Board index FlightGear Support Flying

Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Controlling your aircraft, using the autopilot etc.

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby elgaton » Sun May 01, 2016 8:05 pm

Definitely not. Are you running a nightly build?
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby FlightJunkie » Sun May 01, 2016 8:48 pm

elgaton wrote in Sun May 01, 2016 8:05 pm:Definitely not. Are you running a nightly build?


M'not sure what a nightly built is. In any case Im using the 2016.1.1 version
FlightJunkie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:03 pm

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby elgaton » Sun May 01, 2016 9:05 pm

A "nightly build" is one that is automatically generated each night (hence the name) from the most recent code. Since it has not received as much testing as normal FlightGear versions, you might encounter some bugs; on the contrary, you get access to the latest-and-greatest features before they are officially released.

In this specific case, the bug you mentioned should have been fixed a few days ago, if I'm not mistaken. Could you try downloading the latest one from here and check if the problem disappears? (Choose "FlightGear-2016.2.0-nightly-full.dmg" if you're on a Mac or "FlightGear-2016.2.0-nightly-full.exe" if you are on Windows. Make sure to uninstall 2016.1.1 first and to keep the installation file around).
NIATCA 2nd admin, regular ATC at LIPX and creator of the LIPX custom scenery
elgaton
 
Posts: 1107
Joined: Tue Mar 19, 2013 4:58 pm
Callsign: I-ELGA/LIPX_TW
Version: Git
OS: Windows + Arch Linux

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby Necolatis » Sun May 01, 2016 10:00 pm

When it takes forever, its cause the files are not allowed to be written. Best is hope for it to be fixed in next stable version (will probably be next month)
"Airplane travel is nature's way of making you look like your passport photo."
— Al Gore


Hangar: https://sites.google.com/site/fghangar/
User avatar
Necolatis
 
Posts: 1892
Joined: Mon Oct 29, 2012 12:40 am
Location: EKOD
Callsign: Leto
IRC name: Neco
Version: 2018.3.2
OS: Windows 10

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby FlightJunkie » Mon May 02, 2016 10:50 am

2016.2.0 worked.
FlightJunkie
 
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 6:03 pm

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby cljohnston108 » Mon May 02, 2016 10:49 pm

Necolatis wrote in Wed Feb 24, 2016 11:58 am:Thats also not the correct link, try this:

http://fgfs.goneabitbursar.com/official/catalog.xml

Pasting this URL and hitting Enter gets me a CTD.
cljohnston108
 
Posts: 29
Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 9:52 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Version: 2016.1.1
OS: Mac 10.11.4

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby Harald » Sat May 07, 2016 10:55 am

The aircraft center does still not work out of the box with a recent nightly.
Please add reasonable default values to things that are supposed to be inputted with a --launcher option, because if the end user does not know about --launcher he has zero chance to load anything.

hj.
Harald
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Strasbourg, France
Version: nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby jaxsin » Sat May 07, 2016 11:10 am

Care to elaborate on specifics? Not much is going to get fixed unless someone who cares understands the problem.
Last edited by Johan G on Mon May 09, 2016 5:34 am, edited 1 time in total.
Reason: No need to quote the entire preceding post.
jaxsin
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby Harald » Sat May 07, 2016 12:55 pm

1) Install Flightgear & data
2) start with FGRUN
3) choose the aircraft center menu
4) you have an empty list of aircraft
Harald
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Strasbourg, France
Version: nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby Hooray » Sat May 07, 2016 1:18 pm

I don't even understand if the Canvas-based Aircraft Center is the culprit here, or if it is some other component related to the Qt5 launcher ?
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11292
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby jaxsin » Sat May 07, 2016 1:22 pm

He isn't even using the Qt launcher. Does he mean the FGRun aircraft listing or the in-sim experimental one? I'm so confused
jaxsin
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby Hooray » Sat May 07, 2016 1:34 pm

I am not sufficiently familiar with the Qt5 launcher, because Qt5 is an optional dependency, so that the Qt5 launcher is not built by default - but I don't think fgrun even has any kind of "aircraft center" at all ...

Like I said a few times previously, I would have preferred to see a proper bug report (issue tracker) this topic to become a wiki article with instructions - personally, I am not going through dozens of postings to find out what is happening, certainly not if I cannot reproduce it easily...
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11292
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby Harald » Sat May 07, 2016 1:37 pm

We are talking about the aircraft center,FGRUN does not allow to download aircrafts, Im not talking about fgrun.
Image
Harald
 
Posts: 188
Joined: Fri Mar 02, 2007 4:30 pm
Location: Strasbourg, France
Version: nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby jaxsin » Sat May 07, 2016 2:26 pm

The reason you have an empty aircraft list seems to be tied to the fact you do not use the Qt Launcher.
jaxsin
 
Posts: 396
Joined: Mon Dec 28, 2015 3:54 pm

Re: Tutorial: How to get Aircraft Center to work

Postby Hooray » Sat May 07, 2016 2:39 pm

jaxsin wrote in Sat May 07, 2016 2:26 pm:The reason you have an empty aircraft list seems to be tied to the fact you do not use the Qt Launcher.


If that's in fact the case, that would be very unfortunate, because one of the main reasons for encouraging the Qt5-based development of a launcher was indeed that it would remain 100% optional, and that it would NOT have ramifications for unrelated features, i.e. those not requiring/using Qt5 - absent that, we could just as well declare Qt5 a mandatory build dependency:

https://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/ma ... /34196458/
Durk wrote:There's been a strong devision of opinion among a couple of core
developers with respect to the question whether a QT dependency is
desirable or not. In one of the hangouts, a couple of months ago, we had
the chance to discuss the pros and cons, when the most outspoken
developers regarding this issue were both present. We concluded that a
QT dependency was undesirable, unless it had a specific benefit. With
this in mind, I proposed to consider the option of allowing a QT
dependency in only one module (call it FGGui). For all practical
purposes, this would be a platform independent replacement of fgrun, but
because of the proposed modularity, it will appear to be seamlessly
integrated with FlightGear. Both developers representing the opposite
ends of the debate could live with this compromise.


https://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/ma ... /34537005/
Thorsten wrote:if [...] anyone who wants to
use FG without Qt has to re-create every aircraft-side dialog in a
different format to use that aircraft, then that's just not feasible in
practice and we might as well dispense with the fiction that this is not
a dependency.


Note that Torsten was planning to have an UI-agnostic service layer anyway (which could be translated as wanting to support aircraft management via Phi, too):

https://sourceforge.net/p/flightgear/ma ... /34532860/
Torsten wrote:My vision is to have some kind of service implemented in fg that wraps all
complex tasks into service calls and responses. The command system is a
good start to trigger something, but it does not yet return anything.
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11292
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

PreviousNext

Return to Flying

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 1 guest