Board index FlightGear Release candidates

2016.1.0

Release candidate testers are encouraged to post their feedback here. Please read the introduction topic for details.
Forum rules
Please read the introduction topic for details.

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby gsagostinho » Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:50 pm

yeah, he could also do a "git reset --hard" after any modifications to restore it, but the backup method might be less frightening :wink: (I lost the number of times I screw up something on git and had to re-clone a repo)
User avatar
gsagostinho
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby sanhozay » Mon Feb 15, 2016 9:59 pm

It's useful to learn though. A simple disk backup can provide a backup for git mistakes.
sanhozay
 
Posts: 1207
Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2013 11:57 am
Location: EGNM
Callsign: G-SHOZ
Version: Git
OS: Ubuntu 16.04

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby legoboyvdlp » Mon Feb 15, 2016 10:02 pm

Commandline, sanhozay. But I'll do it the old fashioned way with a backup!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7003
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby someguy » Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:31 pm

Before you guys get too obsessed with git and/or custom scenery, remember that I saw the problem in the full nightly .dmg download.
User avatar
someguy
 
Posts: 1653
Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2008 5:54 am
Location: USA
Version: 2016.2.1
OS: Mac OS X 10.11

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby gsagostinho » Tue Feb 16, 2016 2:35 pm

@someguy I think you are completely missing the point:

1) my repo doesn't have any custom scenery, it has only material definitions and textures, and it often gets merged into FGDATA
2) I have a hypotheses of what may cause the problem, given the new features that Thorsten implemented (regarding the airfield effect) and which are still not being in use in FGDATA, but are on my own repository
3) if my hypotheses is correct, I believe that a simple merge from my repo into FGDATA (and which I already requested) will solve this issue
User avatar
gsagostinho
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:03 pm

Latest fgdata, day old FG, just pulled new regional...

Now, I've found it seems only to be on a certain landclass. Whenever one turns Transition off, it works fine. ALS on in all cases.
WITH OLD 1.0 TERRAIN, THE BLACK IS A SMALLER SIZE.
Okay, before pulling...
Image
Pulling in progress because of...
This is a good day, actually.
Image

After pulling...
No Difference!
It seems to be the Airport Keep, as it is all round the runways and taxiways?

By the way, Gilberto...

Code: Select all
Cannot find texture "Terrain/gravel_brown.png" in Textures folders.
Cannot find texture "Terrain/grass_dry2a_darker.png" in Textures folders.
Cannot find texture "Terrain/gravel_brown.png" in Textures folders.
Cannot find texture "Terrain/grass_dry2a_darker.png" in Textures folders.
Cannot find texture "Terrain/gravel_brown.png" in Textures folders.
Cannot find texture "Terrain/grass_dry2a_darker.png" in Textures folders.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7003
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby gsagostinho » Tue Feb 16, 2016 3:56 pm

Lego, sorry for the missing textures, I just pushed them to the repo. Could you please pull it, add these two textures to your FGDATA and test again, please? Should be a small pull. Also, please give me the ICAO of the place you are testing so I can compare it with what I see here.
User avatar
gsagostinho
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:06 pm

Sure, that's Schipol 36L, by the way. What's it like for you, before I test?
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7003
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby gsagostinho » Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:12 pm

Regular green grass:

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
gsagostinho
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby gsagostinho » Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:13 pm

Also, let me know if you have any other errors concerning textures, please.
User avatar
gsagostinho
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:19 pm

No other errors. Thanks. :S
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7003
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby gsagostinho » Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:30 pm

Meaning no error in the log or no black ground?
User avatar
gsagostinho
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby legoboyvdlp » Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:47 pm

No other TEXTURE errors.
Tested Transition... AND IT WORKS!
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7003
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: 2018.3.1
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby gsagostinho » Tue Feb 16, 2016 4:56 pm

Okay, so I will ask once again for the merge. Thanks for the input, lego!
User avatar
gsagostinho
 
Posts: 1800
Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2015 6:27 pm
Location: London, UK

Re: 2016.1.0

Postby bugman » Tue Feb 16, 2016 5:16 pm

You might have to ask Torsten quickly on the devel mailing list to have the fix included in the 2016.1.1 release, as there is no longer a need to delay the release :)

Regards,
Edward
bugman
Moderator
 
Posts: 1698
Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2015 9:01 am
Version: next

PreviousNext

Return to Release candidates

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests