Board index FlightGear Development Scenery

Project3000 - Populate 4000 airports in 5 minutes :-)

Questions and discussion about enhancing and populating the FlightGear world.

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby legoboyvdlp » Sun Nov 08, 2015 9:51 am

pommesschranke wrote in Mon Oct 26, 2015 7:16 am:If I try to do it for africa or asia elevation probing will fail because I don't have the terrain installed.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7192
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby pommesschranke » Sun Nov 08, 2015 11:20 am

Pakistan-1 wrote in Sun Nov 08, 2015 6:42 am:Could you use this to generate a few Pakistani Airports like
OPRN
OPLA
OPKC
thanks in advance


First YOU have to make those airports with WED (taxiways, 3D Objects) and upload them to the scenery gateway:
http://gateway.x-plane.com/
After that you or me or anyone else can use the script to convert the data to Flightgear.

At the moment only OPRN has 3D Models.
see this screenshot:
http://www.23hq.com/laserman/photo/21820356/original
To fill the light-blue gaps you will need terragear + shapefiles + elevation data.
Not an easy task - especially now where our mapserver is still down.
In this case a big green square as a static object might be a quick fix - never tired that, but I think it can work.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby pommesschranke » Sun Nov 08, 2015 9:06 pm

Hooray wrote in Tue Nov 03, 2015 12:53 pm:we should probably consider adding a dedicated draw-mask for such features, and maybe even a "factor" attribute to specify how many of those objects/models should be loaded/shown.


I agree. I think this is not very hard to implement.
And I am not surprised that others had the same idea already before me. :-)
If we have such a feature in FG we can upload Project3000 content to Terrasync and users with weaker hardware can set the density of shared models as they like from 0(none) to 1(all)

http://wiki.flightgear.org/User:Laserma ... ed_objects
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Populate 3000 airports in one day

Postby Hooray » Sun Nov 08, 2015 9:29 pm

My original response contains links to patches doing this - so you could basically adapt the patch to introduce a new draw-mask for autogen-based features.
That said, psadro_gm definitely is in a much better position to judge if/how the underlying scenery format could encode a corresponding bit pattern to distinguish different features, i.e. something like 4-5 bits would probably do for most purposes (looking at osm2city etc)

Feel free to get in touch if you need help with the C++ side of the draw masks - but like you say, something like that would ideally not just support on/off, but also an attribute to adjust scene complexity, i.e. scale up/down - especially for feature scaling purposes.

Given the airport-centric focus of "project3000", you may also want to search the devel list archives for the old "svg2ac" script: viewtopic.php?f=5&t=21131&p=192616&hilit=svg2ac#p192616

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Airport_Diagram_Generator
Image

You will find tons of OSM related brainstorming at: http://wiki.flightgear.org/Using_OSM_Ve ... FlightGear
Back then, we were contemplating to expose the random buildings/tree code to scripting/xml space to make placement heuristics configurable, i.e. accessible to Python/Nasal (or even just the property tree) etc
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11378
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby pommesschranke » Sat Nov 21, 2015 3:33 pm

I just uploaded a new version: November 2015
http://media.lug-marl.de/flightgear/pro ... ov2015.tgz

* this time I did elevation probing for every object with complete global terrain on my HD -> no more objects under the ground (I hope)
* a few more models: farmhouse, vending machine for soft drinks ;-)
* this time the file size is only 5.7MB because I removed the (LOWW) osm2city buildings.

enjoy!

I created an album for project3000 screenshots:
http://www.23hq.com/laserman/album/21871264
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby Pakistan-1 » Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:37 am

OPRN looks amazing :)
I will try to make the things for OPLA and OPKC
User avatar
Pakistan-1
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 2:49 am
Location: Hong Kong
Callsign: DocDMG,PK1,MIA2020
Version: 3.7
OS: Windows 10

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby Pakistan-1 » Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:46 am

Could you also give me the paintkit of the aircrafts that you will place at OPRN and the other Pakistani Airports so that I can make the matching Liveries
User avatar
Pakistan-1
 
Posts: 499
Joined: Tue Jun 18, 2013 2:49 am
Location: Hong Kong
Callsign: DocDMG,PK1,MIA2020
Version: 3.7
OS: Windows 10

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby abassign » Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:31 pm

I try starting from LIMC but the result is not the best ... :( maybe I ask too much or maybe I did something wrong ...

As you can see there are accessories, but not the buildings airport, is this normal?

Image

However, it is an interesting one effort to improve scenarios airport :)

Image
abassign
 
Posts: 824
Joined: Mon Feb 27, 2012 5:09 pm
Location: Italy (living 5 Km from airport LIME)
Callsign: I-BASSY
Version: 2018.3
OS: Linux Mint 19. x

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby legoboyvdlp » Thu Nov 26, 2015 4:09 pm

Same also at KSFO, and others.
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7192
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby pommesschranke » Fri Nov 27, 2015 12:59 am

abassign:
yes, that's normal.
It is possible to convert those "facade" buildings with dsf2aptdat.py + osm2city.py but that is a half-automatic process - so I cannot do it for the whole world.

legoboyvdlp:
KSFO has buildings in terrasync.
If you don't see them anymore then you might use my custom Terrain for that area (fix for flooded KHAF)
If you use custom Terrain then you have to link or copy the Objects path from Terrasync to the scenery folder where you have the Terrain.

Pakistan-1 :
you place the static aricraft with WED. Here is the conversion table (library.txt) that I use:

left: aircraft in WED right: aircraft in FG

Code: Select all
lib/airport/aircraft/corporate_biz/P180_avanti_ferrari.obj Models/Aircraft/Citation-II-Type2.ac      
lib/airport/aircraft/corporate_biz/P180_avanti_white.obj Models/Aircraft/Citation-II-Type1.ac    
lib/airport/aircraft/GA/Cessna_172.obj Models/Aircraft/Cessna172_red.xml 0 0 0 180
lib/airport/aircraft/GA/KingAirC90B.obj Models/Aircraft/Citation-II-Type1.ac
lib/airport/aircraft/GA/Osprey_GP5.obj Models/Aircraft/Zlin50xl_low_poly.xml
lib/airport/aircraft/heavy_metal/747_United.obj Models/Aircraft/B747.xml 0 0 0 90
lib/airport/aircraft/heavy_metal/MD-80_Alitalia.obj Models/Aircraft/320austrian.xml 0 0 0 90
lib/airport/aircraft/heavy_metal/MD-80_Delta.obj Models/Aircraft/737virgin.xml 0 0 0 90
lib/airport/aircraft/heavy_metal/MD-80_Scandinavian.obj  Models/Aircraft/320volare.xml 0 0 0 90
lib/airport/aircraft/regional_jet/CRJ100_Air_France.obj Models/Aircraft/crj100af-obj.xml 0 0 0 90           
lib/airport/aircraft/regional_jet/CRJ100_Austrian_Arrows.obj Models/Aircraft/crj100af-obj.xml 0 0 0 90        
lib/airport/aircraft/regional_jet/Dornier_328_jet_Cirrus_Airlines.obj Models/Aircraft/D328_services.xml 0 0 0 90
lib/airport/aircraft/regional_jet/Dornier_328_jet_Welcome_Air.obj Models/Aircraft/D328_services.xml 0 0 0 90
lib/airport/aircraft/regional_prop/ATR42-500_Air_Dolomiti.obj Models/Aircraft/atr42-iberia.xml 0 0 0 0
lib/airport/aircraft/regional_prop/ATR42-500_FedEx.obj Models/Aircraft/bae-ootas-tnt.xml 0 0 0 -90         
lib/airport/aircraft/regional_prop/ATR72-500_American_Eagle.obj Models/Aircraft/ATR42.xml 0 0 0 -90   
lib/airport/aircraft/regional_prop/ATR72-500_Lufthansa_Regional.obj Models/Aircraft/fokker50_vlm.ac 0 0 0 0   
lib/airport/aircraft/regional_prop/Dornier_328_prop_Air_Alps.obj Models/Aircraft/B1900_services.xml 0 0 0 90


so you might change the livery for
Models/Aircraft/320austrian.xml
on your PC but that will affect all airports.
or you change the entry in the stg file to point to your own models - then it affects only one airport.

Better than static aircraft are AI Aircraft & AI flightplans: there are much more liveries and aircraft types to choose from.
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby MIG29pilot » Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:30 am

Hi
How can I use this and (possibly) help?
User avatar
MIG29pilot
 
Posts: 1454
Joined: Tue May 19, 2015 4:03 pm
Location: 6 feet under Snow
Callsign: MIG29pilot
Version: 3.7nightly
OS: Windows 10

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby legoboyvdlp » Fri Nov 27, 2015 2:05 am

TerraSync?
No, without TerraSync
Ie when replacing the .stgs there are no buildings, just jetways and random models
User avatar
legoboyvdlp
 
Posts: 7192
Joined: Sat Jul 26, 2014 1:28 am
Callsign: YV-LEGO
Version: next
OS: Windows 10 HP

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby pommesschranke » Fri Nov 27, 2015 10:58 am

In the Terrain path you might replace stg & btg files because there can be only one Terrain at a time.

But in the Object path replacing an stg-file means that the objects of the old stg file will not show up anymore.
It is much better to have more than one scenery path - then Objects from all scenery paths will show up.
like this :

Code: Select all
fgfs --fg-scenery=path/to/project3000:path/to/osm-scenery:path/with/terrain

or like this:
Code: Select all
fgfs --fg-scenery=path/to/project3000 --fg-scenery=path/to/osm-scenery  --fg-scenery=path/with/terrain
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby pommesschranke » Sat Nov 28, 2015 10:31 am

MIG29pilot wrote in Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:30 am:Hi
How can I use this and (possibly) help?


did you read the wiki page ?
http://wiki.flightgear.org/Project3000
pommesschranke
 
Posts: 1104
Joined: Sat Apr 27, 2013 7:58 pm
Location: EDLM & LJCE
Callsign: d-laser
IRC name: laserman
Version: git
OS: Linux Lubuntu 18.04

Re: Project3000 (Populate 3000 airports in one day)

Postby Hooray » Sat Nov 28, 2015 12:06 pm

could we please work out a way to 1) add draw-masks and 2) make this whole thing runtime-configurable (in terms of building density) ?

http://wiki.flightgear.org/Draw_masks
Image
Please don't send support requests by PM, instead post your questions on the forum so that all users can contribute and benefit
Thanks & all the best,
Hooray
Help write next month's newsletter !
pui2canvas | MapStructure | Canvas Development | Programming resources
Hooray
 
Posts: 11378
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 8:40 am

PreviousNext

Return to Scenery

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest