!!
#keepKSFO

Sir. Berenguer
oscar6662
 
Posts: 118
Joined: Thu Nov 05, 2015 5:52 pm
Callsign: AA2234
IRC name: N/A
Version: 3.4.0.
OS: windiws.7.pro.

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby Octal450 » Tue Aug 30, 2016 11:52 am

haha maybe
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby a-v-o » Sun Sep 04, 2016 1:51 am

jomo wrote in Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:23 am:In former releases targets that got neglected were sorted into the most right FlightStrip column to the end.


I've never used neglect, so I didn't put much attention to the subject. I'll look into it.

jomo wrote in Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:23 am:Altitude Problem: Because of the Metar-Problems I experienced altitude-indications far out of sight - as long as the target was above the Transient-level (in EDDF 5000) - below that the Altitude indication was ok! First I thought that may be because I did not have a QNH (setting of metar source did not work!) - but why would there be a difference above and below 5000/transient?).
====> This also happens in the old release when no metar available --> i.e. QNH=0! (If that cannot be fixed just do not indicate the altitude at all but use "n.a.") - that would be less confusing!)!


As I'm currently reviewing retrieving METAR, it is a subject to me how to handle such situations. I'd think about using standard QNH 29.92 / 1013 with an indicator that this is not live QNH. Any suggestions?

jomo wrote in Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:23 am:Speed-Jumping


I don't think I can do anything about that. Maybe someone pays attention to the aircraft models or callsigns. Maybe there's a pattern, that this is caused by some of the models or some of the pilots (maybe with bad internet connection).

jomo wrote in Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:23 am:In general that new look is nice


Thank you for the feedback.
a-v-o
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:34 am

Add the neglect rule to the default layout traditional

Postby a-v-o » Sun Sep 04, 2016 4:57 am

@
jomo wrote in Mon Aug 29, 2016 7:23 am:In former releases targets that got neglected were sorted into the most right FlightStrip column to the end.

This version doesn't only offer new flightstrips, but a fully customizable flightstrips-bay. Let me show you in this tutorial, how you can add the neglect rule to the default layout traditional:

1. Doubleclick into the empty area of the flightstrips-bay and you'll get a popup window like this one:
Image
2. Click onto the "rules" button to open the rules dialog:
Image
You can see that this layout is controlled by 3 rules. But one is missing: the neglect rule.
3. Click onto the "+" button to add a new rule:
Image
4. In the edit field at the right top you can enter "neglect" or any other name for this rule. Don't forget to hit the ENTER key to confirm your entry:
Image
Now the name appears in the list on the left side, too.
5. Doubleclick into the "Condition(s)" area:
Image
An option field appears where you can select the Condition for this rule in the dropdown box.
6. Select NeglectCondition:
Image
7. Doubleclick into the "Action(s)" area:
Image
Again you get an option field where you can select an action.
8. Select MoveToAction
Image
9. Enter "2" into the edit field after "column". Don't forget to hit the ENTER-key to confirm your entry:
Image
On the left side, below the list of rules, there is an "up" button:
Image
10. As this rule should have highest priority, click 3 times onto "up" to move the rule to the top of the list:
Image
You can now close the rules dialog and the flightstrips of all neglected contacts will move to the rightmost column. You can use it for now, but it will be gone when you close OR.
11. Doubleclick again into the empty area of the flightstrips-bay to get again this dialog:
Image
12. Select "default" to save the layout as your default layout for every airport and every ATC role. Then click onto the "save" button to save it. Then this will be your default for the future.

If needed you can create a similar rule for ATC flightstrips. There is the AtcCondition to identify ATCs.

There are more possibilities to handle such flightstrips:
- put them in a new section separated from the normal flights
- or even don't show them at all in the flightstrips bay

Just tell me if you're interested and I'll show you how to do it.

For detailed informations about sections, columns and rules there's a post in the wiki:
http://wiki.flightgear.org/OpenRadar:_Flightstrips-Bay
a-v-o
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:34 am

Move flightstrips of ATC and neglected to the bottom

Postby a-v-o » Sun Sep 04, 2016 6:28 am

In this tutorial you can learn how to put flightstrips of ATCs and neglected flights below all other flightstrips.
To achieve this, you use one or more sections. In this tutorial I create a separate section for ATCs and another section for neglected contacts.

1. Doubleclick into the empty area of the flightstrips bay to get this dialog:
Image
Under "Sections" you see that only 1 section is defined: "Traditional"

2. Click onto the "+" button to create another section.
3. Fill in everything as shown in the image:
Image
Don't forget to hit the ENTER key in edit fields to confirm your entry.

4. With "+" add another section and fill in everything as shown in the image:
Image
Remember ENTER

5. Then click onto the "rules" button to open the rules dialog.
6. Create a new rule (see previous tutorial in previous post) with condition "AtcCondition" and action "MoveToAction".
7. This time let 0 stay in the column edit field, but enter "ATC" into the section edit field. [ENTER]
Image
8. Move rule to the top of the list.

9. Create another rule with condition "NeglectCondition". This time the "MoveToAction" should move the flightstrip into section "neglected":
Image
10. Move this rule up to the second position.

You can close the rules dialog. Then doubleclick again into the empty area of the flightstrips bay and save this layout as default.

In your flightstrips bay you can see 2 gray bars which are the headers of the sections.
If you don't want to see them always, you can check "auto visible" for each section.
If you never want to see any header, then uncheck "show header" for each section.

As there is only 1 column defined for each of the 2 sections, the flightstrips will consume the full width of the flightstrips bay.
If you prefer the same 3 column layout then you can find a "+" button at the bottom right of the section configuration dialog.
If you want the flightstrips to stay in the right column, edit both rules and enter "2" into the column edit field.
a-v-o
 
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Jan 20, 2016 12:34 am

Re: Preview version on the way

Postby jomo » Tue Sep 20, 2016 9:12 am

Using/Changing the new OR
I was using the new Version now in 8 sessions and spend a whole day trying to understand the overwhelming mass on options for setting the Flight-Strip features.

As I said before: I do like those extended FlightStrips. I just would suggest to input all data that get defined inside the ATC-FlightPlan (mouse centre click onto target strip) direct as initial values into the "tartget-fields" of the strip - and cancel the target field AFTER the target has reached those values (first time). Values I especially miss are: Assigned rw, planned cruising alt, direct hdg to destination.

In general the amount of options and combinations is just overwhelming - I am afraid you need at least a Bachelor degree in order to understand, set, and use them sensible! So I believe these extended options may be loved by some people for very specialized events (1% of events?) - but will not be used for normal, unplanned ATC-sessions where there is only 1 ATC per area (99% ??). We also should consider beginners in using OpenRadar, they surely will not understand the options. Thus we may need a standard setting which must be able be reset the standard setting (at installation) with one Click (for sure without reinstalling!)! So everybody can fool around with those options - and recover whenever lost in the jungle! (Pls. consider: There are lots of ATC not being trained as Software specialists).

I did try to understand and perform some settings - and got into troubles:
    Displaying in "example" mode, I could only see a few sections (depending on how may targets are in the area). And I could not move the List up down to see them all - there always remained about 1/3 of room for the "empty click-area" to call up settings.
      In general: For me I do not see a usage of this mode when working as a single ATC - It is practically not possible to keep a constant watch on all traffic!
    Displaying in "traditional" Mode is pretty similar to what we have till now - and works fine. But I was not able to change e.g. the colours of the targets in their different columns. May be we need more infos on what "Condition(s)" are available - and how to pick them.
During the sessions i noticed intermittently very long response-times. These are very very disturbing when you have many targets under control, some to be handed by keyboard and mouse - You then very often use mouse and/or keyboard and do not notice that the input intermittently is not taken, i.e. because those are locked for several seconds. Without knowledge of the code I guess there are 2 reasons for that:

    Many changes to the unique Flight-data do wait for a confirmation from the OR-server - and the responses may be delayed over the network. I would suggest to ensure that the local OR never waits for responses from the server - even if that needs more programming efforts. If for a unique target a server response is required - then only that target may wait -- without affecting any other actions on that OR-session! The OR-session should be able to run purely local -- server feedback being optional (but not to wait for!)!

    In addition I have the feeling that all the options are delaying the OR functions when there are may targets (more then 10 in the 100 mi area). Could it be that the program always has to go through all the tables to define the settings for each target? I believe at OR-start only 3 strings should be defined - containing all the options for the left/right positions of the target in the Bay. Thus the "BIG Option-tables" need to be searched only once at startup (or when options have been changed).
To the documentation: I believe we are getting lost in the amount of documentation available for OR! Have a look into http://wiki.flightgear.org/Category:OpenRadar --> there are already 12 books, just for OR! - some of them even with conflicting informations! (I do not believe there are more than 2 guys worldwide who did read them all - for sure nobody understands them all - including all their discrepancies to each other)! I suggest to use the http://wiki.flightgear.org/OpenRadarGuide as the major description -- and link from there to all other Unique features (that still are needed) - so we have one starting point to study/search/include/verify/etc -- as well as for the knowledgeable people as well as for beginners. I tried to start to complete the "Related content" in the Guide - but will not have much time this year to do much more.
jomo / ATCjomo
ATC at EDDF Fr,Sa,Su,We from 20:00 to 24:00 CET/MEZ., see http://www.emmerich-j.de
User avatar
jomo
 
Posts: 917
Joined: Thu Feb 12, 2009 6:46 pm
Location: Mainz, Germany
Callsign: jomo jomoATC
OS: UBUNTU 18.4

Next

Return to OpenRadar

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron