Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Wed Aug 17, 2016 5:47 am

Mach by pitch is working a little better now.

I also changed the APPR/LAND button so it arms LOC then automatically arms GS when LOC is captured. Pressing the button again no longer disarms anything. You have to select a different mode for that.

For the FD, what AP modes are selected when target roll isn't changing? A roll mode has to be selected in order for that property to be updated.

Last, I rigged up the transponder.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 2:46 pm

tikibar wrote in Wed Aug 17, 2016 5:47 am:Mach by pitch is working a little better now.

I also changed the APPR/LAND button so it arms LOC then automatically arms GS when LOC is captured. Pressing the button again no longer disarms anything. You have to select a different mode for that.

For the FD, what AP modes are selected when target roll isn't changing? A roll mode has to be selected in order for that property to be updated.

Last, I rigged up the transponder.


Good to hear.

Great work!!!

You are correct. GS is armed, once LOC is captured.

HEADING, NAV1, LOC any mode. I checked all props and they match. Strange. I wonder if something is overwriting it? I am going to try to do a find replace in the autopilot xml for that prop, and use a different one like /test/target-roll-deg and see if that works.

Also, you shouldn't be able to have AP on and no pitch or roll mode. One must always be selected. I see there is a takeoff clamp/takeoff mode, the default AFDS state is: <Target IAS> PITCH | TAKEOFF | T/O THRUST <Target Altitude>

I'm trying to figure out how to calculate the N1 limits, for CLB thrust, CRZ, T/O, MCT, etc. It's not in my documents. I know they are calculated based off temperature, airport altitude and something else. T/O thrust can be derated from the FMS, in FLX, but that won't be simulated until we get a proper MD-11 FMS.

Great. for the SD (EAD2) I've connected the display mode switcher, and I have a few more displays there now (STATUS, MISC, NAV, CONFIG). No warnings yet, but I'll add those later. It is almost finished. ENG is in progress.

All the best,
Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 5:02 pm

Pushed is the new SDs, CONFIG, CONSEQ, MISC, STATUS, ND

Those pngs were hard to make! I really hope you like it.

And fixed T/O modes should be PITCH on the PFDs.

Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 9:07 pm

@tikibar
yep ailerons stuck deflected :(

I'm gonna try to fix that today or tomorrow.

Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Wed Aug 17, 2016 11:03 pm

Autospoiler works perfect!!

I have an issue with AFDS. If you push a button twice, then no mode is selected, but the aileron command keeps pushing the plane. Please change AFDS so that there is always a active mode. T/O THRUST changes to CLB THRUST automatically at 2000ft. Also, Takeoff modes are just flight director. Commanding the rotate. There is not AP function.

There is not enough thrust on takeoff with the Autothrottle armed (and in T/O THRUST MODE)

Otherwise, it works very very well.

Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Thu Aug 18, 2016 12:39 am

When the flight director is off, pressing the AUTOFLIGHT button engages the AP in HEADING and VS mode at the current heading and vertical speed. With a flight director on, the AP engages in the currently selected modes. I can't find anywhere in the FCOM where it says it changes from TO THRUST to CLB THRUST automatically. According to the sources I've read, CLB THRUST is engaged by the crew, not the computer. It stays in TO THRUST until the pilot selects another mode or the target altitude is captured. In any case, I'll change it so second presses of the mode button don't cancel the modes.

There is enough thrust in takeoff mode. The takeoff thrust is calculated based on weight and field altitude. It can take off at MTOW from an 8000 ft runway with the calculated thrust (not much room to spare, though). It does just fine on a 10,000 footer. Just be careful not to bump the your throttle control in TO CLAMP because it will change the throttle position. That's a limitation of game controls without force feedback.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:24 am

Yes it switches from TO thrust to CLB thrust itself, I'm positive. You can't leave an MD-11 flying in TO THRUST. It won't happen. It switches when the gear is up, positive climb, and radar altitude over 1500ft. If ATHR is off, then TO CLAMP is used, and the crew must adjust the throttle lever to climb thrust themselves.

