Board index FlightGear Development Aircraft

DHC8 300Q (New for Oct 2009)

Questions and discussion about creating aircraft. Flight dynamics, 3d models, cockpits, systems, animation, textures.

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby Barambu2sa » Thu Feb 12, 2009 9:49 am

Fg 1.9.1:Aircraft doesn't work
Barambu2sa
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:49 pm

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby MaverickAlex » Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:06 pm

perhaps you could explain what doesnt work?

Does it load up and show on the runway?

If it does this, please go to browse internal properties/controls/engines and you will see that the cutoff is set at true. set it to false for each of the engine and press autostart.

That should do it.

I have 1.9.1 and it works, Gooney is on 1.9 andit works there too.
http://www.atlasvirtualairlines.com
Modeller of: TNCM TBPB MDPP TFFF TJSJ FMEE TKPK TFFG TQPF KLAX KATL EGNJ EGGW APACHE, EUROFIGHTER, HP VICTOR, DHC8
FGcom 122.75
creator Terragear GUI
User avatar
MaverickAlex
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Kingston Upon Hull. UK

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby Barambu2sa » Thu Feb 12, 2009 5:57 pm

Ok thanks
Barambu2sa
 
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Mar 25, 2008 4:49 pm

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby MaverickAlex » Fri Feb 13, 2009 1:06 pm

now with new bahamas air livery and British Airways

im just trying to figure out how to make them selectable

Image


Image
http://www.atlasvirtualairlines.com
Modeller of: TNCM TBPB MDPP TFFF TJSJ FMEE TKPK TFFG TQPF KLAX KATL EGNJ EGGW APACHE, EUROFIGHTER, HP VICTOR, DHC8
FGcom 122.75
creator Terragear GUI
User avatar
MaverickAlex
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Kingston Upon Hull. UK

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby MaverickAlex » Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:15 pm

Im trying to make the new liveries selectable in the menu.

I have the new liveries showing in the menu but when i click them nothing changes.

I have followed i believe the wiki article http://wiki.flightgear.org/index.php/Livery_over_MP

im sure it's something simple. Is the selectable Liveries compatible with Non CVS use?
here is the dhc8-300Q.xml part relevent.
Code: Select all
<animation>
      <type>material</type>
      <object-name>fuselage</object-name>
      <object-name>Rengine</object-name>
      <object-name>Lengine</object-name>
      <object-name>LLG.door</object-name>
      <object-name>RLG.door</object-name>
      <object-name>Lwing</object-name>
      <object-name>Lfuselage</object-name>
      <object-name>Rfuselage</object-name>
      <object-name>rudder</object-name>
      <object-name>Elevator</object-name>
      <object-name>tail</object-name>
   <object-name>R.aileron</object-name>
   <object-name>L.aileron</object-name>
   <object-name>Rwing</object-name>
   <object-name>R.flap</object-name>
   <object-name>L.flap</object-name>
      <property-base>sim/model/livery</property-base>
      <texture-prop>texture</texture-prop>
      <texture>ceaero.rgb</texture>
    </animation>


here is the dhc-set.xml relevant part

Code: Select all
<item>
                    <label>Select Livery</label>
                    <binding>
                        <command>nasal</command>
                        <script>aircraft.livery.dialog.toggle()</script>
                    </binding>
                </item>


and then the nasal part relevent.
in system.nas

Code: Select all
####   DHC8 systems   ####
aircraft.livery.init("Aircraft/dhc8/models/Liveries", "sim/model/livery/name", "sim/model/livery/index");


each liveriy has its own .xml file within dhc8/models/Liveries

example ceaero.xml

Code: Select all
<PropertyList>
<sim>
    <model>
        <livery>
            <name type="string">Ceaero Airlines</name>
      <index type="int">1</index>
            <texture>ceaero.rgb</texture>
        </livery>
    </model>
</sim>
</PropertyList>


I would appreciate any thoughts as to why i can't select.

thanks
Alex
http://www.atlasvirtualairlines.com
Modeller of: TNCM TBPB MDPP TFFF TJSJ FMEE TKPK TFFG TQPF KLAX KATL EGNJ EGGW APACHE, EUROFIGHTER, HP VICTOR, DHC8
FGcom 122.75
creator Terragear GUI
User avatar
MaverickAlex
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Kingston Upon Hull. UK

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby Fahim Dalvi » Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:30 pm

HI,
Hmmm...Everything Seems to be Fine.
Just One Check: All textures should be in the folder where the model looks for them, Not necessarily int he Liveries Folder.
Fahim Imaduddin Dalvi
Tracker, Flight Gallery
User avatar
Fahim Dalvi
 
Posts: 1286
Joined: Sun Oct 14, 2007 1:08 pm
Location: Qatar
Callsign: Fahim
Version: 2018.2.2
OS: MacOS

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby Gijs » Fri Feb 13, 2009 5:49 pm

Hey Alex,

I wonder why you have two (as far as I know) unneeded (and unnoted on the wiki) things in the systems.nas file:

Code: Select all
aircraft.livery.init("Aircraft/dhc8/models/Liveries", "sim/model/livery/name", "sim/model/livery/index");

Can be replaced by simply

Code: Select all
aircraft.livery.init("Aircraft/dhc8/models/Liveries");


Also, the <index> tag in the livery files can be removed as they are automatically sorted in alphabetical order.

If the above doesn't solve the problem, check if you get any missing texture errors, as Fahim noted.

Cheers,
Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9365
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby MaverickAlex » Fri Feb 13, 2009 6:18 pm

ok, thanks guys,
i edited as you mentioned above, removing the unnecessary lines.
There is only one texture each for the main outer fuselage/wings (all the stuff listed) ie one for bahamas, one for ceaero and one for BA.
They are in the model folder where the dhc8.ac file is.

I've tried again but still no joy :(
http://www.atlasvirtualairlines.com
Modeller of: TNCM TBPB MDPP TFFF TJSJ FMEE TKPK TFFG TQPF KLAX KATL EGNJ EGGW APACHE, EUROFIGHTER, HP VICTOR, DHC8
FGcom 122.75
creator Terragear GUI
User avatar
MaverickAlex
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Kingston Upon Hull. UK

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby E-Savageair » Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:13 pm

Hello,

I just flew from Bermuda Dunes to Palm springs. She flies rock-steady take-off to landing :)
Keep up the good work! :wink:
E-Savageair
 
Posts: 350
Joined: Fri Jun 27, 2008 4:36 am
Location: Minneapolis, Mn
Callsign: ESA
Version: 3.0
OS: Windows 10 Pro

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby Groucho » Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:44 pm

MaverickAlex wrote:now with new bahamas air livery and British Airways


Ah, that finally shouts for a IVA livery... :)
_____________________________________
Callsign: D-HARP
Flight locations: TNCM, TKPK, EDNY, LOWI
Aircrafts
Helis: EC130, Bo105, UH-1, R22
Twins/Jets: Aerostar, CRJ-200
User avatar
Groucho
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:28 am
Location: Airborne Lake Constance/Germany
Callsign: D-HARP
Version: GIT
OS: Kubuntu

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby MaverickAlex » Sat Feb 14, 2009 7:53 pm

as soon as i can find out why the Livery select doesnt work, i will make an IVA texture. but i just cant find out why at the moment. :(
http://www.atlasvirtualairlines.com
Modeller of: TNCM TBPB MDPP TFFF TJSJ FMEE TKPK TFFG TQPF KLAX KATL EGNJ EGGW APACHE, EUROFIGHTER, HP VICTOR, DHC8
FGcom 122.75
creator Terragear GUI
User avatar
MaverickAlex
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Kingston Upon Hull. UK

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby Gijs » Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:12 pm

MaverickAlex wrote:as soon as i can find out why the Livery select doesnt work, i will make an IVA texture. but i just cant find out why at the moment. :(

Maverick, I've checked your livery system and I found the problem. You missed the nasal part in the .xml model file as stated in the wiki (this code loads the actual livery files). Add this code to the dhc-300q.xml fille:

Code: Select all
<nasal>
 <load>
  var livery_update = aircraft.livery_update.new("Aircraft/dhc8/models/Liveries");
 </load>

 <unload>
  livery_update.stop();
 </unload>
</nasal>


Everyone makes mistakes. Luckily it's just a small one. ;)

Model still needs a little smoothing IMO, but it's a lovely plane to fly afterall!
Gijs
Airports: EHAM, EHLE, KSFO
Aircraft: 747-400
User avatar
Gijs
Moderator
 
Posts: 9365
Joined: Tue Jul 03, 2007 2:55 pm
Location: Amsterdam/Delft, the Netherlands
Callsign: PH-GYS
Version: Git
OS: Windows 10

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby Groucho » Sat Feb 14, 2009 8:47 pm

MaverickAlex wrote:i will make an IVA texture.


No, zou won't. I am just doing it (or at least just plan to do so :) )
_____________________________________
Callsign: D-HARP
Flight locations: TNCM, TKPK, EDNY, LOWI
Aircrafts
Helis: EC130, Bo105, UH-1, R22
Twins/Jets: Aerostar, CRJ-200
User avatar
Groucho
 
Posts: 1216
Joined: Sun Jun 17, 2007 10:28 am
Location: Airborne Lake Constance/Germany
Callsign: D-HARP
Version: GIT
OS: Kubuntu

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby gooneybird » Sat Feb 14, 2009 9:05 pm

Groucho wrote:
MaverickAlex wrote:i will make an IVA texture.


No, zou won't. I am just doing it (or at least just plan to do so :) )


Trust you to get in there first Groucho :lol:
gooneybird
 
Posts: 2971
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 1:57 pm

Re: DHC8 300Q (New for FEB 2009)

Postby MaverickAlex » Sun Feb 15, 2009 8:47 am

Gijs,
thanks for your help.
I added that code into the dhc8-300q.xml and it still does not work.

are you sure it was that file?
if you definately got it working could you send me that file so i can test it here?

Thanks
Alex
http://www.atlasvirtualairlines.com
Modeller of: TNCM TBPB MDPP TFFF TJSJ FMEE TKPK TFFG TQPF KLAX KATL EGNJ EGGW APACHE, EUROFIGHTER, HP VICTOR, DHC8
FGcom 122.75
creator Terragear GUI
User avatar
MaverickAlex
 
Posts: 1206
Joined: Sun Mar 23, 2008 4:46 pm
Location: Kingston Upon Hull. UK

PreviousNext

Return to Aircraft

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: MSN [Bot] and 2 guests