By default it is on PITCH | TAKEOFF | T/O THRUST.

When I engaged the AP, both roll and pitch switched off, i was like ????????????????? Unless NAV or PROF is armed, it uses OPEN CLB THRUST and HEADING.

If I had a scanner, or camera, I'd show you my FedEx MD-11 manual.

This is what happens in the software, maybe your FCOM is based off the original software? I know McDonnell Douglas and Boeing revised the software to make it easier on pilots several several times.

FD is always on, unless it needs to be off. It is on by default when the plane powers up.

Yes I am aware. But an MD-11 never takes off with 70% N1. It can, but it won't. The lowest is 82.5% N1. Also, when it goes from T/O THRUST, to CLB THRUST, thrust is reduced. It doesn't do this now.

Otherwise, nice.

Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Thu Aug 18, 2016 1:56 pm

The ATS doesn't kick in until you throttle up past 70% N1. Then it engages take off thrust. Once you break 80 kts, it goes to TO CLAMP and you can adjust the throttle manually. A limitation of joysticks and other control devices without force feedback is your throttle handle won't move automatically. So if you happen to move your throttle control while in clamp mode, it will readjust the throttle position. I set it up to have a +/-20% leeway to try to eliminate that problem. It sounds to me like you didn't actually catch the ATS in the first place, which is why your N1 was so low. Because even at 0 payload and 7000 lbs of fuel, the calculated takeoff thrust at sea level is at 80% N1.

I'll add a minimum of 82.5% N1, and up the throttle freeboard in clamp mode to 35% and see if that works.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Thu Aug 18, 2016 2:20 pm

That should work better.

I usually throttle up to 45, then to 70/80 N1, push Autoflight, then put my throttle up to full. I do not think we should simulate clamp, and that if the athr is on, it should adjust the throttle itself. Most people won't understand that you have to adjust the throttle manually under some conditions.

Please merge my 9fbe84a "Whoops" commit, it fixes a mistake with either the PFD or SD. I can't remember.
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby tikibar » Fri Aug 19, 2016 10:35 pm

I added bleed air and cabin pressurization systems.
Boeing 747-8 (rename folder to 747-8i)
Boeing 757-200/300 (rename folder to 757-200)
Boeing 767-300/ER (rename folder to 767-300)
McDonnell Douglas MD-11 (rename folder to MD-11)
User avatar
tikibar
 
Posts: 514
Joined: Mon Mar 05, 2012 6:05 am
Location: Los Angeles
Callsign: CHT0009
OS: Ubuntu 14.04

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Sat Aug 20, 2016 1:02 am

Nice.
I've been making more SDs.
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Wed Aug 31, 2016 11:19 pm

After much trying, I've tuned the Speed By Mach, and added a bugfix to autotrim from my latest IT-AUTOFLIGHT commit. Pushed on it0uchpods/master

Working on LSAS/FBW.

Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Sat Sep 10, 2016 1:39 am

I think I have found the source of the ph-cor mystery with help from Continental.

AFDS OVRD OFF does funny things, and takes away control of the aircraft from the flyer.

I can confirm the switch does strange things mostly when the aircraft is in NAV1 mode.

Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Sun Sep 11, 2016 12:14 am

@tikibar
I think you made a tiny mistake, the center main gear was below the outside gears, instead of above. I have fixed this, and tuned the animations outside, and now it looks as if they are actually compressing! I've pushed it to my repo, and I'd like your opinion.

Again this FDM is incredible, one of the best Yasims ever made! fantastic job!

EDIT: Pushed again another change, its much better now. 8295494, 5333f55, 913abab are for the gears.

Josh
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

Re: McDonnell Douglas MD-11

Postby Octal450 » Sun Sep 11, 2016 3:32 pm

9d163b8 puts reversers over MP, and fixes rudder animation.

In the process of animating the gear[1] and gear[2] tilt.
Waste of time. Goodbye forever.
Octal450
 
Posts: 4398
Joined: Tue Oct 06, 2015 12:51 pm

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests